See other Athens properties

Athens Backpackers

12 Makri Street, 11742 Athens, Athens, Greece, Distance from city centre: 1.6km

Rating: 90% from 28 reviews

  • 87%Atmosphere
  • 93%Staff
  • 85%Security
  • 90%Cleanliness
  • 98%Location
  • 90%Value for money
  • 85%Facilities

Real Reviews

Real reviews from fellow travellers

These are trusted reviews from guests who have actually stayed here. We hope you find them helpful.

Note: we only give a property a rating once it has received a minimum of 3 reviews.

  • Sort By:
  • Traveler Type:
  • Age:
  • The location and the staff where excellent! Breakfast was really poor..
  • 83%
  • 11 Feb 2015 Anonymous Greece
  • Great place. Clean, modern, free internet, breakfast, great location.
  • 91%
  • 30 Dec 2014 Juliana Brazil
  • Since the Athens Backpackers hostel was out of service for annual maintenance and I was advised when I arrived to the place, my opinions correspond to the place Athens Studios, where I was relocated at the last minute (!!!) through a sign posted on the closed door.
  • 83%
  • 23 Dec 2014 MAURICIO Mexico
  • Was moved to the Athens Studios because the heat was not working at the Athens Backpackers, but loved the Studios and the proximity to everything. Super nice staff and nice, large rooms with mini kitchen! The balcony was a great touch too :-) Great value...
  • 100%
  • 21 Dec 2014 Anonymous USA
  • great hostel all is ok personaly, I prefer when the bathroom is out of the dormitory (because noise) but the rest is super
  • 91%
  • 19 Nov 2014 Anonymous Belgium
  • very good hostel, clean and simple. close to main attraction in Athens, staff careful with visitors. points to be improved; breakfast very poor
  • 97%
  • 02 Nov 2014 RAfael Brazil
  • Bar none, one of the best hostel experiences I've ever had. Full stop. You just can't beat the rooftop bar with the view of the Acropolis, and once that closes it's a short walk down the road to their sports bar to continue the party. The staff are awesome. The rooms are clean. If you get the chance, do the walking tour with Georgios (?), who speaks passionately about his city and how the democracy experiment reverberates today. Do not entertain the thought of staying anywhere else.
  • 100%
  • 10 Sep 2014 Sean USA
  • We highly recommend Athens Backpackers. I am 53, my daughter is 25; we both loved it. I will caution about the address. We actually stayed at Athens Studios, at a different address. This was no problem (it was only about a block away), but our luggage did not make our flight. So when we gave AirFrance the address of Athens Backpackers, our luggage was not delivered to where we were staying. Just make sure you know the address of where your room actually is, to avoid any inconvenience.
  • 94%
  • 28 Aug 2014 gwendolyn USA
  • Really great hostel, location, cleaningless, atmosphere. Every time I go to Athens I stay there!
  • 100%
  • 10 Aug 2014 Anonymous Mexico
  • Great place, the staff is amazing I recomended
  • 94%
  • 12 Jul 2014 Javier nicolas Argentina
City Guides and Information

Video guides, travel podcasts, city maps & free city guides. What to eat, where to stay and things to do and see - our travel guides have it all.

Find a guide »
Latest Blog Post

No matter where you are there's always time for a great beer with great friends. Check out our guide to cheap but awesome beer all over the world

Read more »
Great Value and Choice

We offer the most comprehensive selection of hostels on the internet with over 35,000 great places to stay in 180 countries. The ultimate online resource for hostels everywhere.

Find great value hostels »