See other London properties

Astor Hyde Park

191 Queensgate, South Kensington, London, England, Distance from city centre: 4.3km

Rating: 88% from 22 reviews

  • 84%Atmosphere
  • 92%Staff
  • 91%Security
  • 89%Cleanliness
  • 92%Location
  • 83%Value for money
  • 88%Facilities

Real Reviews

Real reviews from fellow travellers

These are trusted reviews from guests who have actually stayed here. We hope you find them helpful.

Note: we only give a property a rating once it has received a minimum of 3 reviews.

  • Sort By:
  • Traveler Type:
  • Age:
  • The location is perfect! A little walk to the subway through a very nice neighborhood. Bus stop also very near, making it easy to move around the main touristic spots. The rooms are nice and comfortable, considering it's a hostel. Breakfast is also nice.
  • 89%
  • 28 Mar 2014 Anonymous Brazil
  • A nice hostel in a very good location close to museums and parks. The room was very clean, though the heating took a while in warming up the room. The bed was not the best but for the price and the convenience of having an en-suite bathroom I give this place a 4 out of 5.
  • 91%
  • 08 Feb 2014 Isaac Mexico
  • Astor Hyde Park is a great way to feel like you live in a Kensington town home without paying for a Kensington town home. Directions on the site are from Gloucester Rd tube station, but it's also close to High Street and South Kensington (and around the corner from several great museums if that's your thing!). Staff is friendly without being weird or pushy as some hostel staffs are; shower a bit unwieldy but always clean; wifi is patchy on the fourth floor but fine downstairs.
  • 91%
  • 24 Jan 2014 Sarah USA
  • This is definitely one of the best hostels I've ever stayed at, and I recommend it wholeheartedly. First, the good: excellent beds, AWESOME showers, beautiful historic (but very modern) building, wonderful and safe upscale neighborhood, and great overall location, free breakfast - juices, tea, cereal, jam. Awesome staff. The only downsides, which did not bother me are these: it's a 5-8 minute walk to the train station and there's no elevator. That's it. Otherwise, can't recommend enough.
  • 100%
  • 11 Jan 2014 Maxim USA
  • I absolutely loved my stay at Astor Hyde Park. Very friendly atmosphere, incredibly helpful staff and good beds. I recommend it very highly. Swanky neighborhood, very close to High Street Kensington with cute shops and pubs! Loved it!
  • 94%
  • 07 Jan 2014 Tyne USA
  • It was a great stay very friendly staff an had a blast while I was there .
  • 80%
  • 01 Nov 2013 John Australia
  • No complaints! Great hostel!
  • 94%
  • 17 Oct 2013 Ekaterina Russia
  • Clean hostel, good location, friendly staff and great atmosphere. Would definitely recommend.
  • 100%
  • 18 Sep 2013 Anonymous
  • Great hostel in a monumental building in one of the better neighbourhoods of London. 10 minute walk to nearest tube station, which is part of the main underground line (piccadilly). Staff is very friendly, funny and helpfull to make your stay awesome!
  • 91%
  • 29 Aug 2013 Jasper Netherlands
  • The building is really cool, sit in the diplomatic area, side by side with Hyde Park, Kingston Garden, Royal Albert Hall, V&A Museum and Natural History Museum, two underground stop from Buckingham Palace. It's quite hot in summer, no air fan, no air condition, window can not be fully open.
  • 77%
  • 15 Jul 2013 Anonymous China
City Guides and Information

Video guides, travel podcasts, city maps & free city guides. What to eat, where to stay and things to do and see - our travel guides have it all.

Find a guide »
Latest Blog Post

One early morning, accompanied with a semi-hot cappuccino and croissant eaten like a true Roman - standing up and in a hurry - I was off on the Metro to the Vatican.

Read more »
Great Value and Choice

We offer the most comprehensive selection of hostels on the internet with over 35,000 great places to stay in 180 countries. The ultimate online resource for hostels everywhere.

Find great value hostels »