See other London properties

Astor Hyde Park

191 Queensgate, South Kensington, London, England, Distance from city centre: 4.3km

Rating: 86% from 50 reviews

  • 84%Atmosphere
  • 87%Staff
  • 90%Security
  • 86%Cleanliness
  • 86%Location
  • 83%Value for money
  • 84%Facilities

Real Reviews

Real reviews from fellow travellers

These are trusted reviews from guests who have actually stayed here. We hope you find them helpful.

Note: we only give a property a rating once it has received a minimum of 3 reviews.

  • Sort By:
  • Traveler Type:
  • Age:
  • Loved my stay at this hostel! It was located in one of the nicest areas in all of London, so I felt safe walking around late at night. The building is only accessible via key card, so it's very secure. The rooms and common areas were all clean and well maintained. The staff was super friendly and welcoming and even organized outings during the week for everyone in the hostel. I would highly recommend this place to my friends who plan on traveling in the near future.
  • 100%
  • 06 Aug 2014 Phillip USA
  • Greek guy here! I stayed at Astor Hyde Park Hostel for several days before finding a permanent room in London. The atmosphere is great for young people. There is a lot of people from all around the world (both clients and staff). The rooms are cool and cleaned daily. There's a kitchen at the bottom floor where you can cook if you want to eat at the hostel. The wi-fi is as strong in the rooms as it is in the lobby. Staff is always friendly and eager to help. Greatly recomend it!
  • 83%
  • 06 Aug 2014 Anonymous Greece
  • Becareful a guy who has mixed black & white hair male staff. He has no mercy. He has no sympathic feeling. He has no consideration even some bad situation caused by the hostel place. I want to write detail story. But not allowed here to write long story. The mannager or boss of the hostel let me know e mail to let know what I expirience there. 여기 짐 맡기고 여행하실분 조심하세요. 길거리에 나 앉는 일이 생깁니다. 짐과 함께 밤 11시에.
  • 57%
  • 02 Aug 2014 Anonymous South Korea
  • Good security: key card entry to building and room, lockable cage under bed for belongings. Rooms and bathrooms are clean. Rooms have about 2 outlets. Free wifi is reliable in kitchen, common areas; weak in rooms. Bus stop is right outside and underground 10 min walk. 10 min walk to Buckingham Palace. Not too many bars or restaurants nearby.
  • 83%
  • 15 Jul 2014 jared USA
  • Very nice staff, helpfull and professional. good facilities big and modern living room. Just one prob there is no lift so if you are going to stay there and carring big bags ask for a room on the first floors
  • 89%
  • 11 Jul 2014 Miguel Portugal
  • The hostel is a bit of a walk from the Tube, but in a great area. Our 6-bed dorm was very clean and spacious. The bathroom was regularly cleaned, although the shower drain was clogged our last day and flooded the bathroom. Very friendly and accommodating staff, and surprisingly sturdy bunk beds. It was so nice to not feel every toss and turn of the person on the bottom bunk.
  • 89%
  • 11 Jul 2014 Kari USA
  • The staff was extremely rude and unhelpful. I was reminded over and over again by the man (his name escapes me) who seemed to be in charge, how they were not a hotel and therefore could not be of assistance in anyway even in an emergency situation involving a missing young woman. Lacked total human decency and kindness. If given a chance for to pick a different hostel I most certainly would have. Bad form on many levels.
  • 29%
  • 27 Jun 2014 Kaarmel USA
  • The property and location are gorgeous! You are amongst the posh in South Kensington. The hostel is a beautiful building older than a lot of countries themselves, but in great shape! Walking distance from quite a few museums and national monuments, as well as Kensington Park. The metro stations were also close by and convenient to get to other parts of the city. The amenities were in great conditions and clean. The staff was friendly and helpful, but otherwise kept to themselves. Worth the £s!
  • 94%
  • 16 Jun 2014 Nadia USA
  • i stayed ensuit room. the bathroom was pretty small .... but its okay
  • 71%
  • 13 Jun 2014 sohwa South Korea
  • Everything about it was perfect. The location, staff, facilities and atmosphere were all great. My only "complaint" is that you have to leave a £5 deposit for eveything: power adapter, padlock, key, towel, etc. which means you're £20 short the first day you get there; and even though it is refunded after your checkout, I'd like to use those £20 in something else. Other than that, everything was perfect and I'll definitely stay there again my next time in London.
  • 100%
  • 13 Jun 2014 Jorge Mexico
City Guides and Information

Video guides, travel podcasts, city maps & free city guides. What to eat, where to stay and things to do and see - our travel guides have it all.

Find a guide »
Latest Blog Post

Using an InterRail pass (for EU residents) or a Eurail pass (for non-EU) is the perfect way to easily check off all the dreamy European destinations on your travel bucket list. Ride the rails like a pro with these five tips.

Read more »
Great Value and Choice

We offer the most comprehensive selection of hostels on the internet with over 35,000 great places to stay in 180 countries. The ultimate online resource for hostels everywhere.

Find great value hostels »