See other London properties

Arsenal Tavern Hostel

175 Blackstock Road, London, England, Distance from city centre: 6.9km

Rating: 63% from 31 reviews

  • 67%Atmosphere
  • 69%Staff
  • 69%Security
  • 41%Cleanliness
  • 71%Location
  • 71%Value for money
  • 55%Facilities

Real Reviews

Real reviews from fellow travellers

These are trusted reviews from guests who have actually stayed here. We hope you find them helpful.

Note: we only give a property a rating once it has received a minimum of 3 reviews.

  • Sort By:
  • Traveler Type:
  • Age:
  • More mould in the shower than water...disgusting. Plus de moisissure dans la douche que d'eau qui sort...dégueulasse. Mehr Schimmel in der Dusche als Wasser...ekelhaft.
  • 34%
  • 27 Jun 2014 Anonymous Germany
  • I felt save but lots of the environment was moldy and in bad contition. I know it is a lowcost hostel, please keep it clean.
  • 49%
  • 27 Jun 2014 Simon-Karl Austria
  • its cheap. Its ok for the money.....a bit more vacuuming and cleaning of the showers is definitely needed.
  • 60%
  • 25 Jun 2014 Anonymous Croatia
  • Most disgusting place to stay ever!! I'd rather stay dirty instead of showering there.... uäääh
  • 31%
  • 13 Jun 2014 Sarah Germany
  • The worst experience I ever had. It was very dirty!!. It was impossible to take a shower because of dirt!!. Breakfast was bad. We tryed coffe and tea, and it was impossible to drink them. Taste was disgusting.... Linen was dirty (we found some sperm on it!!!). I didn't got a pillow. Better sleep in a tent on a street.
  • 29%
  • 08 Apr 2014 Moris Lithuania
  • The worst shower I have ever had in my entire life! You get to chose between extremely hot, burning your skin or extremely cold, freezing your body. There's no in between. There's no elevator. Breakfast is ok. The staff were helpful. Place is a little bit far from subway station.
  • 60%
  • 27 Mar 2014 Amanda Brazil
  • The hostel itself is nice, location as for London is very comfortable (Zone 2, 5 vin. walk from tube station), reception works 24/7, but the main problem is dirt. The level of cleanliness is very poor, rooms are smelly and filthy, showers are not comfortable. But the breakfasts as for hostel are good and the place is for youth, because it is also a bar. People are having fun and going out almost each night.
  • 57%
  • 12 Mar 2014 Anonymous Ukraine
  • This place is very cheap, but I didn't expect it to be this bad for the money payed. Its economy has to be running on fumes while trying to keep the health authorities at bay. There is mold everywhere and the showers are not for the faint of heart. I'd be very entertained watching a TV show of some firefighter offering his opinions on waking up to a fire in this place. The positives are that the lobby is ok (power outlets and sofas), with a nice pub, with nice staff, connected to the hostel.
  • 40%
  • 27 Feb 2014 Leo Sweden
  • 價錢便宜 由 Arsenal 地鐵站前往簡單 值得考慮
  • 77%
  • 31 Dec 2013 Jun-Kai Taiwan
  • The twins room I booked. When i went to the room. It wasn't cleaned up. Everywhere was messy. After they cleaned and changed the bad sheet, the floor and the toilet still dirty.And the shower bath. it seems no water comes out and no hot water. Then i had to use the public bathroom. The door knock is suck and everywhere look old. and the ground floor public area look not clean as well.
  • 46%
  • 28 Nov 2013 LEE LUNG Hong Kong
City Guides and Information

Video guides, travel podcasts, city maps & free city guides. What to eat, where to stay and things to do and see - our travel guides have it all.

Find a guide »
Latest Blog Post

Using an InterRail pass (for EU residents) or a Eurail pass (for non-EU) is the perfect way to easily check off all the dreamy European destinations on your travel bucket list. Ride the rails like a pro with these five tips.

Read more »
Great Value and Choice

We offer the most comprehensive selection of hostels on the internet with over 35,000 great places to stay in 180 countries. The ultimate online resource for hostels everywhere.

Find great value hostels »