See other Athens properties

Athens Backpackers

12 Makri Street, 11742 Athens, Athens, Greece, Distance from city centre: 1.6km

Rating: 85% from 28 reviews

  • 82%Atmosphere
  • 91%Staff
  • 81%Security
  • 82%Cleanliness
  • 92%Location
  • 82%Value for money
  • 82%Facilities

Real Reviews

Real reviews from fellow travellers

These are trusted reviews from guests who have actually stayed here. We hope you find them helpful.

Note: we only give a property a rating once it has received a minimum of 3 reviews.

  • Sort By:
  • Traveler Type:
  • Age:
  • Decent hostel, very good location for all of the tourist locations, had some fun at the sports bar on Karaoke night and the kitchen was large. The showers are set up so that the entire bathroom floor is soaked after you shower which made it very uncomfortable to use the washroom, breakfast was small but free so no complaints here and free tea and coffee all the time so that was nice. Roof was nice and I'm sure would be a good spot to hang out but the bar wasn't open yet. Good price though
  • 77%
  • 06 Apr 2016 Julia Canada
  • Staff are friendly. But breakfast was poor... as someone already mentioned
  • 80%
  • 12 Feb 2016 Minju
  • They really need a common room to be a proper hostel. Otherwise this is a nice hotel with multiple beds in each room.
  • 74%
  • 27 Jan 2016 Anonymous USA
  • The only thing is that the breakfast is poor.
  • 86%
  • 26 Jan 2016 Anonymous
  • Roomy rooms and comfy beds are a nice plus. Lack of common room is disappointing; very hotel like atmosphere.
  • 69%
  • 22 Jan 2016 Anonymous USA
  • I arrived to the indicated address but the changed to other street. I just followed directions from a man working in the old building. The place is like a hotel. There is private bathroom, kitchen and a terrace. It is a studio room. Always clean, safe and has enough space inside the room. Only one suggestion: the shower makes a mess because there is no separation (wall or glass) to the rest of the bathroom so after take a shower you can find a lot of water everywhere.
  • 89%
  • 12 Jan 2016 Anonymous Chile
  • Nice hostel, very close to the acropolis and all the other sites. The rooms are average but the roof top terrace is great :-)
  • 77%
  • 08 Oct 2015 Anonymous Germany
  • I stayed in the studios (not the Backpacker). An amazing place with modern infraestructure (rooms with air/con). Also they have a laundry station, a café and a bar (everything works perfect). Im not good with names but all the staff was amazing too !!! My best regards to both girls at the Help Desk: Beautiful blue eyes girl on morning shift and THE AMAZING MARGARITA on afternoon shift, and the Russian girl at the bar. Location: Excellent, very beautifull hood just next to the great Acropolis.
  • 97%
  • 13 Aug 2015 Anonymous Chile
  • All good, helpful front office attendants, great bar.
  • 91%
  • 10 Aug 2015 Anonymous India
  • We took one of the three-person privates, and boy was it worth it. Basically a four-star hotel room in a perfect location near all of the sites and with great staff. The breakfast was nothing special but hey, that's what you get for hostel prices. I'd definitely go again! Oh, and the rooftop bar has a great view and good prices, especially during happy hour (7-8 if I remember correctly).
  • 100%
  • 25 Jul 2015 Anonymous Hungary
City Guides and Information

Video guides, travel podcasts, city maps & free city guides. What to eat, where to stay and things to do and see - our travel guides have it all.

Find a guide »
Latest Blog Post

If you're travelling on a budget, staying in hostels can be a lifeline. We've put together a few tips for saving money by cooking up a storm in hostel kitchens!

Read more »
Great Value and Choice

We offer the most comprehensive selection of hostels on the internet with over 33,000 great places to stay in 170 countries. The ultimate online resource for hostels everywhere.

Find great value hostels »