See other San Francisco properties

Amsterdam Hostel

749 Taylor Street, San Francisco, USA, Distance from city centre: 0.4km

Rating: 76% from 75 reviews

  • 74%Atmosphere
  • 77%Staff
  • 80%Security
  • 69%Cleanliness
  • 84%Location
  • 75%Value for money
  • 72%Facilities

Real Reviews

Real reviews from fellow travellers

These are trusted reviews from guests who have actually stayed here. We hope you find them helpful.

Note: we only give a property a rating once it has received a minimum of 3 reviews.

  • Sort By:
  • Traveler Type:
  • Age:
  • You don´t want to stay at this hostel............
  • 31%
  • 18 Dec 2014 Reza Sweden
  • Very much mold in the windows and the rooms are VERY damp.
  • 57%
  • 18 Dec 2014 Emma Sweden
  • Excellent location, 10 min to walk to both chinatown and union square
  • 77%
  • 15 Dec 2014 Anonymous China
  • Room needs to be. Tidied more often. ....carpet in common areas /stairwell ...rarely vacuumed/ they need to reach a deal with. A car park better than the one they have//the breakfast is deplorable and most importantly ...they need more cleaning staff because the poor. Two ladies I met cleaning there were. Completely run off their feet ...I believe it maybe just too much of a money making exercise for the management. Where they cut costs. ...because sf has limited accom of this type
  • 66%
  • 13 Dec 2014 Peter Australia
  • In a central location for touristy things. Really easy to walk to trains, buses and cable cars. The dorm rooms are a little crammed with 6 people and not many power outlets. Common areas are a nice space to chill but the hostel doesn't really have a social atmosphere. It's a good place to stay for location and basic needs, but don't expect much more.
  • 71%
  • 11 Dec 2014 Sarah Australia
  • Everyone was nice, many foreign travelers. I like that a kitchen is offered to cook dinner in but the kitchen was quite dirty. I was glad the bathrooms were clean with hot water but my sheets had several strands of straight black and blond hair in them. It wasn't mine because I'm african american with course thick hair so I didn't trust anything after that. The pillows were fluffy and soft but I slept on the top bunk bed which was life threatening every time I used the half ladder to get down.
  • 74%
  • 02 Dec 2014 Patrice USA
  • It was a lot of fun overall the people that stood there from all places across the world.
  • 80%
  • 26 Nov 2014 Anonymous Mexico
  • nice place. nice people. nice time.
  • 86%
  • 24 Nov 2014 Jack Australia
  • This hostel have a very international atmosphere. The common area are narrow so you cant help meeting and talking to other people. That's in general a good thing but like the kitchen is too small for that amount of people with long lines waiting to cook. The hostel is very dirty and rundown. I think it use to be a nice place but nothing has been done for years. The stickers on the frontdoor from '85 and '94 reminds you of this.
  • 57%
  • 17 Nov 2014 Tilde Andrea Denmark
  • The best part about the place is that it is very close to a number of tourist spots. Chinatown, City Hall, the Symphony Hall all are very close by. Perfect place if you just have to crash for the night. Try to avoid walking down Taylor street during the evening though. Does not feel very safe. You can always take buses, there are quite a few bus stops near the hostel
  • 86%
  • 08 Nov 2014 Anonymous India
City Guides and Information

Video guides, travel podcasts, city maps & free city guides. What to eat, where to stay and things to do and see - our travel guides have it all.

Find a guide »
Latest Blog Post

The epitome of culinary richness, Marrakesh -the heart of the red city, is a foodies wonderland

Read more »
Great Value and Choice

We offer the most comprehensive selection of hostels on the internet with over 35,000 great places to stay in 180 countries. The ultimate online resource for hostels everywhere.

Find great value hostels »