See other London properties

Arsenal Tavern Hostel

175 Blackstock Road, London, England, Distance from city centre: 6.9km

Rating: 63% from 30 reviews

  • 67%Atmosphere
  • 70%Staff
  • 70%Security
  • 40%Cleanliness
  • 72%Location
  • 70%Value for money
  • 54%Facilities

Real Reviews

Real reviews from fellow travellers

These are trusted reviews from guests who have actually stayed here. We hope you find them helpful.

Note: we only give a property a rating once it has received a minimum of 3 reviews.

  • Sort By:
  • Traveler Type:
  • Age:
  • We had a very small room, and bathrooms are terrible, small and dirty. However location is good, underground is 500 meters from the hostel.
  • 60%
  • 25 Jul 2014 Rafał Poland
  • For that sum, the beds were OK but as showers had problems, including that in front of showers they had a hole, covered by towels that were already very wet so you had to have rubber boots to go in. Common area is nice and cosy but toilets are a big mess, common room one was just dirty and upstairs ones were so small you have a problem closing the door. there was no sink in room and in toilets they had sink but no mirror, and in shower they had both but you'd get wet. hand-driers did not work.
  • 63%
  • 18 Jul 2014 Anonymous Estonia
  • The bath-rooms may be much better. It's possible that there are not many bathrooms to a lot of people. It is a place to sleep a few days. The breakfast is good and the personal is very kind. I had a problem with the book but the personal help to change it without any problem.
  • 74%
  • 16 Jul 2014 izhan Spain
  • had a lot of fun staying here, the staff are all really friendly and helping and theres a great atmosphere in the common area which used to be a bar. great location with a heap of cool bars and parks around and its only a 5 min walk to either arsenal or finsbury tube. definatly worth the price
  • 100%
  • 13 Jul 2014 marcus Australia
  • More mould in the shower than water...disgusting. Plus de moisissure dans la douche que d'eau qui sort...dégueulasse. Mehr Schimmel in der Dusche als Wasser...ekelhaft.
  • 34%
  • 27 Jun 2014 Anonymous Germany
  • I felt save but lots of the environment was moldy and in bad contition. I know it is a lowcost hostel, please keep it clean.
  • 49%
  • 27 Jun 2014 Simon-Karl Austria
  • its cheap. Its ok for the money.....a bit more vacuuming and cleaning of the showers is definitely needed.
  • 60%
  • 25 Jun 2014 Anonymous Croatia
  • Most disgusting place to stay ever!! I'd rather stay dirty instead of showering there.... uäääh
  • 31%
  • 13 Jun 2014 Sarah Germany
  • The worst experience I ever had. It was very dirty!!. It was impossible to take a shower because of dirt!!. Breakfast was bad. We tryed coffe and tea, and it was impossible to drink them. Taste was disgusting.... Linen was dirty (we found some sperm on it!!!). I didn't got a pillow. Better sleep in a tent on a street.
  • 29%
  • 08 Apr 2014 Moris Lithuania
  • The worst shower I have ever had in my entire life! You get to chose between extremely hot, burning your skin or extremely cold, freezing your body. There's no in between. There's no elevator. Breakfast is ok. The staff were helpful. Place is a little bit far from subway station.
  • 60%
  • 27 Mar 2014 Amanda Brazil
City Guides and Information

Video guides, travel podcasts, city maps & free city guides. What to eat, where to stay and things to do and see - our travel guides have it all.

Find a guide »
Latest Blog Post

One of the most enjoyable aspects of travel is that of exploring different landscapes and experiencing sights and sounds that seem a world away from what you're used to back at home. There are so many diverse terrains across the world, from dramatic, desolate mountain vistas to impossibly bustling market streets; and many countries can offer a variety of spectacular sights with astonishing diversity. Here are just five of our favourite views from across the globe.

Read more »
Great Value and Choice

We offer the most comprehensive selection of hostels on the internet with over 35,000 great places to stay in 180 countries. The ultimate online resource for hostels everywhere.

Find great value hostels »