See other Montreal properties

Auberge Bishop

1445 rue Bishop, Montreal, Canada, Distance from city centre: 0.6km

Rating: 87% from 65 reviews

  • 88%Atmosphere
  • 92%Staff
  • 80%Security
  • 82%Cleanliness
  • 94%Location
  • 92%Value for money
  • 82%Facilities

Real Reviews

Real reviews from fellow travellers

These are trusted reviews from guests who have actually stayed here. We hope you find them helpful.

Note: we only give a property a rating once it has received a minimum of 3 reviews.

  • Sort By:
  • Traveler Type:
  • Age:
  • This was an excellent place to stay during a fun getaway to Montreal. The staff was helpful and the guests generally minded their own business. The few we engaged in conversation were friendly and usually eager to chat. I will be returning to Montreal soon and Auberge Bishop will be where I stay.
  • 94%
  • 11 Oct 2013 Evan USA
  • One of the dirtier and more cramped hostels I've ever stayed at. The 4 bed room was barely big enough to physically turn around in and aside from a small locked there was no space for personal belongings. The front door was always wide open and the door my room didn't lock. Bathrooms were generally dirty and showers downright nasty. Community kitchen was a mess and lacked equipment. Breakfast was white bread, butter, jelly and peanut butter. I guess that's what you get for $20! Won't be back...
  • 54%
  • 10 Oct 2013 Noel USA
  • excellent location, too many stairs to get to the top floor
  • 89%
  • 30 Aug 2013 HANYI Canada
  • Hostel was clean and in a great location, and staff were very helpful and accommodating.
  • 83%
  • 27 Aug 2013 Elizabeth England
  • Very friendly French atmosphere, extremely helpful staff, centrally located. A life saving hostel for me after I had spent one night in HI-Montreal, the worst hostel I have ever stayed in.
  • 83%
  • 13 Aug 2013 Bram Belgium
  • As soon as we arrived the staff was very friendly and helpful. The overall vibe was casual and hospitable and the other people staying in the hostel seemed very interesting and fun. The only downside, which wasn't even that big of a deal, was that there wasn't a dry surface to set down your belongings on in the bathroom. Otherwise, everything was clean enough and the architecture of the hostel was very cool. The location couldn't have been more perfect for people interested in exploring downtown
  • 80%
  • 09 Aug 2013 Emmalisa USA
  • I stayed at this hostel with my daughter and would stay here again in a heartbeat! The staff are great, the room, bed and temperature control is great and the shower and washroom facilities are good and clean. The breakfast was appreciated also.... and the building itself has been maintained extremely well for it's age while still maintaining it's character.
  • 89%
  • 08 Aug 2013 Anonymous Canada
  • My sister and I were in Montreal for 2 days so we just needed a home-base. Neither of us had been to a hostel before but were pleasantly surprised by the vibe. Look if you have tons of luggage or don't like interacting with people this is probably not for you however we loved it! The staff was very helpful. Everyone we met or even passed by were courteous and friendly. I'm definitely going back!
  • 91%
  • 01 Aug 2013 Anonymous USA
  • My experience at Bishop Hostel was very positive. I finally slept 9 night there during my stay, using it as my reference place everytime I was in Montreal. The staff is nice and helpful, the rooms are fine and the location is excellent, near the city Center, Rue Sainte Catherine, and in a very safe environment. I definitely recommend Auberge Bishop
  • 100%
  • 27 Jul 2013 Anonymous France
  • Came here with three other girlfriends, had the best time of our lives! Great hostel for price, felt safe because we had our own room, bathroom facilities are very clean.
  • 94%
  • 27 Jul 2013 Leah USA
City Guides and Information

Video guides, travel podcasts, city maps & free city guides. What to eat, where to stay and things to do and see - our travel guides have it all.

Find a guide »
Latest Blog Post

Using an InterRail pass (for EU residents) or a Eurail pass (for non-EU) is the perfect way to easily check off all the dreamy European destinations on your travel bucket list. Ride the rails like a pro with these five tips.

Read more »
Great Value and Choice

We offer the most comprehensive selection of hostels on the internet with over 35,000 great places to stay in 180 countries. The ultimate online resource for hostels everywhere.

Find great value hostels »