See other New Orleans properties

Atlas House

1354 Magazine Street, Greyhound Amtrack Station, New Orleans, USA, Distance from city centre: 2km

Rating: 93% from 19 reviews

  • 95%Atmosphere
  • 97%Staff
  • 89%Security
  • 95%Cleanliness
  • 90%Location
  • 94%Value for money
  • 90%Facilities

Real Reviews

Real reviews from fellow travellers

These are trusted reviews from guests who have actually stayed here. We hope you find them helpful.

Note: we only give a property a rating once it has received a minimum of 3 reviews.

  • Sort By:
  • Traveler Type:
  • Age:
  • I loved this place because it felt like I was arriving at home every time I walked through the front door. Great staff and a beautiful backyard area with a hammock! The only thing that I felt "eh" about was the lock on the bathroom door upstairs...it seemed a little bit broken.
  • 94%
  • 05 Apr 2015 Anonymous USA
  • The location is pretty good, close to a couple cafes and some good shopping on magazine street. However, the bunk beds in the 8 bed dorm I stayed in were very noisy and you could here every time someone moved. The layout was also weird. The air conditioner in the back room is slightly broken, it blows cool air but the change in temperature buttons don't work and the down button makes the temp go up. There was no shower head, so the water spread was little to none. The staff is really nice though
  • 71%
  • 19 Mar 2015 Anonymous USA
  • Freddie, the guy who runs the Atlas house, was very nice and helpful.
  • 89%
  • 11 Mar 2015 Anne USA
  • Atlas House is amazing. Perfectly for Mardi Gras. It is within a 5 min walk of some of the main parade routes and is only 15 mins from Bourbon St. The Hostel is kept impeccably clean. They serve a free breakfast to nurse that deadly hangover. Joe, Freddie and Jess are some of the nicest, most pleasant people you will met and are always looking to help.IT HAS A HOTTUB. Best hostel I have ever stayed in. Stay here and you will meet cool people and have the greatest of times.
  • 100%
  • 10 Feb 2015 Paul Ireland
  • Atlas house is a perfect spot for your next stay in new Orleans! The owner jesse is very knowledgeable & helpful with anything you might need. Highly recommended & would stay again when I'm back in town
  • 100%
  • 05 Feb 2015 David USA
  • The private room was waaaay nicer than expected. Better than any hostel or hotel I've stayed in!
  • 91%
  • 22 Dec 2014 Meagan Canada
  • This hostel is in a beautiful, well-maintained old house, right in between the fabulous French Quarter and the beautiful Garden District. It was a little on the quiet side, but the atmosphere was great - it felt like being at home among friends! The staff were also exceptionally helpful and friendly. I would definitely return to Atlas House.
  • 97%
  • 17 Dec 2014 Anonymous Australia
  • Perfect place
  • 97%
  • 25 Nov 2014 Chloe France
  • I stayed in the house for ten days and it was incredible! The staff are so kind. They had planned events for us (if we wanted to attend) and even made us supper and cookies occAsionally. It was extremely clean, probably the cleanest hostel I have ever stayed at. I would definitely recommend this place
  • 100%
  • 25 Aug 2014 Ayla
  • One of the best Hostels I have ever been in. Staff was very welcoming and friendly. Not only did they offer various things in the evening (pub crawl, flip cup, etc.) but even participated in it. It felt like people who used to live in a hostel now operate the hostel. After all the best experience I ever had. Thanks everyone.
  • 100%
  • 21 Aug 2014 Anonymous Germany
City Guides and Information

Video guides, travel podcasts, city maps & free city guides. What to eat, where to stay and things to do and see - our travel guides have it all.

Find a guide »
Latest Blog Post

Buenos Aires is the second-biggest city in South America after Sao Paolo, Brazil, so you can bet there are lots of things to do and see. Here are just five you should do to get...

Read more »
Great Value and Choice

We offer the most comprehensive selection of hostels on the internet with over 35,000 great places to stay in 180 countries. The ultimate online resource for hostels everywhere.

Find great value hostels »