See other Oslo properties

Anker Hostel

Storgata 55, N-0182 Oslo, Oslo, Norway, Distance from city centre: 0.4km

Rating: 75% from 24 reviews

  • 72%Atmosphere
  • 81%Staff
  • 80%Security
  • 72%Cleanliness
  • 77%Location
  • 76%Value for money
  • 70%Facilities

Real Reviews

Real reviews from fellow travellers

These are trusted reviews from guests who have actually stayed here. We hope you find them helpful.

Note: we only give a property a rating once it has received a minimum of 3 reviews.

  • Sort By:
  • Traveler Type:
  • Age:
  • Very basic accommodation. There wasn't even soap in the bathroom. No outlets or lights near each bed so only the master light in a dorm of 8 beds. It's like Anker knows there aren't many options to stay in Oslo so they can get away with this.
  • 54%
  • 29 Apr 2016 Anonymous Canada
  • One of the best hostels I've stayed at, however there was no microwave. Maybe it's different in the summer when the common kitchen is open.
  • 94%
  • 29 Jan 2016 Courtney USA
  • It's a nice and comfortable hostel with a good location. The place is clean and safe, but there's the inconvinient of having to rent the sheets and the kitchen utensils.
  • 83%
  • 16 Jan 2016 Fernando Brazil
  • Not in the greatest location, but it was pretty good beside that
  • 71%
  • 22 Oct 2015 Craig USA
  • Location is close to downtown but walking through a sketchy neighbourhood. I wouldn't walk by myself to the hostel. Shouldn't have to rent kitchen supplies at an extra cost. Pictures were very well placed, made the place look wonderful, which we soon found out was not the case as the rest of the hostel is quite outdated and a little grungy. Our room was in the stairwell we were up all night because we could hear everything.
  • 49%
  • 27 Aug 2015 Jamie Canada
  • Great location! Only a few minutes to the city center by tram
  • 91%
  • 26 Aug 2015 Joseph USA
  • The hostel is not too far from the city center, so possible to walk everywhere. You can meet people there and they have a great roof top. I stayed in a female dorm and we had a citchen in the room which is on the one hand very cool, but on the other hand there was old food and it was not really clean. You can get breakfast in a restaurant near by, but it's a very simple one. For that price the hostel was good and I can recommend it.
  • 71%
  • 21 Aug 2015 Anonymous Germany
  • There are lockers however none in the rooms. This is a bit inconvenient but not a huge issue. Linens are not included however they can be rented. There are kitchens in most rooms and cookingware can be borrowed.
  • 77%
  • 16 Aug 2015 Anonymous USA
  • The hostel was clean and the staff were nice. It just felt very industrial and lacked an adequate kitchen.
  • 66%
  • 30 Jul 2015 Sarah USA
  • Friendly hostel, pretty easy to find and clean. Only downside was that you are pretty much forced to pay 50 kr separately for bed linen per person. Me and my friend have been travelling in a tent and thus with a sleeping bag, and we were disappointed to find we were not allowed to sleep in them; either buy bed linen for 50kr (which is roughly 5 euros for one night) or face a fine of 200 kr (20 euros). That left a bit of a hollow feeling, but overall, the hostel was fine!
  • 89%
  • 30 Jul 2015 Anonymous Dutch
City Guides and Information

Video guides, travel podcasts, city maps & free city guides. What to eat, where to stay and things to do and see - our travel guides have it all.

Find a guide »
Latest Blog Post

With the sun shining 80% of the time, Miami is the hot spot to go if you want a tropical getaway. It gets over 3,200 hours of sunshine a year, making it one of the top places to...

Read more »
Great Value and Choice

We offer the most comprehensive selection of hostels on the internet with over 33,000 great places to stay in 170 countries. The ultimate online resource for hostels everywhere.

Find great value hostels »