See other Athens properties

Athens Backpackers

12 Makri Street, 11742 Athens, Athens, Greece, Distance from city centre: 1.6km

Rating: 89% from 38 reviews

  • 85%Atmosphere
  • 94%Staff
  • 84%Security
  • 87%Cleanliness
  • 97%Location
  • 87%Value for money
  • 86%Facilities

Real Reviews

Real reviews from fellow travellers

These are trusted reviews from guests who have actually stayed here. We hope you find them helpful.

Note: we only give a property a rating once it has received a minimum of 3 reviews.

  • Sort By:
  • Traveler Type:
  • Age:
  • We took one of the three-person privates, and boy was it worth it. Basically a four-star hotel room in a perfect location near all of the sites and with great staff. The breakfast was nothing special but hey, that's what you get for hostel prices. I'd definitely go again! Oh, and the rooftop bar has a great view and good prices, especially during happy hour (7-8 if I remember correctly).
  • 100%
  • 25 Jul 2015 Anonymous Hungary
  • The location was great for seeing all the main touristy attraction. Right in the middle of town. If you want to get away from touristy area, its a bit of a walk.
  • 86%
  • 16 Jul 2015 Clare Australia
  • You can't beat the location of this hostel, and the rooftop bar is a scenic way to enjoy a few brews and meet your fellow hostel-mates before hitting up the Athens nightlife or restaurant scene. Beds were decent, WiFi was excellent by hostel standards, and bathrooms provided privacy and clean showers/toilets. Highly recommend staying here!
  • 94%
  • 15 Jun 2015 Michael USA
  • The only problem I had was not being able to lock any of my stuff up.
  • 74%
  • 10 Jun 2015 Anonymous USA
  • I found the front desk staff incredibly friendly and helpful. The location is within walking distance to the Acropolis and relatively easy to reach from the airport by Metro. I would stay here again if I return to Athens. Hooray for laundry facilities! In areas of improvement, the breakfasts are a bit Spartan--throw in something extra or different once in a while--and the breakfast room workers could use an infusion of personality. Overall a very good hostel!
  • 83%
  • 28 May 2015 Anonymous USA
  • had to pay for internet, not clean, don't change the beds for days etc furniture old and broken
  • 51%
  • 28 May 2015 Anabela Switzerland
  • Great hostel in a brilliant location on a side road (quiet rooms) in the city centre. The staff are especially kind, always willing to help and give you nice tips about what to see and where (not) to go. Shame the rooftop bar wasn't open, but the sportsbar was a good alternative. I would definitely recommend this hostel.
  • 100%
  • 03 Apr 2015 Anonymous England
  • This is the best location for a hostel in Athens. My only complaint is the breakfast. But I have definitely seen worse ones than what is offered at this hostel. Staff is wonderful.
  • 94%
  • 24 Feb 2015 Loren USA
  • Nice hostel, excellent location. 15-20 minutes from Syntagma where the airport bus drops off and picks up. Two minute walk to the Akropoli metro stop, restaurants, post office and Plaka shopping area. Staff is very friendly. Rooms clean. Only thing is that breakfast is only rolls and hard boiled eggs.
  • 97%
  • 15 Feb 2015 Anonymous USA
  • The location and the staff where excellent! Breakfast was really poor..
  • 83%
  • 11 Feb 2015 Anonymous Greece
City Guides and Information

Video guides, travel podcasts, city maps & free city guides. What to eat, where to stay and things to do and see - our travel guides have it all.

Find a guide »
Latest Blog Post

The epitome of culinary richness, Marrakesh -the heart of the red city, is a foodies wonderland

Read more »
Great Value and Choice

We offer the most comprehensive selection of hostels on the internet with over 35,000 great places to stay in 180 countries. The ultimate online resource for hostels everywhere.

Find great value hostels »