See other Christchurch properties

Around The World Backpackers

314 Barbadoes Street, Christchurch, New Zealand, Distance from city centre: 0.8km

Rating: 80% from 25 reviews

  • 76%Atmosphere
  • 87%Staff
  • 82%Security
  • 80%Cleanliness
  • 76%Location
  • 81%Value for money
  • 79%Facilities

Real Reviews

Real reviews from fellow travellers

These are trusted reviews from guests who have actually stayed here. We hope you find them helpful.

Note: we only give a property a rating once it has received a minimum of 3 reviews.

  • Sort By:
  • Traveler Type:
  • Age:
  • enjoyed the stay friendly staff & very clean thank you will return
    Owner Comment

    Thanks for your comments. Pleased you enjoyed your stay.

  • 89%
  • 04 Sep 2014 Gavin New Zealand
  • Very helpful staff, easy free parking. 5 min walk from what used to be center city before the earthquake. Clean sheets, bed was ok. Bathroom could be cleaner and water pressure was not that good.
    Owner Comment

    Thanks for your comments, all the best with your travels.

  • 86%
  • 25 Aug 2014 Anonymous USA
  • Need to upgrade bathrooms, brah. Stray hairs all over the place. Bedrooms were fine
    Owner Comment

    Thanks for your comments, we will look into the issue of stray hairs in the bathrooms

  • 57%
  • 25 Aug 2014 Michael USA
  • Nice and pleasant stay
    Owner Comment

    Thanks for your review

  • 80%
  • 29 Jul 2014 Anonymous Singapore
  • It was a lovely little hostel in the back of the city, but decent walk to the center.
    Owner Comment

    Thanks for your review.

  • 80%
  • 17 Jun 2014 Margaret USA
  • Free wifi
    Owner Comment

    yes free wifi, thank you for staying with us.

  • 74%
  • 08 Apr 2014 Anonymous Taiwan
  • Terrible hostel! Extremely dirty (smells like feet) and the staff is terrible. There was a loud group of people around 1a in my room and when I asked them to keep it down or take it outside, they told me to f*** off. I later found out that they work at the hostel for accommodation. I also know people that had things stolen during their stay at the hostel. DO NOT STAY AT THIS HOSTEL!
    Owner Comment

    Hi I am very upset to see your comments and wish you had come and made the complaint with me personally. Yes there was some noise issues that night and we did have another complaint from another guest who I refunded in full. Sorry you felt the place smelt of smelly feet and I was not told about anything going missing?? We are a very secure hostel, as we have a key code on the front door, keys for all the rooms and cameras in the hostel, please send me an email if you would like to. Belinda

  • 29%
  • 10 Feb 2014 Anonymous USA
  • Very friendly people who are working at around the world backpackers. And they are really helpfull.
    Owner Comment

    Thanks for your lovely comments and hope you enjoyed your stay with us.

  • 94%
  • 07 Feb 2014 Aloys Netherlands
  • Clean and friendly hostel.Nice backyard.Free Wifi is not working that good but average.
    Owner Comment

    Thanks for your review, I will contact our wifi provider about it being a bit slow, we have not had any other complaints so I'm guessing it was a technical issue on our providers end.

  • 91%
  • 21 Jan 2014 Julia Germany
  • TV room is too small.
    Owner Comment

    Hi sorry you thought our TV room was so small I hoped you enjoyed all the other facilities we provide for our guests.

  • 69%
  • 14 Jan 2014 Takuhei Japan
City Guides and Information

Video guides, travel podcasts, city maps & free city guides. What to eat, where to stay and things to do and see - our travel guides have it all.

Find a guide »
Latest Blog Post

A time for indulging and spending time with family, it's no wonder that some of the world's best foods make an appearance during Christmas. Here are some of the world's most mouth-watering holiday dishes!

Read more »
Great Value and Choice

We offer the most comprehensive selection of hostels on the internet with over 35,000 great places to stay in 180 countries. The ultimate online resource for hostels everywhere.

Find great value hostels »