See other Oslo properties

Anker Hostel

Storgata 55, N-0182 Oslo, Oslo, Norway, Distance from city centre: 0.4km

Rating: 77% from 46 reviews

  • 76%Atmosphere
  • 78%Staff
  • 77%Security
  • 77%Cleanliness
  • 84%Location
  • 72%Value for money
  • 73%Facilities

Real Reviews

Real reviews from fellow travellers

These are trusted reviews from guests who have actually stayed here. We hope you find them helpful.

Note: we only give a property a rating once it has received a minimum of 3 reviews.

  • Sort By:
  • Traveler Type:
  • Age:
  • The hostel was clean and the staff were nice. It just felt very industrial and lacked an adequate kitchen.
  • 66%
  • 30 Jul 2015 Sarah USA
  • Friendly hostel, pretty easy to find and clean. Only downside was that you are pretty much forced to pay 50 kr separately for bed linen per person. Me and my friend have been travelling in a tent and thus with a sleeping bag, and we were disappointed to find we were not allowed to sleep in them; either buy bed linen for 50kr (which is roughly 5 euros for one night) or face a fine of 200 kr (20 euros). That left a bit of a hollow feeling, but overall, the hostel was fine!
  • 89%
  • 30 Jul 2015 Cas Dutch
  • Everything was tidy, and the staff were pleasant. I was annoyed by the kitchen situation- both this site and the hostel's website state that there was a kitchen available (which is true), but there was nothing that indicated that you had to rent dishes/pans/etc. The hostel website mentioned renting casserole dishes and stuff, which made it sound like you could rent things that were less basic. This should be made much more clear!
  • 74%
  • 14 Jul 2015 John Canada
  • popular and cheap :)
  • 91%
  • 17 Jun 2015 Anonymous Turkey
  • Very good hostel. No lockers in four bed dorm and surcharge for bed linen. Clean, cheap and I doubt there is better value for money in Oslo.
  • 89%
  • 16 Jun 2015 Anonymous Ireland
  • The hostel is located close to the city centre/sights so it's a great place to stay. However I found that the dorm I was in was cramped because it had 2 single beds and 3 sets of bunks. It also had a kitchenette area for cooking and eating in the same room which meant that the already cramped room smelled of food if anyone prepared anything, which they did. There was a bag of rubbish in the room which was still there when we checked out 2 days later. I'd prefer separate kitchen facilities
  • 74%
  • 05 Jun 2015 Anonymous Ireland
  • In expensive Norway, it was good to find a place that was reasonably priced. Hostel rooms were great, bathroom was clean, although water takes some time to drain after a shower. Good location, close to the tram.
  • 86%
  • 04 Jun 2015 Anonymous USA
  • One of the worst hostels I stayed at. The rooms were cramped, and the hostel was very crowded. DId not feel safe leaving my things in the room, and didn't feel safe staying here. They also didn't have lockers in the rooms, and they charged for sheets. It was not in the best part of town. In fairness though, if you enjoy drinking and partying, you may enjoy this hostel more then I did, but if you are looking for somewhere quiet and safe to sleep and explore the city, I wouldn't come here.
  • 40%
  • 03 Jun 2015 Anonymous USA
  • Good points : The hostel is not far from the center, the staff is friendly, wifi in the room, open 24 hours. Bad points : we had a room for 2 and the shower wasn't nicely cleaned. There were some hair from the previous people. No regret though
  • 77%
  • 29 May 2015 Melvin France
  • The biggest drawback about this hostel is that there is only a community kitchen during the summer month. Mixed dorms have small rings and oven for cooking, however you need to see the reception to get plates and utensils. Breakfast buffet is available for a nominal charge. Location is easy to get to by tram, bus, or taxi. There is a supermarket less than a five minute walk from the hostel.
  • 89%
  • 19 May 2015 Anonymous USA
City Guides and Information

Video guides, travel podcasts, city maps & free city guides. What to eat, where to stay and things to do and see - our travel guides have it all.

Find a guide »
Latest Blog Post

The epitome of culinary richness, Marrakesh -the heart of the red city, is a foodies wonderland

Read more »
Great Value and Choice

We offer the most comprehensive selection of hostels on the internet with over 35,000 great places to stay in 180 countries. The ultimate online resource for hostels everywhere.

Find great value hostels »