See other Hong Kong properties

Apple Hostel

B7, 10/fl., Block B, Chungking Mansions, Tsim Sha Tsui, 36-44 Nathan Road, Kowloon, Hong Kong, Hong Kong, Distance from city centre: 12.9km

Rating: 77% from 22 reviews

  • 64%Atmosphere
  • 85%Staff
  • 74%Security
  • 79%Cleanliness
  • 86%Location
  • 80%Value for money
  • 72%Facilities

Real Reviews

Real reviews from fellow travellers

These are trusted reviews from guests who have actually stayed here. We hope you find them helpful.

Note: we only give a property a rating once it has received a minimum of 3 reviews.

  • Sort By:
  • Traveler Type:
  • Age:
  • First the good: The staff are nice, the cleaning ladies are especially helpful and cheerful. Also, the room itself was decent, about what we expected. The location in Kowloon is excellent, at the bottom of Nathan Road. Now for the not so good: The hostel itself is dingy and dark and very old needing some basic repairs. It is located in a very large building which is mostly hostels/guesthouses with typical HK retail on the bottom floor. The building has totally inadequate/smelly elevators.
  • 63%
  • 05 Dec 2014 scott USA
  • I used small room with separate bathroom, cleanliness on acceptable level for this part of world. No windows in this room. For one night sleep, OK.
  • 69%
  • 25 Oct 2014 Anonymous
  • The room is smaller, the facilities are not that good as we expected from the website. But the location is close to the coast/harbor and the city centre, easy to find other places.
  • 60%
  • 13 Oct 2014 Anonymous China
  • Good location small room and bed, but very clean great value! Just need to be patient with the elevator.
  • 94%
  • 10 Oct 2014 Anonymous Taiwan
  • The Apple Hostel is clean, in excellent location; generally very good value for money.
  • 97%
  • 28 Sep 2014 Matous Czech Republic
  • always a good option in Hong Kong
  • 91%
  • 13 Sep 2014 Anonymous Mexico
  • I, along with my parents, just recently visited Hongkong. we stayed at Apple Hostel as recommended by a friend. Tbh, when we arrived at Chungking Mansion, where the hostel is at, i felt homesick already.it was really toxic at the groundfloor because of the people doing their business and everything, as well as the elevator is relatively small(it only acommodates up to 7 people of regular weight).When we arrived at the hostel and were ushered in our room, it literally felt like home..it's clean
  • 91%
  • 01 Jul 2014 maria clarissa Philippines
  • The staff at this hostel were great. I didn't arrive until 4:00 am, but the man waited for me and even let me go to bed first and check in in the afternoon. They were also helpful and gave me a map and directions. The room was tiny, but had everything I needed. It was also very clean and a towel, soap, and plug adapter were provided in the room. Hairdryers are available to borrow at the reception. The location was very convenient and easy to find. I would definitely stay here again.
  • 94%
  • 01 Jun 2014 Anonymous Canada
  • IT IS AN EXCELENT OPTION IN CHUNKING MANSION, SAFE, CLEAN AND GOOD STAFF, PEOPLE WHO COMPLAIN ABOUT THE LIFT IN CHUNKING MANSION, ALL LIFT THE SAME IN HONG KONG, SMALL AND TIGHT, ANYWAY THIS HOSTEL IS VERY GOOD
  • 100%
  • 31 May 2014 Anonymous Mexico
  • Great place to stay on a budget and the staff was very nice but the building itself is really sketchy. Does have a great location.
  • 71%
  • 17 May 2014 Anonymous USA
City Guides and Information

Video guides, travel podcasts, city maps & free city guides. What to eat, where to stay and things to do and see - our travel guides have it all.

Find a guide »
Latest Blog Post

4 Southern Hemisphere Trips to do Before you Die

Read more »
Great Value and Choice

We offer the most comprehensive selection of hostels on the internet with over 35,000 great places to stay in 180 countries. The ultimate online resource for hostels everywhere.

Find great value hostels »