See other Montreal properties

Auberge L'Apero

1425 Mackay, Suite 2, Montreal, Canada, Distance from city centre: 0.6km

Rating: 86% from 41 reviews

  • 81%Atmosphere
  • 87%Staff
  • 83%Security
  • 88%Cleanliness
  • 90%Location
  • 91%Value for money
  • 82%Facilities

Real Reviews

Real reviews from fellow travellers

These are trusted reviews from guests who have actually stayed here. We hope you find them helpful.

Note: we only give a property a rating once it has received a minimum of 3 reviews.

  • Sort By:
  • Traveler Type:
  • Age:
  • I had little expectations considering this was my first stay at any hostel, but was pleasantly surprised when arriving at Auberge L'Apero in Montreal. The living was very simple, the beds were comfortable, the showers were hot, and the staff was informative. My only complaint is that one night the staff were unreasonably loud right outside my bedroom door and it kept me up for hours! However, that would not deter me from staying at this hostel again! I really enjoyed my stay!
  • 91%
  • 28 Dec 2013 Mary Carson USA
  • I had a really pleasant stay at Auberge l'Apero. The staff were very friendly. Room and washroom were clean. They also have a kitchen which is very convenient. I will definitely be going back there during my next stays in Montreal!
  • 100%
  • 16 Dec 2013 Josianne Canada
  • Stayed there for 3 nights and I must say that the staff are very friendly and nice. The rooms are clean and the location of the hostel is accessible to trains and buses. Definitely will be staying here again, highly recommended and well worth the money.
  • 74%
  • 16 Nov 2013 Stefani Australia
  • The hostel is clean and neat. There are enough washrooms and space for accommodating everyone. Great place to stay.
  • 91%
  • 14 Nov 2013 GUILLERMO Mexico
  • We had a great time! The hostel is very bright and cheerful, the location is perfect, there are several bathrooms available, and the staff are very friendly! I would definitely recommend this hostel, and will use it again if I'm ever back in Montreal!
  • 91%
  • 24 Oct 2013 Rhiannon Canada
  • Need to go up one flight of stairs to get there (no elevator). Would have liked to know that before i booked (had very heavy luggage)
    Owner Comment

    Hi! I apologize for this but this old greystone has kept all of its charm, which means no elevator but we always, and I mean always bring up heavy lugguage for guests. In this instance the Sunday employe should have brought your lugguage up by himself, I will let him know. Thanks,

  • 66%
  • 13 Oct 2013 Anonymous Canada
  • This hostel was great. I slept in a cool Japanese looking capsule bed so I could close my curtain and have my own private space. There were lots of friendly people here and the location is within walking distance to great restaurants downtown. The bathrooms are private which is another plus and you get free breakfast!
  • 100%
  • 28 Aug 2013 Anonymous Canada
  • Very good location, close to the metro station. The rooms are super clean and they give you lockers for your stuff, so you don't need to have your own.
  • 91%
  • 19 Aug 2013 Joana Canada
  • A very charming place. Can't beat the location! Would definitely recommend...
  • 94%
  • 16 Aug 2013 Anonymous USA
  • I haven't stayed in too many hostels, but this is by far the best. The location is great - Musee des Beux Arts, the base of Mont Royal, and a street filled with all kinds of bars are well within 5 minutes' walk, and then many of the big attractions in the city of Montreal are just 10-15 minutes' walk away - the facilities are extremely clean, and the people operating/who were staying there were phenomenal. I don't know what else to say, but I definitely would stay there again.
  • 100%
  • 28 Jul 2013 Anonymous USA
City Guides and Information

Video guides, travel podcasts, city maps & free city guides. What to eat, where to stay and things to do and see - our travel guides have it all.

Find a guide »
Latest Blog Post

Using an InterRail pass (for EU residents) or a Eurail pass (for non-EU) is the perfect way to easily check off all the dreamy European destinations on your travel bucket list. Ride the rails like a pro with these five tips.

Read more »
Great Value and Choice

We offer the most comprehensive selection of hostels on the internet with over 35,000 great places to stay in 180 countries. The ultimate online resource for hostels everywhere.

Find great value hostels »