See other Oslo properties

Anker Hostel

Storgata 55, N-0182 Oslo, Oslo, Norway, Distance from city centre: 0.4km

Rating: 75% from 43 reviews

  • 73%Atmosphere
  • 74%Staff
  • 74%Security
  • 74%Cleanliness
  • 86%Location
  • 71%Value for money
  • 70%Facilities

Real Reviews

Real reviews from fellow travellers

These are trusted reviews from guests who have actually stayed here. We hope you find them helpful.

Note: we only give a property a rating once it has received a minimum of 3 reviews.

  • Sort By:
  • Traveler Type:
  • Age:
  • Very good hostel. No lockers in four bed dorm and surcharge for bed linen. Clean, cheap and I doubt there is better value for money in Oslo.
  • 89%
  • 16 Jun 2015 Anonymous Ireland
  • The hostel is located close to the city centre/sights so it's a great place to stay. However I found that the dorm I was in was cramped because it had 2 single beds and 3 sets of bunks. It also had a kitchenette area for cooking and eating in the same room which meant that the already cramped room smelled of food if anyone prepared anything, which they did. There was a bag of rubbish in the room which was still there when we checked out 2 days later. I'd prefer separate kitchen facilities
  • 74%
  • 05 Jun 2015 Anonymous Ireland
  • One of the worst hostels I stayed at. The rooms were cramped, and the hostel was very crowded. DId not feel safe leaving my things in the room, and didn't feel safe staying here. They also didn't have lockers in the rooms, and they charged for sheets. It was not in the best part of town. In fairness though, if you enjoy drinking and partying, you may enjoy this hostel more then I did, but if you are looking for somewhere quiet and safe to sleep and explore the city, I wouldn't come here.
  • 40%
  • 03 Jun 2015 Anonymous USA
  • Good points : The hostel is not far from the center, the staff is friendly, wifi in the room, open 24 hours. Bad points : we had a room for 2 and the shower wasn't nicely cleaned. There were some hair from the previous people. No regret though
  • 77%
  • 29 May 2015 Melvin France
  • The biggest drawback about this hostel is that there is only a community kitchen during the summer month. Mixed dorms have small rings and oven for cooking, however you need to see the reception to get plates and utensils. Breakfast buffet is available for a nominal charge. Location is easy to get to by tram, bus, or taxi. There is a supermarket less than a five minute walk from the hostel.
  • 89%
  • 19 May 2015 Anonymous USA
  • This may have been the worst hostel I went to during my trip, but that's relatively speaking. In general, the front desk took forever to find our reservation and to even point us in the right direction for our room. The hall ways were dirty and we could hear our neighbours through paper thin walls. Overall, I would recommend trying to find a better hostel before booking here.
  • 60%
  • 13 May 2015 Yasaman Canada
  • i enjoyed my stay at the hostel, the blending of travelers, the roof terrace, and the great staff.
  • 100%
  • 01 May 2015 barry USA
  • Very clean with a nice relaxing atmosphere and only a 10 minute walk to the city center. Really enjoyed my stay here.
  • 83%
  • 27 Feb 2015 Anonymous Ireland
  • Nice staff and good value for the money so all in all it was ok to stay there for some nights
  • 69%
  • 25 Feb 2015 Bastian Germany
  • The breakfast buffet is very poor, very few options and low quality(bread was freeze and hard, coffe was cold, just orange juice, only cheese, ham and cereal) and doesn't worth the price for sure. Far away worst breakfast I ever payed! Watch out your breakfast outsourced restaurant!
  • 69%
  • 17 Feb 2015 Anonymous Brazil
City Guides and Information

Video guides, travel podcasts, city maps & free city guides. What to eat, where to stay and things to do and see - our travel guides have it all.

Find a guide »
Latest Blog Post

There's nothing like having your own transport to get around and when travelling the world it's no different.

Read more »
Great Value and Choice

We offer the most comprehensive selection of hostels on the internet with over 35,000 great places to stay in 180 countries. The ultimate online resource for hostels everywhere.

Find great value hostels »