See other Hong Kong properties

Apple Hostel

B7, 10/fl., Block B, Chungking Mansions, Tsim Sha Tsui, 36-44 Nathan Road, Kowloon, Hong Kong, Hong Kong, Distance from city centre: 12.9km

Rating: 81% from 18 reviews

  • 70%Atmosphere
  • 92%Staff
  • 77%Security
  • 81%Cleanliness
  • 90%Location
  • 83%Value for money
  • 75%Facilities

Real Reviews

Real reviews from fellow travellers

These are trusted reviews from guests who have actually stayed here. We hope you find them helpful.

Note: we only give a property a rating once it has received a minimum of 3 reviews.

  • Sort By:
  • Traveler Type:
  • Age:
  • I, along with my parents, just recently visited Hongkong. we stayed at Apple Hostel as recommended by a friend. Tbh, when we arrived at Chungking Mansion, where the hostel is at, i felt homesick already.it was really toxic at the groundfloor because of the people doing their business and everything, as well as the elevator is relatively small(it only acommodates up to 7 people of regular weight).When we arrived at the hostel and were ushered in our room, it literally felt like home..it's clean
  • 91%
  • 01 Jul 2014 maria clarissa Philippines
  • IT IS AN EXCELENT OPTION IN CHUNKING MANSION, SAFE, CLEAN AND GOOD STAFF, PEOPLE WHO COMPLAIN ABOUT THE LIFT IN CHUNKING MANSION, ALL LIFT THE SAME IN HONG KONG, SMALL AND TIGHT, ANYWAY THIS HOSTEL IS VERY GOOD
  • 100%
  • 31 May 2014 Anonymous Mexico
  • Great place to stay on a budget and the staff was very nice but the building itself is really sketchy. Does have a great location.
  • 71%
  • 17 May 2014 Anonymous USA
  • The elevator problem is the most important issue. Wait is too long and sometimes takes over 10 minutes on the way down to the lobby. The shared bathroom could be cleaned more often.
  • 63%
  • 02 Apr 2014 William USA
  • Compact,but complete and clean. There was an elevator line during chinese new year but guard kept it orderly and systematic. Chungking mansion was not ghetto as I expected, not scary at all. We liked TST, easy access to all esp waterfront. Apple hostel was great, no surprises like bugs. Had quiet nights sleep ensuite bathroom and basic tv.
  • 86%
  • 30 Jan 2014 conrado Philippines
  • Mama Suny and the rest of the staff were great. Chungking mansion, and most of the mansions in the area are a little sketchy, but fine. Most of the action is across the harbor on hong kong island, but Nathan road still has a lot going on. The rooms are TINY, but you shouldn't be spending much time there anyways.
  • 77%
  • 13 Dec 2013 Alexander USA
  • Apple Hostel was great. 10th floor and sequestered. I always felt safe. During the day the door to our hall was often propped open which was alarming at first but I realized someone who worked there was propping it open for laundry. She had a good eye on the place. There were no deadbolts on room doors, just simple push in door locks so maybe they need deadbolts? I don't know. The location is awesome and it's funny being offered drugs, suits and guesthouse scams on the way in. Don't fall for it
  • 86%
  • 04 Dec 2013 Ross USA
  • Great place, but would be nice to have a locker in the room for added security for laptops etc.
  • 89%
  • 16 Nov 2013 Anonymous Canada
  • Great location, friendly staff and cheap for Hong Kong! Also they provid you with free drinking water.
  • 89%
  • 04 Nov 2013 Anonymous Sweden
  • Incredible location for visitors to HK - short walk to Star Ferry and Macau ferry, and right in the center of everything. The room is efficient, very clean, and we felt totally safe in the hostel and in our room. The elevator, up and down, to this 10th floor location requires a lot of patience, but it is well organized and safe. I have also stayed at the Kyoto Guest House in this same building - there were no vacancies for these dates - and both hostels are great values for a day or three in HK
  • 80%
  • 18 Oct 2013 John USA
City Guides and Information

Video guides, travel podcasts, city maps & free city guides. What to eat, where to stay and things to do and see - our travel guides have it all.

Find a guide »
Latest Blog Post

Using an InterRail pass (for EU residents) or a Eurail pass (for non-EU) is the perfect way to easily check off all the dreamy European destinations on your travel bucket list. Ride the rails like a pro with these five tips.

Read more »
Great Value and Choice

We offer the most comprehensive selection of hostels on the internet with over 35,000 great places to stay in 180 countries. The ultimate online resource for hostels everywhere.

Find great value hostels »