See other La Fortuna properties

Arenal Hostel Resort

100 m al Oeste de la Plaza de La Fortuna, La Fortuna, Costa Rica, Distance from city centre: 64.9km

Rating: 91% from 11 reviews

  • 85%Atmosphere
  • 92%Staff
  • 92%Security
  • 94%Cleanliness
  • 94%Location
  • 89%Value for money
  • 90%Facilities

Real Reviews

Real reviews from fellow travellers

These are trusted reviews from guests who have actually stayed here. We hope you find them helpful.

Note: we only give a property a rating once it has received a minimum of 3 reviews.

  • Sort By:
  • Traveler Type:
  • Age:
  • This had a great location, we used the kitchen area and it was adequate for our needs. This was the first hostel I stayed in where I paid extra for an ensuite bathroom and was not given towels. They were for rent but felt the price of the room warranted the free use of towels. Food was good… had the buffet one morning and it was quite tasty.
  • 91%
  • 27 Jun 2014 Anonymous USA
  • One of the best places i have stayed! Tours they offered are a bit too expensive but the location will help you find other options
  • 100%
  • 23 Apr 2014 Maria Del Carmen Mexico
  • Beautiful, organized, clean &, lovely Diego greeted us & was super helpful during our stay. We appreciated being able to leave an envelope of valuables in the office safe each day while we were out. The common areas & room were both far above par for a hostel in my opinion: clean and spacious. Linens provided (towels upon request). There is a great buffet for a charge, and a kitchen with fridge to store items. Night security will buzz you in after 11pm, and keep it quiet for sleep.
  • 100%
  • 19 Apr 2014 Mario USA
  • I was worried this was going to be a party resort when we arrived just from the looks of everything, but it was a nice quiet location. They do have a bar, but it closes at 10 p.m. The staff was friendly and accommodating.
  • 89%
  • 13 Apr 2014 Tina USA
  • Beautiful, clean and comfortable. The staff was very friendly and knowledgeable. I highly recommend it to anyone, from the party college student to the ones who just want to relax.
  • 97%
  • 25 Mar 2014 Anonymous USA
  • Great hostel, friendly staff, breakfast was awesome, rooms were clean and good location. Tours/activities were a bit pricey but well organized.
  • 80%
  • 01 Mar 2014 Evita France
  • We felt very secure in the hostel with the locked gate. The hostel was easy to find and we liked that it was conveniently located in town. The staff was kind and the atmosphere was definitely for young adults looking for a good time. We would have liked it if breakfast was included, but since it was all you can eat, it was okay.
  • 86%
  • 05 Jan 2014 Anonymous USA
  • They make a very pleasant garden / bar / resting area, with very little ground. Nice little pool & nice little kitchen (very small if too many cooking but ok for 2 or 3) most people were not using it when I was there so it was ok for me.
  • 80%
  • 26 Dec 2013 Anonymous France
  • Very clean and nice hostel. Not quite the party atmosphere expected. Good spot for couples. Great location and helpful staff.
  • 91%
  • 24 Dec 2013 Anonymous USA
  • This was beautiful and centrally located. The people who run this place are good at what they do. I was impressed.
  • 100%
  • 09 Oct 2013 Anonymous USA
City Guides and Information

Video guides, travel podcasts, city maps & free city guides. What to eat, where to stay and things to do and see - our travel guides have it all.

Find a guide »
Latest Blog Post

My personal definition of a backpacker is not someone who carries a backpack, but someone who just wants to save money to travel longer.

Read more »
Great Value and Choice

We offer the most comprehensive selection of hostels on the internet with over 35,000 great places to stay in 180 countries. The ultimate online resource for hostels everywhere.

Find great value hostels »