See other San Francisco properties

Amsterdam Hostel

749 Taylor Street, San Francisco, USA, Distance from city centre: 0.4km

Rating: 74% from 58 reviews

  • 72%Atmosphere
  • 72%Staff
  • 78%Security
  • 73%Cleanliness
  • 84%Location
  • 76%Value for money
  • 66%Facilities

Real Reviews

Real reviews from fellow travellers

These are trusted reviews from guests who have actually stayed here. We hope you find them helpful.

Note: we only give a property a rating once it has received a minimum of 3 reviews.

  • Sort By:
  • Traveler Type:
  • Age:
  • Good location, provided you avoid the one or two dodgy streets. Close to everything. Bunk beds needed a ladder...great having pub crawls, and lets you know about social events around. Staff were good, and quite helpful.
  • 74%
  • 29 Apr 2014 Hannah Australia
  • The single most conspicuous "pro" of this hostel - price. For that price, however, one should be ready for: bunk beds without ladders (climb on and climb off according to your capability and, perhaps, even fitness); noticeable lack of power outlets (charging a device might be an unexpected challenge); cash-only reception desk (ATM on site) supervised by somewhat disengaged staff. But again, price is one of the lowest (if not the lowest) in the downtown area.
  • 63%
  • 22 Apr 2014 Anonymous Canada
  • Great location, very cheap, clean kitchens, and room. WIFI can go out at sporadic times, but not enough to deter me from staying here. Made lots of new friends here as well! Advice to management--Include soap and paper towels in the bathroom and kitchen. This keeps people much more sanitary. Also $10 for a replacement card is a ripoff. Other than that, I have really enjoyed my extended stay here.
  • 89%
  • 20 Apr 2014 Anonymous USA
  • Wifi was spotty, I had to go outside my room often to get a signal. I recommend fixing that
  • 91%
  • 13 Mar 2014 Anonymous USA
  • Every staff are so bad; not friendly, not helpful, not kind. I cant recommend for anyone. It was a just cheap one. They lied when we checked in. We booked for 5 people, bud they said we booked for 6. They are terrible.
  • 49%
  • 09 Mar 2014 Anonymous Japan
  • It was a good location and a nice cozy room with large lockers, but the shower didn't work at all and I had to bathe in the sink! Also, the electrical outlets were often coming off the walls and the bathroom light stopped working my last night. Otherwise it was nice, perhaps I just got a bad room.
  • 66%
  • 24 Feb 2014 Tia Canada
  • I don`t recommend to anybody this hostel. Because the bathroom was broken and a light in the bathroom was not working. Additionally these staff are not helpful and always tell a lie to me. I will never stay in this hostel.
  • 49%
  • 19 Feb 2014 Anonymous Japan
  • Staff does not care about customers, cannot comprehend basic math, and do not take complaints seriously.
  • 60%
  • 12 Feb 2014 Hunter USA
  • Just a really cool place.
  • 97%
  • 05 Jan 2014 Fanie Canada
  • Not a bad hostel if you're on a budget, however it was quite noisy during the night and we didn't have hot water for two days
  • 77%
  • 04 Jan 2014 Luke Australia
City Guides and Information

Video guides, travel podcasts, city maps & free city guides. What to eat, where to stay and things to do and see - our travel guides have it all.

Find a guide »
Latest Blog Post

While most party-hard backpackers in Europe stick to the big cities like Paris, London and Barcelona, you might end up cutting your nights (or even your trip) short. These cities come at a cost and just one cocktail can run upwards of $15. Luckily there are so many other beautiful cities around Europe which offer an exciting nightlife at half or even a third of the cost.

Read more »
Great Value and Choice

We offer the most comprehensive selection of hostels on the internet with over 35,000 great places to stay in 180 countries. The ultimate online resource for hostels everywhere.

Find great value hostels »