See other Manchester properties

Ashton House Hostel

Ashton House, 196 Corporation Street, Manchester, England, Distance from city centre: 1.9km

Rating: 65% from 10 reviews

  • 54%Atmosphere
  • 64%Staff
  • 74%Security
  • 60%Cleanliness
  • 90%Location
  • 64%Value for money
  • 52%Facilities

Real Reviews

Real reviews from fellow travellers

These are trusted reviews from guests who have actually stayed here. We hope you find them helpful.

Note: we only give a property a rating once it has received a minimum of 3 reviews.

  • Sort By:
  • Traveler Type:
  • Age:
  • Obscure hotel with very poorly insulated dry walls and noisy guests. Receptionist seems not to give a damn about their noises at 01:30 (in the morning)!! Light bulb in one out of two toilets does not work. No kitchen facilities and no obvious place to park a car for free.
  • 63%
  • 01 Jul 2014 witold Poland
  • I booked Ashton with my friend. We got a bunk which was curtained off so had a bit of privacy. The staff were friendly, toilets and showers clean and had no complaints. Happy customers
  • 83%
  • 31 Dec 2013 Claire England
  • Considering that the hostel was taking 12 pounds per night, I really should not have felt like I would have been better off spending the nights at the nearby railway station. The room was absolutely filthy, with this stink that did not go away the three days I was there. My bed was unmade and looked and smelled like the sheets had not been changed since the last time it was used. I literally had to go to sleep with a scarf over my face due to the bad smell.
  • 37%
  • 10 Nov 2013 Tabinda Pakistan
  • rooms didn't have any cabinets to safely store your valuables. beds and door to dorms make a hell of noise. bathroom has only 2 showers and they are not disguised so anyone can come in and see you, also no mirrors there. got mixed dorm instead of requested female dorm.
  • 60%
  • 01 Nov 2013 hadewijch Belgium
  • We just need the hostel to sleep, and we wanted to be near the city centre. For that purpose it may be enough, but just for that. The room was for six, we were four and there wasn't much room left for us. It smelled as if nobody had opened a window in centuries, and probably nobody has. The members of the staff were correct.
  • 57%
  • 22 Oct 2013 Iñigo Spain
  • ASHTON HOUSE HOSTEL GREATER MANCHESTER TOPS OF THE WORLD HIGHLY RESPECTABLE HIGHLY RECCOMMENDABLE EUROPEAN TO INTERNATIONAL WORLDWIDE OK A VERY HAPPY FESTIVESEASONS2013/4 OK DET
  • 100%
  • 20 Oct 2013 Anonymous England
  • Good central location, but staff not very friendly and not available at check-up (had to wait for 10 minutes at reception desk)
  • 57%
  • 07 Oct 2013 Anonymous Denmark
  • Exellent location easy to locate and also close to one of the biggest train Stations in the City,Victoria Station where you can easily boad trains,buses and taxis to anywhere in the City.Showers are new but need to be improved..Breakfast not included but kitchen also need some improvement eg kitchen equipments etc..The staff on duty i met on my arrival on 23 8 13 was a very friendly and welcoming guy and also a Blond lady in he reception the following day.The staff on duty on 25 8 2013 was not..
  • 71%
  • 23 Aug 2013 Ahmed Belgium
  • The bedrooms in the basement and the communal areas haven’t got any daylight and are quite small and uninviting. I wasn’t able to get any Wi-Fi connection in the bedroom downstairs although it says in the hostel description that this would be possible. The computers were not working during my stay. Fortunately, I could change to a room with natural light upstairs. The window in this room could not be opened.
  • 51%
  • 12 Aug 2013 Anonymous Germany
City Guides and Information

Video guides, travel podcasts, city maps & free city guides. What to eat, where to stay and things to do and see - our travel guides have it all.

Find a guide »
Latest Blog Post

Using an InterRail pass (for EU residents) or a Eurail pass (for non-EU) is the perfect way to easily check off all the dreamy European destinations on your travel bucket list. Ride the rails like a pro with these five tips.

Read more »
Great Value and Choice

We offer the most comprehensive selection of hostels on the internet with over 35,000 great places to stay in 180 countries. The ultimate online resource for hostels everywhere.

Find great value hostels »