See other New Orleans properties

Atlas House

1354 Magazine Street, Greyhound Amtrack Station, New Orleans, USA, Distance from city centre: 2km

Rating: 89% from 22 reviews

  • 91%Atmosphere
  • 96%Staff
  • 87%Security
  • 90%Cleanliness
  • 87%Location
  • 90%Value for money
  • 85%Facilities

Real Reviews

Real reviews from fellow travellers

These are trusted reviews from guests who have actually stayed here. We hope you find them helpful.

Note: we only give a property a rating once it has received a minimum of 3 reviews.

  • Sort By:
  • Traveler Type:
  • Age:
  • People were great, location was very convenient, and the hostel felt secure with several code locks for both the main building and the "dorms". However I was surprised that my room was actually a hallway, so a few people walked through it and I didn't like that when you opened the front door, the bedrooms were right there. The bathroom wasn't too clean. But overall it made for a good stay!
  • 77%
  • 13 Nov 2015 Anonymous USA
  • This is an incredibly fun and social house. A great place to meet good people to go out with in the evenings. Very nice laid back staff who made it a point to get the house together out on the back patio in the evenings and plan group outings. Typical hostel accommodations in the back dorms. I slept pretty good. Managed to get a shower without having to wait too long. I stayed at a different hostel in town at the beginning of my trip but Atlas was so much better. I'll be back for sure!
  • 97%
  • 12 Sep 2015 Kyle USA
  • If you don't want to stay in the noisy french quarter, and just want somewhere clean, decent, and quiet(but not too far off from the action) this location might be ideal for you. Only two blocks away from st.charles street cart and only less 10 mins ride to FQ. Magazine street is new up and coming with young neighborhood vibe. The facility is an big old southern house where the floor squeaks but very charming! AC is very strong lol...shared bathroom is no 5 stars hotel but gets the job done.
  • 77%
  • 06 Sep 2015 Anonymous USA
  • What?! They provide complimentary sheets and blanket? And "free breakfast" means hot pancakes, not just a bowl of corn flakes. Had a great time in NOLA and enjoyed my night at the hostel.
  • 100%
  • 29 Jul 2015 David USA
  • Very good. The owner was very helpful and hospitable.
  • 86%
  • 22 Jul 2015 Anthony USA
  • There was no hot water for a shower on the few occasions we went to have one so had to have cold showers instead. The breakfast was only ideal if you like oancakes or dont mind having a fatty start to your day every morning. We have stayed in hostels that have had a wide variety of choices for their guests. The air conditioner was constantly on and you cant turn it off. This meeds to be addressed as each room should be able to control this. There was nothing exceptionally appealing about here.
  • 57%
  • 24 Jun 2015 Anonymous Ireland
  • Best choice for staying in NoLa. A very friendly and helpful staff, good and safe location, very clean and with all facilities. I like this place so much.You can walk to French Quarter and also to Garden District and is also easy accesible with public transportation.
  • 94%
  • 16 Jun 2015 George Romania
  • Really cool feel! Fun place! My bed squeaked like mad, but everyone else's in the room was pretty quiet.
  • 97%
  • 11 Jun 2015 Anonymous USA
  • Staff were very friendly and helpful.
  • 86%
  • 31 May 2015 Sarah Australia
  • I loved this place because it felt like I was arriving at home every time I walked through the front door. Great staff and a beautiful backyard area with a hammock! The only thing that I felt "eh" about was the lock on the bathroom door seemed a little bit broken.
  • 94%
  • 05 Apr 2015 Anonymous USA
City Guides and Information

Video guides, travel podcasts, city maps & free city guides. What to eat, where to stay and things to do and see - our travel guides have it all.

Find a guide »
Latest Blog Post

The epitome of culinary richness, Marrakesh -the heart of the red city, is a foodies wonderland

Read more »
Great Value and Choice

We offer the most comprehensive selection of hostels on the internet with over 33,000 great places to stay in 170 countries. The ultimate online resource for hostels everywhere.

Find great value hostels »