See other Quebec properties

Auberge de Jeunesse Maeva Quebec

671 Rue Saint-Francois, Quebec, Canada, Distance from city centre: 2.2km

Rating: 80% from 39 reviews

  • 81%Atmosphere
  • 86%Staff
  • 80%Security
  • 77%Cleanliness
  • 81%Location
  • 80%Value for money
  • 72%Facilities

Real Reviews

Real reviews from fellow travellers

These are trusted reviews from guests who have actually stayed here. We hope you find them helpful.

Note: we only give a property a rating once it has received a minimum of 3 reviews.

  • Sort By:
  • Traveler Type:
  • Age:
  • great hostel, great location
  • 94%
  • 14 Nov 2014 Luciane Brazil
  • The host/staff was amazing, always kept us entertained, and made a fantastic breakfast.
  • 97%
  • 10 Nov 2014 Jakob Denmark
  • The staff was so kind and he made a pancake for breakfast! I really loved it.
  • 86%
  • 16 Oct 2014 Moe Japan
  • Very pleasant stay, the guy was really nice and would change American dollars for no fee. Great location in the St. Roch neighborhood, which is a short walk to old town etc. However, I highly recommend you spend some time in the neighborhood itself, really cool and a very different feel from the more tourist areas.
  • 91%
  • 10 Oct 2014 Michael USA
  • I loved that a staff member made pancakes for breakfast, and the location was pretty good (maybe a 20 minute walk to Vieux Québec), but there weren't enough bathrooms to comfortably accommodate everyone (1 shower and toilet for 18 people), and the breakfast room/kitchen only seated 8 people at the table, and 5-6 on couches (my room had 12 beds, which would leave no room for the guests in other bedrooms). Other than that, I had a good experience.
  • 71%
  • 15 Aug 2014 Anonymous Canada
  • It was a very clean hostel, the rooms were nice and the chicken was good. But I felt a bit out of place, I found that there wasn't enough young people or enough communion space to hangout. I didn't really feel welcomed, and this is the first hostel that I didn't really have any fun in. It's definitely worth the money if you're looking for a clean facility but if you want friends, stay somewhere else. It's only walkable distance to the train station, everything else you'll need a bus.
  • 69%
  • 15 Aug 2014 Anonymous Brazil
  • It's cute looking hostel within a 15 minute walk to the main downtown area. I personally felt very welcomed by the owner who I must say is a funny guy. He made my 2 night stay there wonderful. However, the hostel is small and the kitchen is quite tiny and it can be a bit of a nightmare especially in the morning when everyone wants breakfast. All in all a decent place and a good price to stay for a few nights.
  • 77%
  • 15 Aug 2014 Anonymous England
  • Not enough washroom or Kitchen space, which would make things tricky if I was staying for more than a few days, but all-in-all, very comfortable, very quiet and very welcoming. The neighbourhood may be a little colourful, but nothing compared to other countries I've visited (Quebec City has one of the lowest crime rates in Canada, btw).
  • 74%
  • 11 Aug 2014 A. Anne Canada
  • If I go back I will stay there again. If you need to go by plane or train it is a perfect location, you get there by public transport and can travel anywhere by this. There is an excellent atmosphere outside, a lot of gorgeous girls, the hostel is near to supermarkets, shops, bookshops, restaurants and a lot of bars. The hostel structure is old but is perfect if you just need a place to sleep, breakfast and partying. The Staff was so kind with me and the other customers.
  • 86%
  • 20 Jul 2014 Anonymous Mexico
  • Reviews were relatively positive but the condition of the Hostel was very poor - this was my first experience in a Canadian Hostel, perhaps it's considered good for Canada. European hostels that I have stayed in are in much better condition and I have stayed in many over the years.
  • 43%
  • 08 Jul 2014 Brenda Canada
City Guides and Information

Video guides, travel podcasts, city maps & free city guides. What to eat, where to stay and things to do and see - our travel guides have it all.

Find a guide »
Latest Blog Post

Some people can take a two week holiday and spend every day relaxing at the beach. Some prefer the beach to do activities, take a jog first thing in the morning, party at night...

Read more »
Great Value and Choice

We offer the most comprehensive selection of hostels on the internet with over 35,000 great places to stay in 180 countries. The ultimate online resource for hostels everywhere.

Find great value hostels »