See other London properties

Arsenal Tavern Hostel

175 Blackstock Road, London, England, Distance from city centre: 6.9km

Rating: 61% from 32 reviews

  • 64%Atmosphere
  • 70%Staff
  • 65%Security
  • 39%Cleanliness
  • 70%Location
  • 68%Value for money
  • 53%Facilities

Real Reviews

Real reviews from fellow travellers

These are trusted reviews from guests who have actually stayed here. We hope you find them helpful.

Note: we only give a property a rating once it has received a minimum of 3 reviews.

  • Sort By:
  • Traveler Type:
  • Age:
  • Really nice staff! But the hostel is very cold. I had to wear my jacket almost all the time when I sat in the large room.
  • 60%
  • 02 Dec 2014 Theis J. Denmark
  • It was ok for me. Before I went to this hostel I read some reviews and I knew this place was not really clean. So, I could accept it. There were so many Italians and some of them were actually living in the hostel since it was really cheap. I never saw cockroaches during my stay and I saw staffs cleaned the hostel almost every day. At least they tried. I appreciated that.
  • 71%
  • 28 Oct 2014 Anonymous Japan
  • Sadly, this was by far the most unpleasant experience I've ever had staying in a hostel. It was so filthy that I threw up on the last day of my stay, just from pure disgust at the state of the place. Cleanliness should never be compromised, and I wouldn't dream of staying there again, even if the cost was £5 a night. The cleaning staff complained throughout, and the American receptionist who lived in the room had all her belongings strewn over her bed and on the floor - really disgusting.
  • 40%
  • 23 Oct 2014 Anonymous England
  • It is not perfectly clean and a bit far from the center, but generally the staff was nice and it was worth for the cost. I think just the problem is the shower has no middle and was too hot or cold, and I just took shower with cold water. But it is so cheap,,,,
  • 66%
  • 14 Oct 2014 HYEIN South Korea
  • nice staff
  • 89%
  • 23 Sep 2014 Anonymous China
  • We had a very small room, and bathrooms are terrible, small and dirty. However location is good, underground is 500 meters from the hostel.
  • 60%
  • 25 Jul 2014 Rafał Poland
  • For that sum, the beds were OK but as showers had problems, including that in front of showers they had a hole, covered by towels that were already very wet so you had to have rubber boots to go in. Common area is nice and cosy but toilets are a big mess, common room one was just dirty and upstairs ones were so small you have a problem closing the door. there was no sink in room and in toilets they had sink but no mirror, and in shower they had both but you'd get wet. hand-driers did not work.
  • 63%
  • 18 Jul 2014 Anonymous Estonia
  • The bath-rooms may be much better. It's possible that there are not many bathrooms to a lot of people. It is a place to sleep a few days. The breakfast is good and the personal is very kind. I had a problem with the book but the personal help to change it without any problem.
  • 74%
  • 16 Jul 2014 izhan Spain
  • had a lot of fun staying here, the staff are all really friendly and helping and theres a great atmosphere in the common area which used to be a bar. great location with a heap of cool bars and parks around and its only a 5 min walk to either arsenal or finsbury tube. definatly worth the price
  • 100%
  • 13 Jul 2014 marcus Australia
  • More mould in the shower than water...disgusting. Plus de moisissure dans la douche que d'eau qui sort...dégueulasse. Mehr Schimmel in der Dusche als Wasser...ekelhaft.
  • 34%
  • 27 Jun 2014 Anonymous Germany
City Guides and Information

Video guides, travel podcasts, city maps & free city guides. What to eat, where to stay and things to do and see - our travel guides have it all.

Find a guide »
Latest Blog Post

4 Southern Hemisphere Trips to do Before you Die

Read more »
Great Value and Choice

We offer the most comprehensive selection of hostels on the internet with over 35,000 great places to stay in 180 countries. The ultimate online resource for hostels everywhere.

Find great value hostels »