See other London properties

Astor Hyde Park

191 Queensgate, South Kensington, London, England, Distance from city centre: 4.3km

Rating: 86% from 40 reviews

  • 84%Atmosphere
  • 89%Staff
  • 91%Security
  • 86%Cleanliness
  • 86%Location
  • 83%Value for money
  • 84%Facilities

Real Reviews

Real reviews from fellow travellers

These are trusted reviews from guests who have actually stayed here. We hope you find them helpful.

Note: we only give a property a rating once it has received a minimum of 3 reviews.

  • Sort By:
  • Traveler Type:
  • Age:
  • The staff was extremely rude and unhelpful. I was reminded over and over again by the man (his name escapes me) who seemed to be in charge, how they were not a hotel and therefore could not be of assistance in anyway even in an emergency situation involving a missing young woman. Lacked total human decency and kindness. If given a chance for to pick a different hostel I most certainly would have. Bad form on many levels.
  • 29%
  • 27 Jun 2014 Kaarmel USA
  • The property and location are gorgeous! You are amongst the posh in South Kensington. The hostel is a beautiful building older than a lot of countries themselves, but in great shape! Walking distance from quite a few museums and national monuments, as well as Kensington Park. The metro stations were also close by and convenient to get to other parts of the city. The amenities were in great conditions and clean. The staff was friendly and helpful, but otherwise kept to themselves. Worth the £s!
  • 94%
  • 16 Jun 2014 Nadia USA
  • i stayed ensuit room. the bathroom was pretty small .... but its okay
  • 71%
  • 13 Jun 2014 sohwa South Korea
  • Everything about it was perfect. The location, staff, facilities and atmosphere were all great. My only "complaint" is that you have to leave a £5 deposit for eveything: power adapter, padlock, key, towel, etc. which means you're £20 short the first day you get there; and even though it is refunded after your checkout, I'd like to use those £20 in something else. Other than that, everything was perfect and I'll definitely stay there again my next time in London.
  • 100%
  • 13 Jun 2014 Jorge Mexico
  • My impression about some members of the staff was that they had a lot of people to deal with so not everyone was really important. There was a guy taking care of the breakfast that was very strange... He doesn't seem to be so worried about hygiene, although the room was very clean.
  • 57%
  • 10 Jun 2014 Talita Brazil
  • If you have dozens of questions about London and need good people ready to answer, go estou Astor Hyde park. They were very patient with us, answering all our doubts and explaining everything. It's near the national history museum and many amasing places. Very close to the underground. Thanks!!!!
  • 74%
  • 05 Jun 2014 Anonymous Brazil
  • Very nice location, 10 min. walking from Goucester and South Kensington stations, next to Hyde Park and 1 block away from many museums. Staff is friendly and knows about anything you might ask regarding the city. They could just have integration events to facilitate people staying in the hostel to get to know each other.
  • 86%
  • 21 May 2014 Anonymous Brazil
  • clean and good location but poor breakfast
  • 80%
  • 10 May 2014 Anonymous South Korea
  • It is a nice hostel in the very heart of London. The kitchen is big and fully equiped. The staff is extremely helpful. Free lockers and adapters are also very handy. I totally recommend it.
  • 100%
  • 02 May 2014 Anonymous Russia
  • Was great!
  • 100%
  • 22 Apr 2014 Francisca Joana Italy
City Guides and Information

Video guides, travel podcasts, city maps & free city guides. What to eat, where to stay and things to do and see - our travel guides have it all.

Find a guide »
Latest Blog Post

My personal definition of a backpacker is not someone who carries a backpack, but someone who just wants to save money to travel longer.

Read more »
Great Value and Choice

We offer the most comprehensive selection of hostels on the internet with over 35,000 great places to stay in 180 countries. The ultimate online resource for hostels everywhere.

Find great value hostels »