See other Hong Kong properties

Apple Hostel

B7, 10/fl., Block B, Chungking Mansions, Tsim Sha Tsui, 36-44 Nathan Road, Kowloon, Hong Kong, Hong Kong, Distance from city centre: 12.9km

Rating: 78% from 19 reviews

  • 69%Atmosphere
  • 88%Staff
  • 75%Security
  • 76%Cleanliness
  • 86%Location
  • 80%Value for money
  • 69%Facilities

Real Reviews

Real reviews from fellow travellers

These are trusted reviews from guests who have actually stayed here. We hope you find them helpful.

Note: we only give a property a rating once it has received a minimum of 3 reviews.

  • Sort By:
  • Traveler Type:
  • Age:
  • The elevator problem is the most important issue. Wait is too long and sometimes takes over 10 minutes on the way down to the lobby. The shared bathroom could be cleaned more often.
  • 63%
  • 02 Apr 2014 William USA
  • Compact,but complete and clean. There was an elevator line during chinese new year but guard kept it orderly and systematic. Chungking mansion was not ghetto as I expected, not scary at all. We liked TST, easy access to all esp waterfront. Apple hostel was great, no surprises like bugs. Had quiet nights sleep ensuite bathroom and basic tv.
  • 86%
  • 30 Jan 2014 conrado Philippines
  • Mama Suny and the rest of the staff were great. Chungking mansion, and most of the mansions in the area are a little sketchy, but fine. Most of the action is across the harbor on hong kong island, but Nathan road still has a lot going on. The rooms are TINY, but you shouldn't be spending much time there anyways.
  • 77%
  • 13 Dec 2013 Alexander USA
  • Apple Hostel was great. 10th floor and sequestered. I always felt safe. During the day the door to our hall was often propped open which was alarming at first but I realized someone who worked there was propping it open for laundry. She had a good eye on the place. There were no deadbolts on room doors, just simple push in door locks so maybe they need deadbolts? I don't know. The location is awesome and it's funny being offered drugs, suits and guesthouse scams on the way in. Don't fall for it
  • 86%
  • 04 Dec 2013 Ross USA
  • Great place, but would be nice to have a locker in the room for added security for laptops etc.
  • 89%
  • 16 Nov 2013 Anonymous Canada
  • Great location, friendly staff and cheap for Hong Kong! Also they provid you with free drinking water.
  • 89%
  • 04 Nov 2013 Anonymous Sweden
  • Incredible location for visitors to HK - short walk to Star Ferry and Macau ferry, and right in the center of everything. The room is efficient, very clean, and we felt totally safe in the hostel and in our room. The elevator, up and down, to this 10th floor location requires a lot of patience, but it is well organized and safe. I have also stayed at the Kyoto Guest House in this same building - there were no vacancies for these dates - and both hostels are great values for a day or three in HK
  • 80%
  • 18 Oct 2013 John USA
  • nice lttle hostel, friendly staff cleaning the room every day, a lot of little pakistani, indian food stalls on the ground floor of the building, good locaton...
  • 86%
  • 25 Aug 2013 Thomas Australia
  • Perfect for travelers on the cheap. Loved my stay here. Old, but clean and no roaches or bugs anywhere, clean towels daily, AC, TV hardline internet, solid wifi, cheap, awesome staff, center of town, be careful of the dodgy unlicensed hostel touts in the lobby. Apple Hostel was awesome. Chungking Mansions is perfectly safe for anyone with an ounce of street sense.
  • 86%
  • 07 Aug 2013 Mark Scotland
  • very good
  • 100%
  • 31 Jul 2013 Anonymous South Korea
City Guides and Information

Video guides, travel podcasts, city maps & free city guides. What to eat, where to stay and things to do and see - our travel guides have it all.

Find a guide »
Latest Blog Post

Whether you want to get down'n'dirty in Austin or stay up all night in Berlin, live music is an unforgettable way to get to know any city's secret rhythms. But what cities have the best gigs? Here's five of our favourites...

Read more »
Great Value and Choice

We offer the most comprehensive selection of hostels on the internet with over 35,000 great places to stay in 180 countries. The ultimate online resource for hostels everywhere.

Find great value hostels »