See other Oslo properties

Anker Hostel

Storgata 55, N-0182 Oslo, Oslo, Norway, Distance from city centre: 0.4km

Rating: 76% from 41 reviews

  • 76%Atmosphere
  • 76%Staff
  • 75%Security
  • 77%Cleanliness
  • 85%Location
  • 73%Value for money
  • 70%Facilities

Real Reviews

Real reviews from fellow travellers

These are trusted reviews from guests who have actually stayed here. We hope you find them helpful.

Note: we only give a property a rating once it has received a minimum of 3 reviews.

  • Sort By:
  • Traveler Type:
  • Age:
  • nice hostel, also very close t the center. Only down side: you need to pay for everything: bed linen, lockers, and breakfast. Normally these things are already included. Apart from that, clean and good hostel, I'd still come here again next time.
  • 77%
  • 18 Oct 2014 Anonymous Netherlands
  • We liked the public areas of the hostel. We didn't like the showers in the room. the toilet was almost under the showes so that was very uncomfortable also no tin in the bathroom.
  • 77%
  • 16 Oct 2014 Adar Israel
  • It may be cheaper.Also,things like renting sheets etc. should be mentioned in the website very clearly because when you are staying you are likely to rent but before going to hostel no one considers that and naturally the price for staying becomes bigger.And there is almost everyting in hostel but why there is no microwave? Please buy one.Maybe not in every room but at least 1 common.It is funny to see that in hostel there are lots of good items but no microwave:)
  • 83%
  • 14 Oct 2014 Doğa Turkey
  • The lack of hangers and wall sockets was a clear minus, but a other than that we had a good time at the hostels. One night two young guests came in our room telling us they had a different room but their key worked for several other doors which was a bit alarming. The wifi at the hostels was really bad. I was lagging for minutes only reading travel documents from my email.
  • 63%
  • 02 Oct 2014 Anonymous Sweden
  • Overall, the hostel is ok. A fine bed in a room with no lockers and a kitchen inside. If they sell a hostel with a kitchen and then you find that the kitchen is inside the room, it does not encourage you to cook knowing your room-mates are there about to sleep. Breakfast buffet for 60kr, it is worth it, because of the quality food and considering how expensive everything is in Oslo. Best thing about it is the location, 5 minutes walk from the train station and close to the city attractions.
  • 63%
  • 24 Aug 2014 Ignacio Switzerland
  • Huge hostel, very busy (that could explain why the staff doesn't seem always ready to help). Room very hot but has a kitchenette inside (and a kitchen on the floor) and clean. Basic accommodation, and every option or extra comes to a price (like kitchen utensils).
  • 77%
  • 24 Jul 2014 Anonymous France
  • I think linen should be included in the room price, and that the cooking kit should be lent, not rented. The staff was very nice and though it was situated in a terrible street, it is very centrally located.
  • 57%
  • 29 Jun 2014 Anonymous Mexico
  • I have nothing but praise both for the hostel and the staff, who were always friendly and helpful. The location is excellent. It is not even a ten minute walk into town. I had a private room and stayed for two weeks. I always felt safe and secure in the room. I had a comfortable bed, a refrigerator and a stove. The shower is always hot and the water pressure is always excellent. The young staff members went out of their way to be helpful and were never anything but courteous and pleasant to me.
  • 100%
  • 23 Jun 2014 Kipp USA
  • Really liked the hostel, though I didn't get to spend that much time there being out and about in Oslo. I'd definitely stay there again.
  • 89%
  • 23 Jun 2014 Shane USA
  • Very nice hostel: very central, reasonable price, nice an tid!
  • 83%
  • 13 Jun 2014 Pål
City Guides and Information

Video guides, travel podcasts, city maps & free city guides. What to eat, where to stay and things to do and see - our travel guides have it all.

Find a guide »
Latest Blog Post

Christmas doesn't get much better than wandering around a snow-coated market with a hot mulled wine in hand. The smell of roasted chestnuts and the twinkling lights will put even a Grinch into the Christmas spirit.

Read more »
Great Value and Choice

We offer the most comprehensive selection of hostels on the internet with over 35,000 great places to stay in 180 countries. The ultimate online resource for hostels everywhere.

Find great value hostels »