See other Montreal properties

Auberge L'Apero

1425 Mackay, Suite 2, Montreal, Canada, Distance from city centre: 0.6km

Rating: 89% from 39 reviews

  • 86%Atmosphere
  • 86%Staff
  • 87%Security
  • 91%Cleanliness
  • 94%Location
  • 93%Value for money
  • 86%Facilities

Real Reviews

Real reviews from fellow travellers

These are trusted reviews from guests who have actually stayed here. We hope you find them helpful.

Note: we only give a property a rating once it has received a minimum of 3 reviews.

  • Sort By:
  • Traveler Type:
  • Age:
  • We stayed in the female dorm, 5 of us so we booked the 6 beds available to have the entire room. It was clean, neat and comfortable. The staff was friendly. We didn't mingle with other guests but anyone we saw seemed friendly enough. We would definitely stay here again, the location is perfect for walking everywhere.
  • 97%
  • 10 Jul 2015 Denise Canada
  • Unfortunately someone took the bed I had set out, other than that my experience was good.
    Owner Comment

    Dear guest, we are very sorry about this! Sometimes other guests in the room confuse which bed is theirs and this happens. Hope to see you again :)

  • 80%
  • 08 Jul 2015 Anonymous Canada
  • The hostel has a cozy and relaxed atmosphere, it is clean and offers all you need when travelling. There are many good and cheap restaurants nearby, e.g delicious dim sum just underneath in the same house. Recommended!
  • 89%
  • 30 Jun 2015 Jolana Czech Republic
  • Overall the hostel was nice, only problem was that there weren't enough bathrooms, in the morning its quite a wait to use a facility. The beds are also rock hard, it makes it kind of difficult to get a good night sleep.
    Owner Comment

    Thanks for sharing your impression! On occasions where we have groups, they tend to all use the washrooms at the same time, it can mean some wait time. But in general we don't have many groups so this isn't a problem. We're sorry you felt the beds were hard, they are firm so they can keep their shape and not sag in the middle. We can offer pillowtops to guests who prefer softer beds. Hope to see you again :)

  • 77%
  • 19 Jun 2015 Meghan USA
  • A nice hostel at the heart of the City very close to Metro,Bus etc....I stayed a couple of days when i first arrived Montreal,and i stayed again on my way back home...A little minus point for the staffs....I'll definately come back when in Montreal....
  • 80%
  • 15 Jun 2015 Ahmed Belgium
  • This was such a fine place to stay (bathrooms are cleaner than mine at home!). Great kitchen facility and generous breakfast. Bed comforters of designer quality. Rooms spic and span. Entire facility you couldn't ask for more. Fabulous location, can't be beat. Go!
    Owner Comment

    Thanks for sharing your experience at Auberge L'Apero! We're pleased you appreciated our bedding, and cleanliness. We do put alot of effort into those aspects :) Hope to see you next year!

  • 97%
  • 03 Jun 2015 Anonymous USA
  • I had a wonderful time! The staff was helpfull and kind. I would definitely recommend this hostel for fellow backpackers.
    Owner Comment

    Thanks so much for sharing your experience at Auberge L'Apero, hope to see you again :)

  • 91%
  • 27 May 2015 Nikita
  • Everything was very clean and the staff was friendly and helpful. There was plenty of space in the dorms and in the common spaces. Very nice place to stay in a central location.
    Owner Comment

    Dear guest, thanks for sharing your experience at L'Apéro, hope to see you again :)

  • 100%
  • 19 May 2015 Megan USA
  • I had a great time, I will be staying there again.
  • 91%
  • 18 May 2015 Clark Canada
  • The Staff here are awesome!! We hung out together a lot and they are all really friendly. The location of the hostel is good as well. There are some Irish bar just on the corner and a hookah bar is also near. Some travelers snoozed like a thunder though, but I think that's nothing to do with the hostel!
    Owner Comment

    The staff was very happy to read this comment! In regards to the snoring, it does happen and we do offer those whom it bothers a room change free of charge. Hope to see you again!

  • 97%
  • 16 Mar 2015 Ming-Hsia Taiwan
City Guides and Information

Video guides, travel podcasts, city maps & free city guides. What to eat, where to stay and things to do and see - our travel guides have it all.

Find a guide »
Latest Blog Post

There's nothing like having your own transport to get around and when travelling the world it's no different.

Read more »
Great Value and Choice

We offer the most comprehensive selection of hostels on the internet with over 35,000 great places to stay in 180 countries. The ultimate online resource for hostels everywhere.

Find great value hostels »