See other Oslo properties

Anker Hostel

Storgata 55, N-0182 Oslo, Oslo, Norway, Distance from city centre: 0.4km

Rating: 76% from 46 reviews

  • 75%Atmosphere
  • 81%Staff
  • 79%Security
  • 74%Cleanliness
  • 81%Location
  • 73%Value for money
  • 73%Facilities

Real Reviews

Real reviews from fellow travellers

These are trusted reviews from guests who have actually stayed here. We hope you find them helpful.

Note: we only give a property a rating once it has received a minimum of 3 reviews.

  • Sort By:
  • Traveler Type:
  • Age:
  • Not in the greatest location, but it was pretty good beside that
  • 71%
  • 22 Oct 2015 Craig USA
  • Location is close to downtown but walking through a sketchy neighbourhood. I wouldn't walk by myself to the hostel. Shouldn't have to rent kitchen supplies at an extra cost. Pictures were very well placed, made the place look wonderful, which we soon found out was not the case as the rest of the hostel is quite outdated and a little grungy. Our room was in the stairwell we were up all night because we could hear everything.
  • 49%
  • 27 Aug 2015 Jamie Canada
  • Great location! Only a few minutes to the city center by tram
  • 91%
  • 26 Aug 2015 Joseph USA
  • The hostel is not too far from the city center, so possible to walk everywhere. You can meet people there and they have a great roof top. I stayed in a female dorm and we had a citchen in the room which is on the one hand very cool, but on the other hand there was old food and it was not really clean. You can get breakfast in a restaurant near by, but it's a very simple one. For that price the hostel was good and I can recommend it.
  • 71%
  • 21 Aug 2015 Anonymous Germany
  • There are lockers however none in the rooms. This is a bit inconvenient but not a huge issue. Linens are not included however they can be rented. There are kitchens in most rooms and cookingware can be borrowed.
  • 77%
  • 16 Aug 2015 Anonymous USA
  • The hostel was clean and the staff were nice. It just felt very industrial and lacked an adequate kitchen.
  • 66%
  • 30 Jul 2015 Sarah USA
  • Friendly hostel, pretty easy to find and clean. Only downside was that you are pretty much forced to pay 50 kr separately for bed linen per person. Me and my friend have been travelling in a tent and thus with a sleeping bag, and we were disappointed to find we were not allowed to sleep in them; either buy bed linen for 50kr (which is roughly 5 euros for one night) or face a fine of 200 kr (20 euros). That left a bit of a hollow feeling, but overall, the hostel was fine!
  • 89%
  • 30 Jul 2015 Anonymous Dutch
  • Everything was tidy, and the staff were pleasant. I was annoyed by the kitchen situation- both this site and the hostel's website state that there was a kitchen available (which is true), but there was nothing that indicated that you had to rent dishes/pans/etc. The hostel website mentioned renting casserole dishes and stuff, which made it sound like you could rent things that were less basic. This should be made much more clear!
  • 74%
  • 14 Jul 2015 John Canada
  • popular and cheap :)
  • 91%
  • 17 Jun 2015 Anonymous Turkey
  • Very good hostel. No lockers in four bed dorm and surcharge for bed linen. Clean, cheap and I doubt there is better value for money in Oslo.
  • 89%
  • 16 Jun 2015 Anonymous Ireland
City Guides and Information

Video guides, travel podcasts, city maps & free city guides. What to eat, where to stay and things to do and see - our travel guides have it all.

Find a guide »
Latest Blog Post

The epitome of culinary richness, Marrakesh -the heart of the red city, is a foodies wonderland

Read more »
Great Value and Choice

We offer the most comprehensive selection of hostels on the internet with over 33,000 great places to stay in 170 countries. The ultimate online resource for hostels everywhere.

Find great value hostels »