See other London properties

Astor Museum Inn

27 Montague Street, Bloomsbury, London, England, Distance from city centre: 2.2km

Rating: 87% from 34 reviews

  • 85%Atmosphere
  • 91%Staff
  • 88%Security
  • 83%Cleanliness
  • 95%Location
  • 87%Value for money
  • 78%Facilities

Real Reviews

Real reviews from fellow travellers

These are trusted reviews from guests who have actually stayed here. We hope you find them helpful.

Note: we only give a property a rating once it has received a minimum of 3 reviews.

  • Sort By:
  • Traveler Type:
  • Age:
  • Very nice hostel with a really friendly and helpful staff that makes you feel welcome! And they serve free coffee! The hostel's location is central which makes it easy to discover London, and only a few minutes walk to the closests underground station. The only minus is the lockers under the beds which are very noisy.
  • 83%
  • 11 Oct 2016 Linn Finland
  • The hostel is in a great centralized location, literally right next to the British Museum and in the middle of 2 Tube stops (Holborn and Russell Square) so it is very easy to get around. While I was booked in an all female dorm, there were males booked in my room the second night. It is very difficult to get luggage up the flights of stairs, because of the size but I managed okay. During my last stay, I also noticed that the doors were left open several times which lessened the secure feeling.
  • 83%
  • 30 Jun 2016 Kaitlyn USA
  • Fantastic security and location. Kitchen closes at 11/12, making it difficult to find a sink to drink water out of (including poor directions that some sinks have non-drinkable water). Shower pressure was intermittent (which might have not been more temp. neighborhood issue).
  • 86%
  • 11 Jun 2016 Anonymous USA
  • My friends and I loved staying at Astor Museum Inn. The location was great, right next to the British Museum, and everyone there were so friendly and helpful. They offer breakfast for a donation of one pound; however, you can donate whatever you are able to give if you don't have a pound. While it wasn't the best hostel I've stayed at, it was the best one I've stayed at in London and I would definitely stay there again.
  • 86%
  • 21 May 2016 Jessica USA
  • This was probably my favorite hostel from our whirlwind tour of Europe. The staff was unbelievably fun and friendly. More of a party environment but I stayed in the 16 person dorm and everyone was beyond respectful. The guests over 25 seemed uncomfortable. But I went to bed at 8:30 one night and didn't hear a peep! The showers and toilets were scattered throughout the building, but numerous so I never had to wait for one. The charity breakfast was donate a pound and have toast and cereal.
  • 86%
  • 18 May 2016 Anonymous USA
  • My friends and I loved staying at Astor Museum Inn. The location was great, right next to the British Museum, and everyone there were so friendly and helpful. They offer breakfast for a donation of one pound; however, you can donate whatever you are able to give if you don't have a pound. While it wasn't the best hostel I've stayed at, it was the best one I've stayed at in London and I would definitely stay there again.
  • 86%
  • 18 May 2016 Jessica USA
  • An excellent hostel. Excellent security with access card and password together, large personal locker, 24hours staff on duty to help, fully equiped kitchen.....etc it is expensive but i cannot complaint at all since it is located at such a good location. but one thing i would like to say is when i laying on upper bed and when someone walk in the room, i feel like the bed shake and is going to break, it does not affect me much but i feel so weird.
  • 97%
  • 17 May 2016 Anonymous Hong Kong
  • Cozy and clean accommodations, friendly staff who are very helpful... ;)
  • 83%
  • 07 May 2016 Anonymous Canada
  • Awesome staff. Everyone is very friendly and accommodating. Would recommend this hostel to anyone visiting in London. Enjoyed the neighborhood. Very close to restaurants, grocery stores, and a short walk to everything we had planned.
  • 100%
  • 07 May 2016 Anonymous Canada
  • Such a great hostel! Wonderful location (super close to a tube station and right across the street from the British Museum) and the staff was great! Would definitely recommend this hostel to anyone traveling to London!
  • 100%
  • 06 May 2016 Anonymous USA
City Guides and Information

Video guides, travel podcasts, city maps & free city guides. What to eat, where to stay and things to do and see - our travel guides have it all.

Find a guide »
Latest Blog Post

Amsterdam is a playground for the weird and wonderful. Sometimes nothing seems mundane in this buzzing city. There will always be a never-ending list of quirky and offbeat thing...

Read more »
Great Value and Choice

We offer the most comprehensive selection of hostels on the internet with over 33,000 great places to stay in 170 countries. The ultimate online resource for hostels everywhere.

Find great value hostels »