See other London properties

Arsenal Tavern Hostel

175 Blackstock Road, London, England, Distance from city centre: 6.9km

Rating: 66% from 32 reviews

  • 68%Atmosphere
  • 71%Staff
  • 68%Security
  • 48%Cleanliness
  • 72%Location
  • 76%Value for money
  • 61%Facilities

Real Reviews

Real reviews from fellow travellers

These are trusted reviews from guests who have actually stayed here. We hope you find them helpful.

Note: we only give a property a rating once it has received a minimum of 3 reviews.

  • Sort By:
  • Traveler Type:
  • Age:
  • The worst experience I ever had. It was very dirty!!. It was impossible to take a shower because of dirt!!. Breakfast was bad. We tryed coffe and tea, and it was impossible to drink them. Taste was disgusting.... Linen was dirty (we found some sperm on it!!!). I didn't got a pillow. Better sleep in a tent on a street.
  • 29%
  • 08 Apr 2014 Moris Lithuania
  • The hostel itself is nice, location as for London is very comfortable (Zone 2, 5 vin. walk from tube station), reception works 24/7, but the main problem is dirt. The level of cleanliness is very poor, rooms are smelly and filthy, showers are not comfortable. But the breakfasts as for hostel are good and the place is for youth, because it is also a bar. People are having fun and going out almost each night.
  • 57%
  • 12 Mar 2014 Anonymous Ukraine
  • This place is very cheap, but I didn't expect it to be this bad for the money payed. Its economy has to be running on fumes while trying to keep the health authorities at bay. There is mold everywhere and the showers are not for the faint of heart. I'd be very entertained watching a TV show of some firefighter offering his opinions on waking up to a fire in this place. The positives are that the lobby is ok (power outlets and sofas), with a nice pub, with nice staff, connected to the hostel.
  • 40%
  • 27 Feb 2014 Leo Sweden
  • 價錢便宜 由 Arsenal 地鐵站前往簡單 值得考慮
  • 77%
  • 31 Dec 2013 Jun-Kai Taiwan
  • The twins room I booked. When i went to the room. It wasn't cleaned up. Everywhere was messy. After they cleaned and changed the bad sheet, the floor and the toilet still dirty.And the shower bath. it seems no water comes out and no hot water. Then i had to use the public bathroom. The door knock is suck and everywhere look old. and the ground floor public area look not clean as well.
  • 46%
  • 28 Nov 2013 LEE LUNG Hong Kong
  • I would say a good value for money. Facilities and generally the level of the hostel is exactly what you can expect for a cheaper hostel. It definitely deserve more credit then is in the reviews. One must understand it is quite cheap. There are small lockers available and a luggage room, which is controled by staff, so noone can pick or search your backpack. So if you keep your valuables locked, it is fine. Sleeping was fine and bed are okay.
  • 74%
  • 22 Nov 2013 Petr Czech Republic
  • The staff was friendly and helpful. Tenants are free to start breakfast earlier than scheduled. WiFi signal is good only downstairs, but not in the room on the third floor. The water in the shower is difficult to adjust: either too hot or too cold. Neighborhood is nice and safe. Bus number 4 runs there every 10min. This hostel overall is not perfectly clean but acceptable for a few nights.
  • 89%
  • 12 Nov 2013 Anonymous Ukraine
  • The showers and toilet need to get updated and cleaned.
  • 66%
  • 05 Nov 2013 Marc France
  • Was dropping water from ceiling, beds are in very bad conditions, no quality at all, emergency light in the sleeping room & very crowdy place.
  • 34%
  • 21 Oct 2013 Anonymous Sweden
  • An excelent hostel, but the room was very small for the number of beds.
  • 86%
  • 17 Oct 2013 Thamires Brazil
City Guides and Information

Video guides, travel podcasts, city maps & free city guides. What to eat, where to stay and things to do and see - our travel guides have it all.

Find a guide »
Latest Blog Post

One early morning, accompanied with a semi-hot cappuccino and croissant eaten like a true Roman - standing up and in a hurry - I was off on the Metro to the Vatican.

Read more »
Great Value and Choice

We offer the most comprehensive selection of hostels on the internet with over 35,000 great places to stay in 180 countries. The ultimate online resource for hostels everywhere.

Find great value hostels »