See other Montreal properties

Auberge Bishop

1445 rue Bishop, Montreal, Canada, Distance from city centre: 0.6km

Rating: 87% from 70 reviews

  • 88%Atmosphere
  • 92%Staff
  • 81%Security
  • 82%Cleanliness
  • 95%Location
  • 91%Value for money
  • 82%Facilities

Real Reviews

Real reviews from fellow travellers

These are trusted reviews from guests who have actually stayed here. We hope you find them helpful.

Note: we only give a property a rating once it has received a minimum of 3 reviews.

  • Sort By:
  • Traveler Type:
  • Age:
  • It was one of the best hostels I ever staid at. With extremely friendly,supportive staff. I just loved our room and the atmosphere of the entire building, which seemed to have been a city villa once. Room price was unbeatable (66 for twin room,incl breakfast). Location is perfect: just around the corner of st. Catherines Street and a whole bunch of nice restaurants and pubs are next door. I would definitely come again!
  • 97%
  • 03 Sep 2014 Isabel Germany
  • I loved staying at this hostel. I feel like for the amount of money we set aside for a place to stay in Montreal we got a pretty sweet deal. Everything was very clean and updated and the staff was unbelievably helpful. Went above and beyond. Will definitely be staying here again!
  • 94%
  • 30 Aug 2014 Karen USA
  • The best thing about the hostel, as I only stayed 2 nights, the prime location for such as McDill and Mont Royal, together with McCord Museum and Museum of Fine Arts.
  • 94%
  • 29 Aug 2014 Anonymous USA
  • The AC unit in the rooms is quite noisy when it's on, but without it, the room can get very hot and humid in the summer. Wifi signal is weak in the room (second floor). Otherwise, Auberge Bishop was great value for the price in a central downtown location, and a pleasurable stay overall.
  • 74%
  • 29 Aug 2014 Justin Canada
  • Great place to stay. Really friendly and helpful staff. Excellent location. Super clean. Best value for your money. Highly recommended.
  • 100%
  • 29 Aug 2014 Anonymous Mexico
  • Lovely old building in an excellent location, with additional benefits of cheerfully helpful staff, a decent breakfast, and air.con in our dorm. However, the kitchen was less well equipped than we had expected, and' cigarette smoke drifting in from smokers sitting in front of the hostel made the common lounge areas increasingly unpleasant to be in as the day progressed.
  • 74%
  • 28 Aug 2014 John New Zealand
  • Rooms are small.
  • 86%
  • 26 Aug 2014 Anonymous Singapore
  • This Hostel was my first one ever, and it was just fine! Nice building to be in with air conditioned rooms and well kept washrooms. A solid place. The only hiccup I experienced was a person sleeping in the bunk-bed that I had 'claimed' earlier that day. When I arrived late at night someone was sleeping in that bed so I had to take a different empty bed which had it's sheets messed up. So I may have slept in a bed that had been slept in previously without being cleaned first.
  • 89%
  • 21 Aug 2014 Tim Canada
  • Great location. Me and my friends were near all the local pubs and clubs and everything went smoothly.
  • 91%
  • 14 Aug 2014 Anonymous USA
  • The three of us who booked rooms ended up getting split up into different rooms, but despite that the hostel was lovely and I would definitely stay there again. The people are friendly and helpful, the atmosphere feels fresh and interesting, the breakfast is simple but nice, and the utilities are well maintained for their cheapness. I highly recommend.
  • 89%
  • 14 Aug 2014 Donovan USA
City Guides and Information

Video guides, travel podcasts, city maps & free city guides. What to eat, where to stay and things to do and see - our travel guides have it all.

Find a guide »
Latest Blog Post

No need to wait until the summer to take a holiday. Avoid the crowds and sweltering temperatures by choosing a trip in the winter months. Although you might have to pack some warmer clothes, there's a handful of benefits for traveling at this time: you'll either be rewarded with lower prices, clearer skies or festive entertainment.

Read more »
Great Value and Choice

We offer the most comprehensive selection of hostels on the internet with over 35,000 great places to stay in 180 countries. The ultimate online resource for hostels everywhere.

Find great value hostels »