See other Christchurch properties

Around The World Backpackers

314 Barbadoes Street, Christchurch, New Zealand, Distance from city centre: 0.8km

Rating: 83% from 23 reviews

  • 81%Atmosphere
  • 90%Staff
  • 86%Security
  • 82%Cleanliness
  • 76%Location
  • 84%Value for money
  • 82%Facilities

Real Reviews

Real reviews from fellow travellers

These are trusted reviews from guests who have actually stayed here. We hope you find them helpful.

Note: we only give a property a rating once it has received a minimum of 3 reviews.

  • Sort By:
  • Traveler Type:
  • Age:
  • Dirty kitchen due to idle, selfish hostellers too lazy to clear up.
    Owner Comment

    It doesn't matter how many signs you put up, dishes still don't get cleaned and put away. Our staff constantly keep a watch over the kitchen. Night time is the worst as the kitchen is open all night and our staff finish their shift at 11pm. Otherwise we hope you enjoyed your stay and all the best with the rest of your trip.

  • 74%
  • 23 Mar 2015 Anonymous England
  • It's a backpackers joint - but as far as that goes, it's about as good as you could ask for: extremely kind, helpful staff; clean facilities; I felt secure enough to leave my gear in my room; and a nice back yard to boot. A very comfortable place. If I needed a place to crash, I would hope it would be like this place here. Nice, safe place.
    Owner Comment

    Cool review thanks for your kind words, happy travels

  • 94%
  • 19 Jan 2015 Michael USA
  • I had a great experience!!! Would definitely recommend!
    Owner Comment

    So pleased you enjoyed yourself, thanks for your great review, happy Christmas.

  • 100%
  • 06 Dec 2014 ashlynn USA
  • I booked this hostel online because it had good reviews and was affordable. I was so pleasantly surprised, especially after experiencing BaseI love this little hostel. I am a little scared to review it because I want to keep it to myself! I met great people, the house is lovely and easy to get to city center on foot. It is very cozy, has a little backyard with herbs, the staff is very friendly and personable, the rooms and facilities are clean and warm, and there is free wi-fi!
    Owner Comment

    thanks for your lovely review. So pleased you enjoyed your time with us, all the best with the rest of your trip and happy Christmas.

  • 91%
  • 06 Dec 2014 Emily USA
  • Great hostel. Clean sheets and rooms. Nice and friendly staff. Free pc with internet (job search etc.).Also free WiFi average speed. Tv Room. Nice littkr garden in the back for sunbathing and relaxing. Right for people who don't like big hostels. Clean kitchen. Overall it wad a pleasant stay but a bit to expensive for my taste.
    Owner Comment

    Thanks for your comments all the best with your travels.

  • 80%
  • 26 Nov 2014 Benjamin
  • enjoyed the stay friendly staff & very clean thank you will return
    Owner Comment

    Thanks for your comments. Pleased you enjoyed your stay.

  • 89%
  • 04 Sep 2014 Gavin New Zealand
  • Very helpful staff, easy free parking. 5 min walk from what used to be center city before the earthquake. Clean sheets, bed was ok. Bathroom could be cleaner and water pressure was not that good.
    Owner Comment

    Thanks for your comments, all the best with your travels.

  • 86%
  • 25 Aug 2014 Anonymous USA
  • Need to upgrade bathrooms, brah. Stray hairs all over the place. Bedrooms were fine
    Owner Comment

    Thanks for your comments, we will look into the issue of stray hairs in the bathrooms

  • 57%
  • 25 Aug 2014 Michael USA
  • Nice and pleasant stay
    Owner Comment

    Thanks for your review

  • 80%
  • 29 Jul 2014 Anonymous Singapore
City Guides and Information

Video guides, travel podcasts, city maps & free city guides. What to eat, where to stay and things to do and see - our travel guides have it all.

Find a guide »
Latest Blog Post

There's nothing like having your own transport to get around and when travelling the world it's no different.

Read more »
Great Value and Choice

We offer the most comprehensive selection of hostels on the internet with over 35,000 great places to stay in 180 countries. The ultimate online resource for hostels everywhere.

Find great value hostels »