See other San Francisco properties

Amsterdam Hostel

749 Taylor Street, San Francisco, USA, Distance from city centre: 0.4km

Rating: 75% from 70 reviews

  • 74%Atmosphere
  • 78%Staff
  • 80%Security
  • 69%Cleanliness
  • 84%Location
  • 74%Value for money
  • 70%Facilities

Real Reviews

Real reviews from fellow travellers

These are trusted reviews from guests who have actually stayed here. We hope you find them helpful.

Note: we only give a property a rating once it has received a minimum of 3 reviews.

  • Sort By:
  • Traveler Type:
  • Age:
  • Nice place to stay. The people are very friendly and sociable. The staff let me check out very early in the morning so that was very useful to have.
  • 77%
  • 24 Mar 2015 Richard Wales
  • I had an excellent experience here. It may not be the most up to date place to stay but the price and location are unbeatable. The staff were very friendly, my room was clean, the people I met made my stay a hundred times more enjoyable, and the value for my money was incredible. I would highly recommend Amsterdam Hostel to anyone. For the price of a weeks stay I could have maybe paid for one night at one of the regular hotels a few blocks away.
  • 89%
  • 14 Mar 2015 Anonymous USA
  • Internet wifi was not good. wifi環境はよくない。繋がったり、繋がらなかったり。
  • 66%
  • 04 Mar 2015 shuji Japan
  • Cool place, good vibe and met some great people. It's not as modern as some of the other hostels nearby, but on the other hand it's less than half the price. Don't understand the negative reviews: would have loved to have stayed longer had they had availability.
  • 86%
  • 02 Mar 2015 Anton
  • Generally speaking, it's a nice experience to stay at Amsterdam Hostel. The location of the hostel is very close to Downtown SF and Chinatown. I think it's very convenient to buy some food here. And also I meet some great roommates.
  • 91%
  • 27 Jan 2015 Anonymous China
  • The breakfast could be a bit more extensive and it actually kind of smelled like pee in my bedroom. (room 402) But the last problem could be easily solved I guess :)
  • 86%
  • 16 Jan 2015 Saskia Netherlands
  • We had a private room w/ private bathroom which was super comfortable. Pancakes in the morning for free.
  • 83%
  • 04 Jan 2015 Anja Germany
  • I've stayed in numerous hostels over the years, and this was definitely one of the worst experiences I've had.The man working the front desk during my check in was outrageously rude and made some insensitive comments to me. There was dust all over my room, gathering in piles in the corners, the mattress was broken and slopped toward the center, and the walls are extremely thin- I was awoken multiples times each night from people going up and down stairs. I will NEVER stay here again.
  • 46%
  • 21 Dec 2014 Anonymous USA
  • You don´t want to stay at this hostel............
  • 31%
  • 18 Dec 2014 Reza Sweden
  • Very much mold in the windows and the rooms are VERY damp.
  • 57%
  • 18 Dec 2014 Emma Sweden
City Guides and Information

Video guides, travel podcasts, city maps & free city guides. What to eat, where to stay and things to do and see - our travel guides have it all.

Find a guide »
Latest Blog Post

The epitome of culinary richness, Marrakesh -the heart of the red city, is a foodies wonderland

Read more »
Great Value and Choice

We offer the most comprehensive selection of hostels on the internet with over 33,000 great places to stay in 170 countries. The ultimate online resource for hostels everywhere.

Find great value hostels »