See other San Francisco properties

Amsterdam Hostel

749 Taylor Street, San Francisco, USA, Distance from city centre: 0.4km

Rating: 75% from 60 reviews

  • 74%Atmosphere
  • 71%Staff
  • 79%Security
  • 73%Cleanliness
  • 85%Location
  • 76%Value for money
  • 70%Facilities

Real Reviews

Real reviews from fellow travellers

These are trusted reviews from guests who have actually stayed here. We hope you find them helpful.

Note: we only give a property a rating once it has received a minimum of 3 reviews.

  • Sort By:
  • Traveler Type:
  • Age:
  • The kitchen was very dirty, uneducated employees, integration programs among the guests were never made​​. It has a lot to improve.
  • 43%
  • 13 Jun 2014 Luciano Brazil
  • Good for the price. Hostel like a hostel, good enough to sleep couple nights if you don't care about luxury and dont mind strangers sleeping next to you and dont expect too much. Staff was nice and helpful, location very nice.
  • 91%
  • 12 Jun 2014 Anonymous Poland
  • WIFI internet is problematic. Kitchen area under renovation and unusable. Staff is helpful.
  • 77%
  • 02 Jun 2014 Anonymous USA
  • Friendly staff. They have a room where you can store your luggage if you're early for check in, so you can explore SF without having to drag around your bags. Stayed in a 6 female dorm ensuite. No AC and the shower's water pressure was very low, at least in our dorm. Lockers in dorm room, bring pad lock! They offer free breakfast, pancakes, which you make for yourself. They have a stove, microwave, a fridge etc in the kitchen. Great location, walking distance to the BART train connected to SFO.
  • 86%
  • 27 May 2014 Evelina Sweden
  • This hostel was smelling bad and old. The carpets weren't looking nice. The door in our bathroom was closing with a very loud noise, always waking everyone up, and didn't even have a lock. I told front desk about that, only to be woken up by a Chinese handyman who has simply walked in the next morning at 9-10 am, opened the door and turned all the lights on - I didn't even hear him knocking as I was sleeping - he said "next time answer the door", excuse me?! They never fixed it! Horrible kitchen
  • 77%
  • 20 May 2014 Anonymous Russia
  • Good location, provided you avoid the one or two dodgy streets. Close to everything. Bunk beds needed a ladder...great having pub crawls, and lets you know about social events around. Staff were good, and quite helpful.
  • 74%
  • 29 Apr 2014 Hannah Australia
  • The single most conspicuous "pro" of this hostel - price. For that price, however, one should be ready for: bunk beds without ladders (climb on and climb off according to your capability and, perhaps, even fitness); noticeable lack of power outlets (charging a device might be an unexpected challenge); cash-only reception desk (ATM on site) supervised by somewhat disengaged staff. But again, price is one of the lowest (if not the lowest) in the downtown area.
  • 63%
  • 22 Apr 2014 Anonymous Canada
  • Great location, very cheap, clean kitchens, and room. WIFI can go out at sporadic times, but not enough to deter me from staying here. Made lots of new friends here as well! Advice to management--Include soap and paper towels in the bathroom and kitchen. This keeps people much more sanitary. Also $10 for a replacement card is a ripoff. Other than that, I have really enjoyed my extended stay here.
  • 89%
  • 20 Apr 2014 Anonymous USA
  • Wifi was spotty, I had to go outside my room often to get a signal. I recommend fixing that
  • 91%
  • 13 Mar 2014 Anonymous USA
  • Every staff are so bad; not friendly, not helpful, not kind. I cant recommend for anyone. It was a just cheap one. They lied when we checked in. We booked for 5 people, bud they said we booked for 6. They are terrible.
  • 49%
  • 09 Mar 2014 Anonymous Japan
City Guides and Information

Video guides, travel podcasts, city maps & free city guides. What to eat, where to stay and things to do and see - our travel guides have it all.

Find a guide »
Latest Blog Post

Some people can take a two week holiday and spend every day relaxing at the beach. Some prefer the beach to do activities, take a jog first thing in the morning, party at night...

Read more »
Great Value and Choice

We offer the most comprehensive selection of hostels on the internet with over 35,000 great places to stay in 180 countries. The ultimate online resource for hostels everywhere.

Find great value hostels »