See other Christchurch properties

Around The World Backpackers

314 Barbadoes Street, Christchurch, New Zealand, Distance from city centre: 0.8km

Rating: 80% from 26 reviews

  • 77%Atmosphere
  • 87%Staff
  • 83%Security
  • 80%Cleanliness
  • 76%Location
  • 82%Value for money
  • 78%Facilities

Real Reviews

Real reviews from fellow travellers

These are trusted reviews from guests who have actually stayed here. We hope you find them helpful.

Note: we only give a property a rating once it has received a minimum of 3 reviews.

  • Sort By:
  • Traveler Type:
  • Age:
  • I had a great experience!!! Would definitely recommend!
  • 100%
  • 06 Dec 2014 ashlynn USA
  • I booked this hostel online because it had good reviews and was affordable. I was so pleasantly surprised, especially after experiencing BaseI love this little hostel. I am a little scared to review it because I want to keep it to myself! I met great people, the house is lovely and easy to get to city center on foot. It is very cozy, has a little backyard with herbs, the staff is very friendly and personable, the rooms and facilities are clean and warm, and there is free wi-fi!
  • 91%
  • 06 Dec 2014 Emily USA
  • Great hostel. Clean sheets and rooms. Nice and friendly staff. Free pc with internet (job search etc.).Also free WiFi average speed. Tv Room. Nice littkr garden in the back for sunbathing and relaxing. Right for people who don't like big hostels. Clean kitchen. Overall it wad a pleasant stay but a bit to expensive for my taste.
    Owner Comment

    Thanks for your comments all the best with your travels.

  • 80%
  • 26 Nov 2014 Benjamin
  • enjoyed the stay friendly staff & very clean thank you will return
    Owner Comment

    Thanks for your comments. Pleased you enjoyed your stay.

  • 89%
  • 04 Sep 2014 Gavin New Zealand
  • Very helpful staff, easy free parking. 5 min walk from what used to be center city before the earthquake. Clean sheets, bed was ok. Bathroom could be cleaner and water pressure was not that good.
    Owner Comment

    Thanks for your comments, all the best with your travels.

  • 86%
  • 25 Aug 2014 Anonymous USA
  • Need to upgrade bathrooms, brah. Stray hairs all over the place. Bedrooms were fine
    Owner Comment

    Thanks for your comments, we will look into the issue of stray hairs in the bathrooms

  • 57%
  • 25 Aug 2014 Michael USA
  • Nice and pleasant stay
    Owner Comment

    Thanks for your review

  • 80%
  • 29 Jul 2014 Anonymous Singapore
  • It was a lovely little hostel in the back of the city, but decent walk to the center.
    Owner Comment

    Thanks for your review.

  • 80%
  • 17 Jun 2014 Margaret USA
  • Free wifi
    Owner Comment

    yes free wifi, thank you for staying with us.

  • 74%
  • 08 Apr 2014 Anonymous Taiwan
  • Terrible hostel! Extremely dirty (smells like feet) and the staff is terrible. There was a loud group of people around 1a in my room and when I asked them to keep it down or take it outside, they told me to f*** off. I later found out that they work at the hostel for accommodation. I also know people that had things stolen during their stay at the hostel. DO NOT STAY AT THIS HOSTEL!
    Owner Comment

    Hi I am very upset to see your comments and wish you had come and made the complaint with me personally. Yes there was some noise issues that night and we did have another complaint from another guest who I refunded in full. Sorry you felt the place smelt of smelly feet and I was not told about anything going missing?? We are a very secure hostel, as we have a key code on the front door, keys for all the rooms and cameras in the hostel, please send me an email if you would like to. Belinda

  • 29%
  • 10 Feb 2014 Anonymous USA
City Guides and Information

Video guides, travel podcasts, city maps & free city guides. What to eat, where to stay and things to do and see - our travel guides have it all.

Find a guide »
Latest Blog Post

4 Southern Hemisphere Trips to do Before you Die

Read more »
Great Value and Choice

We offer the most comprehensive selection of hostels on the internet with over 35,000 great places to stay in 180 countries. The ultimate online resource for hostels everywhere.

Find great value hostels »