See other Athens properties

Athens Backpackers

12 Makri Street, 11742 Athens, Athens, Greece, Distance from city centre: 1.6km

Rating: 91% from 16 reviews

  • 88%Atmosphere
  • 92%Staff
  • 88%Security
  • 92%Cleanliness
  • 100%Location
  • 91%Value for money
  • 87%Facilities

Real Reviews

Real reviews from fellow travellers

These are trusted reviews from guests who have actually stayed here. We hope you find them helpful.

Note: we only give a property a rating once it has received a minimum of 3 reviews.

  • Sort By:
  • Traveler Type:
  • Age:
  • The hostel is located in a great location of Athens, the staff was so kind and helpful,. all of them are very nice people.
  • 100%
  • 11 Apr 2014 Salvador Mexico
  • The rooms were clean and well maintained. the staff were good and kind too.
  • 86%
  • 21 Mar 2014 Ali Iran
  • I was support to stay here but I got "upgraded" to the studios location because of renovations. I did not like it. It was so impersonal and nearly impossible to meet people unless you wanted to go to their bar and spend money. No lounge area to hangout in. The kitchen in the rooms sucked. They only had butter knifes, no real actual knifes. The cleaning lady came in an hour and a half before checkout time to clear the beds. I felt they were trying to push me out.
  • 60%
  • 28 Nov 2013 Anonymous Canada
  • I stayed at the Hostel because I was running the Marathon, and the Hostel was PERFECT! The staff were so friendly, the atmosphere was great and the rooms were so good!
  • 94%
  • 07 Nov 2013 Anonymous Denmark
  • The brunette girl in the reception of athens studios is awesome and very nice
  • 83%
  • 03 Nov 2013 Mohamed
  • Very well organized, very helpfull and polite Staff, perfect location
  • 97%
  • 11 Sep 2013 Anonymous Greece
  • Probably one of the most fun hostels I've stayed at. Amazing rooftop bar with a view of the Acropolis and the perfect location for exploring. A cafe, sports bar and launderette right next to the annex part of the hostels means it has everything you need.
  • 97%
  • 10 Sep 2013 Anonymous England
  • Excellent location right near metro, once there you can just walk everywhere. Amazing view of the Acropolis from rooftop bar too, and you'll get a free welcome shot. Do the walking tour, George is incredibly knowledgable and has really interesting stories. Breakfast is hard boiled eggs and bread (toast) but better than nothing. I stayed in a girls dorm, room & bathroom were pretty clean, I think my pillowcase hadn't been changed though. BYO padlock for the lockers. highly recommend.
  • 89%
  • 03 Sep 2013 Elizabeth Australia
  • The American guy on the front desk was SO helpful and knowledgeable. Great location, rooms were nice enough. Free shots on arrival and host a free walking tour.
  • 97%
  • 12 Aug 2013 Sarah Australia
  • I had an amazing time at Athens Backpackers. The staff at check-in were amazing and went out of their way to help me. The rooftop bar (staffed by the incredible Victor) offered a view of the Acropolis and had a great atmosphere. The sports bar down the road was an equally good time. The rooms were clean, neat, and had A/C. Would definitely recommend.
  • 97%
  • 12 Aug 2013 Anonymous USA
City Guides and Information

Video guides, travel podcasts, city maps & free city guides. What to eat, where to stay and things to do and see - our travel guides have it all.

Find a guide »
Latest Blog Post

Whether you want to get down'n'dirty in Austin or stay up all night in Berlin, live music is an unforgettable way to get to know any city's secret rhythms. But what cities have the best gigs? Here's five of our favourites...

Read more »
Great Value and Choice

We offer the most comprehensive selection of hostels on the internet with over 35,000 great places to stay in 180 countries. The ultimate online resource for hostels everywhere.

Find great value hostels »