See other Dublin properties

Avalon House

55 Aungier Street, Dublin 2, Dublin, Ireland, Distance from city centre: 1.3km

Rating: 72% from 17 reviews

  • 69%Atmosphere
  • 77%Staff
  • 76%Security
  • 68%Cleanliness
  • 84%Location
  • 71%Value for money
  • 62%Facilities

Real Reviews

Real reviews from fellow travellers

These are trusted reviews from guests who have actually stayed here. We hope you find them helpful.

Note: we only give a property a rating once it has received a minimum of 3 reviews.

  • Sort By:
  • Traveler Type:
  • Age:
  • Clean, great location and fair prices. I recommend.
  • 94%
  • 21 Jun 2014 Marta Poland
  • My room was extremely tiny. It had only a single bed, a chair and a few hangers. My luggage could barely fit in!! Moreover, I went early to the hostel, I was told that I could enter my room after 14.00. An hour later someone came and without knocking the door, tried to unlock and wanted to repair my bed. Couldn't they have fixed before? Although there is a cafe with lots of pastries-sandwiches inside the hostel, the free breakfast included ONLY bread, butter and a red jam! Very disappointed.
  • 46%
  • 05 Jun 2014 Evangelia Greece
  • Smelled terrible.
  • 46%
  • 19 May 2014 Anonymous USA
  • The room is so small that I can hardly move. AND at night i saw someone naked in the hallway.. It was awful
  • 54%
  • 04 May 2014 Anonymous South Korea
  • Great location for playing in city centre. Staff is very helpful. Good food next door!
  • 91%
  • 29 Apr 2014 john USA
  • Nice hostel with a very friendly staff. They gave me good recommendations about what to do and see in Dublin. The breakfast was delicious and The Bald Barista is a fun addition to the hostel.
  • 89%
  • 18 Apr 2014 Matthew USA
  • it is one of the best hostels I`ve ever seen. Clean, comfortable and cheap.
  • 89%
  • 18 Mar 2014 Anonymous Ukraine
  • Stayed in a 12 bed dorm the first night. There were ZERO power outlets in the room. Wanna charge your phone/camera? You have to go downstairs to the lobby. After that I stayed in a private on the fourth floor that had power outlets. Over-all this is a very average hostel if you have been to one before. The main benefits are it is close to bars and clubs, free wifi, and free breakfast.
  • 63%
  • 05 Jan 2014 Anonymous USA
  • Pros: good location! We were able to walk everywhere we wanted to and the number 16 bus coming from the airport literally drops you off right across the street! Public kitchen - this was VERY helpful because we didn't need to eat out ever. Cons: no lockers in room/had to pay for ones in the lobby, not a very lively atmosphere, I was hoping for a younger crowd but instead there were a lot of middle aged people. Staff was knowledgeable but not very enthusiastic. Mixed gender bathrooms - weird
  • 77%
  • 01 Nov 2013 madison USA
City Guides and Information

Video guides, travel podcasts, city maps & free city guides. What to eat, where to stay and things to do and see - our travel guides have it all.

Find a guide »
Latest Blog Post

Using an InterRail pass (for EU residents) or a Eurail pass (for non-EU) is the perfect way to easily check off all the dreamy European destinations on your travel bucket list. Ride the rails like a pro with these five tips.

Read more »
Great Value and Choice

We offer the most comprehensive selection of hostels on the internet with over 35,000 great places to stay in 180 countries. The ultimate online resource for hostels everywhere.

Find great value hostels »