See other New Orleans properties

Atlas House

1354 Magazine Street, Greyhound Amtrack Station, New Orleans, USA, Distance from city centre: 2km

Rating: 91% from 20 reviews

  • 93%Atmosphere
  • 97%Staff
  • 90%Security
  • 94%Cleanliness
  • 89%Location
  • 93%Value for money
  • 88%Facilities

Real Reviews

Real reviews from fellow travellers

These are trusted reviews from guests who have actually stayed here. We hope you find them helpful.

Note: we only give a property a rating once it has received a minimum of 3 reviews.

  • Sort By:
  • Traveler Type:
  • Age:
  • What?! They provide complimentary sheets and blanket? And "free breakfast" means hot pancakes, not just a bowl of corn flakes. Had a great time in NOLA and enjoyed my night at the hostel.
  • 100%
  • 29 Jul 2015 David USA
  • Very good. The owner was very helpful and hospitable.
  • 86%
  • 22 Jul 2015 Anthony USA
  • There was no hot water for a shower on the few occasions we went to have one so had to have cold showers instead. The breakfast was only ideal if you like oancakes or dont mind having a fatty start to your day every morning. We have stayed in hostels that have had a wide variety of choices for their guests. The air conditioner was constantly on and you cant turn it off. This meeds to be addressed as each room should be able to control this. There was nothing exceptionally appealing about here.
  • 57%
  • 24 Jun 2015 Anonymous Ireland
  • Best choice for staying in NoLa. A very friendly and helpful staff, good and safe location, very clean and with all facilities. I like this place so much.You can walk to French Quarter and also to Garden District and is also easy accesible with public transportation.
  • 94%
  • 16 Jun 2015 George Romania
  • Really cool feel! Fun place! My bed squeaked like mad, but everyone else's in the room was pretty quiet.
  • 97%
  • 11 Jun 2015 Anonymous USA
  • Staff were very friendly and helpful.
  • 86%
  • 31 May 2015 Sarah Australia
  • I loved this place because it felt like I was arriving at home every time I walked through the front door. Great staff and a beautiful backyard area with a hammock! The only thing that I felt "eh" about was the lock on the bathroom door upstairs...it seemed a little bit broken.
  • 94%
  • 05 Apr 2015 Anonymous USA
  • The location is pretty good, close to a couple cafes and some good shopping on magazine street. However, the bunk beds in the 8 bed dorm I stayed in were very noisy and you could here every time someone moved. The layout was also weird. The air conditioner in the back room is slightly broken, it blows cool air but the change in temperature buttons don't work and the down button makes the temp go up. There was no shower head, so the water spread was little to none. The staff is really nice though
  • 71%
  • 19 Mar 2015 Anonymous USA
  • Freddie, the guy who runs the Atlas house, was very nice and helpful.
  • 89%
  • 11 Mar 2015 Anne USA
  • Atlas House is amazing. Perfectly for Mardi Gras. It is within a 5 min walk of some of the main parade routes and is only 15 mins from Bourbon St. The Hostel is kept impeccably clean. They serve a free breakfast to nurse that deadly hangover. Joe, Freddie and Jess are some of the nicest, most pleasant people you will met and are always looking to help.IT HAS A HOTTUB. Best hostel I have ever stayed in. Stay here and you will meet cool people and have the greatest of times.
  • 100%
  • 10 Feb 2015 Paul Ireland
City Guides and Information

Video guides, travel podcasts, city maps & free city guides. What to eat, where to stay and things to do and see - our travel guides have it all.

Find a guide »
Latest Blog Post

The epitome of culinary richness, Marrakesh -the heart of the red city, is a foodies wonderland

Read more »
Great Value and Choice

We offer the most comprehensive selection of hostels on the internet with over 35,000 great places to stay in 180 countries. The ultimate online resource for hostels everywhere.

Find great value hostels »