See other London properties

Astor Museum Inn

27 Montague Street, Bloomsbury, London, England, Distance from city centre: 2.2km

Rating: 79% from 29 reviews

  • 76%Atmosphere
  • 86%Staff
  • 81%Security
  • 66%Cleanliness
  • 97%Location
  • 80%Value for money
  • 66%Facilities

Real Reviews

Real reviews from fellow travellers

These are trusted reviews from guests who have actually stayed here. We hope you find them helpful.

Note: we only give a property a rating once it has received a minimum of 3 reviews.

  • Sort By:
  • Traveler Type:
  • Age:
  • FIRST: this is a hostel with an "ageism" policy - does not accept those over 35! Facilities are very poor, cramped. crowded. The private two bed room we booked was a bunk bed in a prison cell! Corridors cramped, so were the showers. I do not recommend this hostel, it is very expensive for what it offers. We have found much better conditions nearby for the same price!
  • 34%
  • 18 Oct 2014 Ewa Canada
  • On the first night I was awakened by a loud conversation on the stairs. Having gone outside to ask the group to respect others' sleep, I was told they are 'the people cleaning the rooms'. Back in my room, I could here remarks such as, "welcome to hostels" and "no one comes to hostels expecting to sleep". Some customers staying at your hostel do, sorry! The guys at the reception were always up to standard, and the rest of the stay went smoothly, but can't help second thoughts on coming back.
  • 83%
  • 17 Oct 2014 Anonymous Latvia
  • Great hostel! The best location ever, nice rooms and facilities. Good breakfast, big kitchen. Wifi everywhere. Very cool staff! Will come back, no doubt about it!!!!
  • 80%
  • 06 Sep 2014 Anonymous Argentina
  • This is one of the best hostel experiences I have ever had. The staff were fun, friendly, and extremely accessible. 24-hour reception meant that someone was always there to help with anything I needed. The environment is very friendly; this is a great hostel to stay in if you are traveling alone, because you will meet lots of cool people. It is a very communal environment, and everyone seems to know each other. Facilities are always clean and well-kept.
  • 100%
  • 04 Aug 2014 Elizabeth USA
  • The location is excellent, the 4-bed dorms are quiet enough for sleep, and, after three stays at this hostel, there is every reason to come back another time.
  • 94%
  • 24 Jul 2014 Anonymous Latvia
  • Awful hostel. It's filthy. The shower is a poorly ventilated closet; it was covered in mold and very unpleasant to use. Staff are friendly but VERY unprofessional. Each morning, two came in to clean the room at 10am, which I found absurdly early. It just seemed rude to proceed as if I wasn't there. While cleaning they complained openly about their supervisor, who would then come in and berate them in front of me, incl. saying "you're not retarded" (!) while scolding them. Not OK.
  • 51%
  • 22 Jul 2014 Cassandra USA
  • Fun people. Fun staff. Fun place. Will stay there again in the future without question.
  • 89%
  • 19 Jul 2014 Anonymous USA
  • Lively place. If you're looking to meet other backpackers and go out, this is your place.
  • 91%
  • 07 Jul 2014 Anonymous USA
  • Stayed here for 5 days while visiting Europe. Sad to leave afterwards. Fantastic location and street. Extremely friendly staff. Very chill atmosphere. Awesome kitchen and lounge. A great place to return to after seeing London. Ill definitely return if I come back in a few years.
  • 89%
  • 21 Jun 2014 Blaise USA
  • it was my first time to stay in this kind of place but employees are very friendly and it was perfect decision for me to stay this place.
  • 80%
  • 08 Jun 2014 BURAK Turkey
City Guides and Information

Video guides, travel podcasts, city maps & free city guides. What to eat, where to stay and things to do and see - our travel guides have it all.

Find a guide »
Latest Blog Post

From learning the lingo to leaping out of a plane, here are 14 things you must try to make your travels unforgettable in 2015.

Read more »
Great Value and Choice

We offer the most comprehensive selection of hostels on the internet with over 35,000 great places to stay in 180 countries. The ultimate online resource for hostels everywhere.

Find great value hostels »