See other Montreal properties

Auberge Bishop

1445 rue Bishop, Montreal, Canada, Distance from city centre: 0.6km

Rating: 86% from 73 reviews

  • 85%Atmosphere
  • 89%Staff
  • 81%Security
  • 78%Cleanliness
  • 95%Location
  • 91%Value for money
  • 82%Facilities

Real Reviews

Real reviews from fellow travellers

These are trusted reviews from guests who have actually stayed here. We hope you find them helpful.

Note: we only give a property a rating once it has received a minimum of 3 reviews.

  • Sort By:
  • Traveler Type:
  • Age:
  • As soon as we arrived the staff was very friendly and helpful. The overall vibe was casual and hospitable and the other people staying in the hostel seemed very interesting and fun. The only downside, which wasn't even that big of a deal, was that there wasn't a dry surface to set down your belongings on in the bathroom. Otherwise, everything was clean enough and the architecture of the hostel was very cool. The location couldn't have been more perfect for people interested in exploring downtown
  • 80%
  • 09 Aug 2013 Emmalisa USA
  • I stayed at this hostel with my daughter and would stay here again in a heartbeat! The staff are great, the room, bed and temperature control is great and the shower and washroom facilities are good and clean. The breakfast was appreciated also.... and the building itself has been maintained extremely well for it's age while still maintaining it's character.
  • 89%
  • 08 Aug 2013 Anonymous Canada
  • My sister and I were in Montreal for 2 days so we just needed a home-base. Neither of us had been to a hostel before but were pleasantly surprised by the vibe. Look if you have tons of luggage or don't like interacting with people this is probably not for you however we loved it! The staff was very helpful. Everyone we met or even passed by were courteous and friendly. I'm definitely going back!
  • 91%
  • 01 Aug 2013 Anonymous USA
  • My experience at Bishop Hostel was very positive. I finally slept 9 night there during my stay, using it as my reference place everytime I was in Montreal. The staff is nice and helpful, the rooms are fine and the location is excellent, near the city Center, Rue Sainte Catherine, and in a very safe environment. I definitely recommend Auberge Bishop
  • 100%
  • 27 Jul 2013 Anonymous France
  • Came here with three other girlfriends, had the best time of our lives! Great hostel for price, felt safe because we had our own room, bathroom facilities are very clean.
  • 94%
  • 27 Jul 2013 Leah USA
  • Honestly, these were some of the best hostel showers I've ever experienced. They were better than my apartment's showers! Beds were very comfortable as well. In general, the hostel was really quiet at night for my stay as well.
  • 83%
  • 26 Jul 2013 Chris Canada
  • I would argue this hostel has the best location in Montreal: it's one block away from rue Crescent, which yea is touristy but uber lively with nightlife. It's right near the metro that takes you straight to the UQAM bus station where Greyhound drops off. Double-bed private has its own air conditioner and was clean. building is old with charm like someones house. staff/guests congregate on the stoop to play cards and such. Internet worked perfectly. Overall i recommend, but bring your own towel!
  • 74%
  • 26 Jul 2013 Anonymous USA
  • Got half of my bread, some beers and other things stolen out of the fridge, hardly the fault of the hostel but the pathetic people who should have stayed home and watch TV.
  • 80%
  • 25 Jul 2013 Anonymous Germany
  • Perfectly in the heart of the city - close to the Bell Centre and Museum of Fine Arts. Bishop Street is busy and safe - lots of great bars and restaurants. Everything was clean, safe, and inviting. The staff was very helpful and it was lovely to have a complimentary breakfast in the morning. I can't believe the price was as low as it was. This is the place to be if you want easy living in the city. Watch out for the 8a-9a parking ban on the Bishop Street.
  • 97%
  • 22 Jul 2013 Alexis USA
  • I came with three friends and we didn't know what to expect. To our pleasure, the experience at the Auberge Bishop was second to none. Extremely friendly and laid back vibe and staff. Would stay there again a million times over.
  • 100%
  • 12 Jul 2013 Daniel USA
City Guides and Information

Video guides, travel podcasts, city maps & free city guides. What to eat, where to stay and things to do and see - our travel guides have it all.

Find a guide »
Latest Blog Post

One early morning, accompanied with a semi-hot cappuccino and croissant eaten like a true Roman - standing up and in a hurry - I was off on the Metro to the Vatican.

Read more »
Great Value and Choice

We offer the most comprehensive selection of hostels on the internet with over 35,000 great places to stay in 180 countries. The ultimate online resource for hostels everywhere.

Find great value hostels »