See other Oslo properties

Anker Hostel

Storgata 55, N-0182 Oslo, Oslo, Norway, Distance from city centre: 0.4km

Rating: 78% from 34 reviews

  • 77%Atmosphere
  • 81%Staff
  • 80%Security
  • 78%Cleanliness
  • 86%Location
  • 73%Value for money
  • 72%Facilities

Real Reviews

Real reviews from fellow travellers

These are trusted reviews from guests who have actually stayed here. We hope you find them helpful.

Note: we only give a property a rating once it has received a minimum of 3 reviews.

  • Sort By:
  • Traveler Type:
  • Age:
  • Huge hostel, very busy (that could explain why the staff doesn't seem always ready to help). Room very hot but has a kitchenette inside (and a kitchen on the floor) and clean. Basic accommodation, and every option or extra comes to a price (like kitchen utensils).
  • 77%
  • 24 Jul 2014 Anonymous France
  • I think linen should be included in the room price, and that the cooking kit should be lent, not rented. The staff was very nice and though it was situated in a terrible street, it is very centrally located.
  • 57%
  • 29 Jun 2014 Anonymous Mexico
  • I have nothing but praise both for the hostel and the staff, who were always friendly and helpful. The location is excellent. It is not even a ten minute walk into town. I had a private room and stayed for two weeks. I always felt safe and secure in the room. I had a comfortable bed, a refrigerator and a stove. The shower is always hot and the water pressure is always excellent. The young staff members went out of their way to be helpful and were never anything but courteous and pleasant to me.
  • 100%
  • 23 Jun 2014 Kipp USA
  • Really liked the hostel, though I didn't get to spend that much time there being out and about in Oslo. I'd definitely stay there again.
  • 89%
  • 23 Jun 2014 Shane USA
  • Very nice hostel: very central, reasonable price, nice an tid!
  • 83%
  • 13 Jun 2014 Pål
  • My favorite part of the hostel was the atmosphere. A bunch of travelers all looking to share stories and experiences. I highly recommend this hostel if you are a younger traveler like me who is backpacking all around the world. Met some great friends at this hostel.
  • 94%
  • 11 Jun 2014 Anonymous USA
  • i like baltiq cuntry hostel very good
  • 46%
  • 09 Jun 2014 Saleem Pakistan
  • The hostel is off the beaten path in Oslo...not super close to downtown (and in a sketchy neighborhood). The staff were very young, not accommodating or friendly, and the rooms were very old, super dirty and not safe. I WOULD NOT stay here again or recommend it - spend a little extra to be closer to downtown and for safer, cleaner and newer rooms. Sorry Anker, but step it up!
  • 40%
  • 05 Jun 2014 Anonymous USA
  • It's a hostel. Clean and spacious rooms. Laundry was a bit of a trek but otherwise comfortable. Friendly staff good atmosphere to meet new folks.
  • 91%
  • 27 May 2014 Anonymous India
  • Excellent location great atmosphere and easy to meet people.
  • 100%
  • 23 May 2014 Sean Ireland
City Guides and Information

Video guides, travel podcasts, city maps & free city guides. What to eat, where to stay and things to do and see - our travel guides have it all.

Find a guide »
Latest Blog Post

Using an InterRail pass (for EU residents) or a Eurail pass (for non-EU) is the perfect way to easily check off all the dreamy European destinations on your travel bucket list. Ride the rails like a pro with these five tips.

Read more »
Great Value and Choice

We offer the most comprehensive selection of hostels on the internet with over 35,000 great places to stay in 180 countries. The ultimate online resource for hostels everywhere.

Find great value hostels »