See other London properties

Astor Hyde Park

191 Queensgate, South Kensington, London, England, Distance from city centre: 4.3km

Rating: 84% from 24 reviews

  • 86%Atmosphere
  • 86%Staff
  • 85%Security
  • 84%Cleanliness
  • 85%Location
  • 81%Value for money
  • 81%Facilities

Real Reviews

Real reviews from fellow travellers

These are trusted reviews from guests who have actually stayed here. We hope you find them helpful.

Note: we only give a property a rating once it has received a minimum of 3 reviews.

  • Sort By:
  • Traveler Type:
  • Age:
  • Good location, close to Gloucester Road underground station. Close to major museums and galleries and very close to the amazing Hyde Park. 20 minutes walk to Buckingham Palace, Piccadilly Circus and Harrods Clean and safe. Female staff very generally friendly but male staff was quite rude. Nice and affordable breakfast
  • 77%
  • 30 Sep 2015 RUBEN Mexico
  • beds a good , location is fine , but a bit far from the metro (10-15 min walk), staff is incapable ,especially the spanish guy i talked to,they did a mess with my reservation and i was forced to cancel my extended stay and find a new hostel, extremely unreliable , pretty bad vibe , staff fights between themself, worst staff i have met in more then 100 hostels i visit .
  • 66%
  • 16 Sep 2015 Shay Israel
  • Wi-fi didn't work in room, which was pretty annoying. Had to go to main area to use
  • 97%
  • 21 Jul 2015 Kara Canada
  • This felt like a true backpackers: full kitchen for everyone to make their meals, plenty of activities, really nice lounge and super friendly staff. The location isn't all that great; only close to buses and no tubes. Also the floors are tall and no lifts; so if you're up on the fourth floor, it will get tiresome. Also only en-suite showers, so you could be waiting/causing someone to wait every morning. In general though, I really liked this hostel. It's a really good value and atmosphere.
  • 86%
  • 05 Jul 2015 Anonymous USA
  • The staff I found were lovely, very friendly. I had no problems while staying here, would definately recomend it to friends. The worst thing I come up with is the stairs for the upper floors. The maps were very helpful and this would be the first place I would go to if I needed a place to stay in london again
  • 86%
  • 04 Jul 2015 Siobhan Ireland
  • Excellent hostel very close to Hyde Park and other hot locations such as the Royal Albert Hall. The staff was very friendly and helpful. the bathrooms were clean as far as i can tell. Almost any service there requires a deposit but obviously you get it back upon check-out. Overall a great place to stay on a low budget!
  • 91%
  • 09 Jun 2015 Faisal Canada
  • Location of the hostel was excellent! Just a few steps away from Hyde Park and 10ish mins walk from tube station! Room condition was good too! Very clean and tidy! They provided security cage under bed for each visitor! Security wise was acceptable! Generally it gave me a positive impression and I will stay there again if I visit London again!
  • 80%
  • 21 May 2015 Anonymous England
  • The building is beautiful! The location is great. Less then a block from Hyde Park and bus stops. The staff were great! They helped us with directions, suggested places to eat, and helped me with getting everything ready to fly home (bus ticket, route, time)
  • 100%
  • 13 May 2015 Anonymous USA
  • I loved the surroundings and the hotel itself. Very welcoming staff. It feels very safe. Would love to come back ;) P.S. Beware of the shower curtain though.
  • 94%
  • 21 Apr 2015 Anonymous France
  • Very clean and beautiful building. The staff was helpful and able to answer our questions.
  • 91%
  • 13 Dec 2014 Kelsey USA
City Guides and Information

Video guides, travel podcasts, city maps & free city guides. What to eat, where to stay and things to do and see - our travel guides have it all.

Find a guide »
Latest Blog Post

The epitome of culinary richness, Marrakesh -the heart of the red city, is a foodies wonderland

Read more »
Great Value and Choice

We offer the most comprehensive selection of hostels on the internet with over 33,000 great places to stay in 180 countries. The ultimate online resource for hostels everywhere.

Find great value hostels »