See other Dublin properties

Avalon House

55 Aungier Street, Dublin 2, Dublin, Ireland, Distance from city centre: 1.3km

Rating: 71% from 18 reviews

  • 70%Atmosphere
  • 77%Staff
  • 74%Security
  • 68%Cleanliness
  • 77%Location
  • 67%Value for money
  • 63%Facilities

Real Reviews

Real reviews from fellow travellers

These are trusted reviews from guests who have actually stayed here. We hope you find them helpful.

Note: we only give a property a rating once it has received a minimum of 3 reviews.

  • Sort By:
  • Traveler Type:
  • Age:
  • Good location and reasonable rates are let down by the level of noise in the hostel. Most of the people who stay here tend to be young student backpackers who aren't considerate of other guests. I spent the night of my stay being kept awake by noise. The water pressure in the shower was weak. If you are looking for a budget hostel close to everything in Dublin then this is a good choice but just be careful if you are looking for somewhere quiet.
  • 71%
  • 18 Jun 2015 Anonymous Ireland
  • Great price, Staff were really helpful, stuff like I forgot my phone charger and they really cared about finding me one and let me charge it at reception. Also my friend and I wanted to change beds in our room (- to two other beds located on a split level in our dorm) and there was no problem with sorting it out for us. We were both very happy with our stay there.
  • 89%
  • 15 Jun 2015 Margo Ireland
  • The hostel may be a little far from Temple Bar and O'Connell Street, but it is a very nice place to stay!
  • 97%
  • 04 Apr 2015 Isabel Brazil
  • I did not book with this hostel, I booked Times Hostel Camden Place, I got no Email confirmation of any booking and had to pay extra because no booking had been made. I am not happy about this and would like a refund if I have been charged.
  • 20%
  • 30 Jan 2015 Chris Ireland
  • An exceptional front desk service. Thank you!
  • 83%
  • 21 Jan 2015 Marjan Slovenia
  • Nice place, clean and right next to a good bar. The hostel isn´t a far walk from Temple Bar, either.
  • 86%
  • 21 Nov 2014 William USA
  • Workers should know more informations abou stuff in Dublin....
  • 69%
  • 17 Oct 2014 Maja Mara Bosnia And Herzegovina
  • Stayed in the Avalon Room and the roof in the middle was leaking. They did not provide a lock to the locker, and in general the staff seemed indifferent.
  • 54%
  • 03 Oct 2014 Qilong USA
  • Average hostel, nothing special, a bit dated, mattresses on the beds are a bit slim and so not that comfortable. No free tea or coffee on offer, no smoking area, no alcohol allowed to be drunk on the premesis. It's is cheap though in relations to other hostels and it is in a v good location and the staff are nice.
  • 74%
  • 05 Sep 2014 Anonymous Ireland
  • Nice Hostel but the wifi was a bit slow.
  • 86%
  • 24 Jul 2014 Anonymous Ireland
City Guides and Information

Video guides, travel podcasts, city maps & free city guides. What to eat, where to stay and things to do and see - our travel guides have it all.

Find a guide »
Latest Blog Post

There's nothing like having your own transport to get around and when travelling the world it's no different.

Read more »
Great Value and Choice

We offer the most comprehensive selection of hostels on the internet with over 35,000 great places to stay in 180 countries. The ultimate online resource for hostels everywhere.

Find great value hostels »