See other Montreal properties

Auberge L'Apero

1425 Mackay, Suite 2, Montreal, Canada, Distance from city centre: 0.6km

Rating: 87% from 32 reviews

  • 83%Atmosphere
  • 88%Staff
  • 88%Security
  • 87%Cleanliness
  • 91%Location
  • 90%Value for money
  • 85%Facilities

Real Reviews

Real reviews from fellow travellers

These are trusted reviews from guests who have actually stayed here. We hope you find them helpful.

Note: we only give a property a rating once it has received a minimum of 3 reviews.

  • Sort By:
  • Traveler Type:
  • Age:
  • I really enjoyed my stay at the hostel. I felt more like being in a big apartment with lots of people living in then in a hostel. A simple breakfast is included and i didn´t know that before. So that was a very positive surprise. Thank you for that nice weekend! :)
  • 94%
  • 21 Mar 2014 Katrin Austria
  • The parking situation was really odd and sometimes inconvenient but in a city that would be expected
  • 91%
  • 17 Mar 2014 Rochelle USA
  • Be honest on homepage that you will actually share a dorm room with 12 people and not 6 as mentioned. A curtain doesn't magically split the room in two. Besides this then everything was fine.
  • 83%
  • 17 Jan 2014 Christian Denmark
  • Great location - a two-minute walk from the Guy-Concordia metro stop, and just a block from busy Rue St. Catherine. The staff member who got us settled in was delightful, and though the facilities are nothing too extraordinary, they're clean, pleasant, and well-run. Excellent value; breakfast of toast and cereal included.
  • 86%
  • 09 Jan 2014 Anonymous USA
  • I had little expectations considering this was my first stay at any hostel, but was pleasantly surprised when arriving at Auberge L'Apero in Montreal. The living was very simple, the beds were comfortable, the showers were hot, and the staff was informative. My only complaint is that one night the staff were unreasonably loud right outside my bedroom door and it kept me up for hours! However, that would not deter me from staying at this hostel again! I really enjoyed my stay!
  • 91%
  • 28 Dec 2013 Mary Carson USA
  • I had a really pleasant stay at Auberge l'Apero. The staff were very friendly. Room and washroom were clean. They also have a kitchen which is very convenient. I will definitely be going back there during my next stays in Montreal!
  • 100%
  • 16 Dec 2013 Josianne Canada
  • Stayed there for 3 nights and I must say that the staff are very friendly and nice. The rooms are clean and the location of the hostel is accessible to trains and buses. Definitely will be staying here again, highly recommended and well worth the money.
  • 74%
  • 16 Nov 2013 Stefani Australia
  • The hostel is clean and neat. There are enough washrooms and space for accommodating everyone. Great place to stay.
  • 91%
  • 14 Nov 2013 GUILLERMO Mexico
  • We had a great time! The hostel is very bright and cheerful, the location is perfect, there are several bathrooms available, and the staff are very friendly! I would definitely recommend this hostel, and will use it again if I'm ever back in Montreal!
  • 91%
  • 24 Oct 2013 Rhiannon Canada
  • Need to go up one flight of stairs to get there (no elevator). Would have liked to know that before i booked (had very heavy luggage)
    Owner Comment

    Hi! I apologize for this but this old greystone has kept all of its charm, which means no elevator but we always, and I mean always bring up heavy lugguage for guests. In this instance the Sunday employe should have brought your lugguage up by himself, I will let him know. Thanks,

  • 66%
  • 13 Oct 2013 Anonymous Canada
City Guides and Information

Video guides, travel podcasts, city maps & free city guides. What to eat, where to stay and things to do and see - our travel guides have it all.

Find a guide »
Latest Blog Post

Whether you want to get down'n'dirty in Austin or stay up all night in Berlin, live music is an unforgettable way to get to know any city's secret rhythms. But what cities have the best gigs? Here's five of our favourites...

Read more »
Great Value and Choice

We offer the most comprehensive selection of hostels on the internet with over 35,000 great places to stay in 180 countries. The ultimate online resource for hostels everywhere.

Find great value hostels »