See other London properties

Astor Hyde Park

191 Queensgate, South Kensington, London, England, Distance from city centre: 4.3km

Rating: 86% from 39 reviews

  • 86%Atmosphere
  • 89%Staff
  • 86%Security
  • 84%Cleanliness
  • 87%Location
  • 84%Value for money
  • 83%Facilities

Real Reviews

Real reviews from fellow travellers

These are trusted reviews from guests who have actually stayed here. We hope you find them helpful.

Note: we only give a property a rating once it has received a minimum of 3 reviews.

  • Sort By:
  • Traveler Type:
  • Age:
  • This felt like a true backpackers: full kitchen for everyone to make their meals, plenty of activities, really nice lounge and super friendly staff. The location isn't all that great; only close to buses and no tubes. Also the floors are tall and no lifts; so if you're up on the fourth floor, it will get tiresome. Also only en-suite showers, so you could be waiting/causing someone to wait every morning. In general though, I really liked this hostel. It's a really good value and atmosphere.
  • 86%
  • 05 Jul 2015 Anonymous USA
  • The staff I found were lovely, very friendly. I had no problems while staying here, would definately recomend it to friends. The worst thing I come up with is the stairs for the upper floors. The maps were very helpful and this would be the first place I would go to if I needed a place to stay in london again
  • 86%
  • 04 Jul 2015 Siobhan Ireland
  • Excellent hostel very close to Hyde Park and other hot locations such as the Royal Albert Hall. The staff was very friendly and helpful. the bathrooms were clean as far as i can tell. Almost any service there requires a deposit but obviously you get it back upon check-out. Overall a great place to stay on a low budget!
  • 91%
  • 09 Jun 2015 Faisal Canada
  • Location of the hostel was excellent! Just a few steps away from Hyde Park and 10ish mins walk from tube station! Room condition was good too! Very clean and tidy! They provided security cage under bed for each visitor! Security wise was acceptable! Generally it gave me a positive impression and I will stay there again if I visit London again!
  • 80%
  • 21 May 2015 Anonymous England
  • The building is beautiful! The location is great. Less then a block from Hyde Park and bus stops. The staff were great! They helped us with directions, suggested places to eat, and helped me with getting everything ready to fly home (bus ticket, route, time)
  • 100%
  • 13 May 2015 Anonymous USA
  • I loved the surroundings and the hotel itself. Very welcoming staff. It feels very safe. Would love to come back ;) P.S. Beware of the shower curtain though.
  • 94%
  • 21 Apr 2015 Anonymous France
  • Very clean and beautiful building. The staff was helpful and able to answer our questions.
  • 91%
  • 13 Dec 2014 Kelsey USA
  • The location is great, is really close to Hyde Park, and 10 minute walk to the tube. The atmosphere is great and the staff is available to you 24/7.There is all kind of information in the hostel available to you for going around London. The only bad thing is that my friend got his wallet stolen while were asleep. But i guess that depends of the people who is in your dorm.
  • 77%
  • 24 Oct 2014 Anonymous Mexico
  • Rooms were very small, lockers at the front were so small. location was nice but nothing really around. A 20 minute walk to the underground to take you around London. Breakfast was good, I get that this is a youth hostel but noticed A LOT of youngsters just trying to party, everywhere you went was loud and the music always on blast 247 in the kitchen/lounge. Blonde lady at the front could've been nicer but the guys were nice and gave me tips/recommendations. Probably wouldn't stay here again..
  • 60%
  • 20 Oct 2014 Yolanda USA
  • Loved this place! It's right next to the beautiful Hyde Park area. The closest tube station is South Kensington, I believe, and it's a little bit of a walk but not that bad. Safe and relatively quiet area. The staff was amazing and helpful and all the guests we met we kind and respectful.
  • 100%
  • 17 Oct 2014 Anonymous USA
City Guides and Information

Video guides, travel podcasts, city maps & free city guides. What to eat, where to stay and things to do and see - our travel guides have it all.

Find a guide »
Latest Blog Post

There's nothing like having your own transport to get around and when travelling the world it's no different.

Read more »
Great Value and Choice

We offer the most comprehensive selection of hostels on the internet with over 35,000 great places to stay in 180 countries. The ultimate online resource for hostels everywhere.

Find great value hostels »