See other Dublin properties

Avalon House

55 Aungier Street, Dublin 2, Dublin, Ireland, Distance from city centre: 1.3km

Rating: 72% from 23 reviews

  • 71%Atmosphere
  • 77%Staff
  • 73%Security
  • 67%Cleanliness
  • 83%Location
  • 70%Value for money
  • 61%Facilities

Real Reviews

Real reviews from fellow travellers

These are trusted reviews from guests who have actually stayed here. We hope you find them helpful.

Note: we only give a property a rating once it has received a minimum of 3 reviews.

  • Sort By:
  • Traveler Type:
  • Age:
  • Nice place, clean and right next to a good bar. The hostel isn´t a far walk from Temple Bar, either.
  • 86%
  • 21 Nov 2014 William USA
  • Workers should know more informations abou stuff in Dublin....
  • 69%
  • 17 Oct 2014 Maja Mara Bosnia And Herzegovina
  • Stayed in the Avalon Room and the roof in the middle was leaking. They did not provide a lock to the locker, and in general the staff seemed indifferent.
  • 54%
  • 03 Oct 2014 Qilong USA
  • Average hostel, nothing special, a bit dated, mattresses on the beds are a bit slim and so not that comfortable. No free tea or coffee on offer, no smoking area, no alcohol allowed to be drunk on the premesis. It's is cheap though in relations to other hostels and it is in a v good location and the staff are nice.
  • 74%
  • 05 Sep 2014 Anonymous Ireland
  • Nice Hostel but the wifi was a bit slow.
  • 86%
  • 24 Jul 2014 Anonymous Ireland
  • The bathrooms were not kept that clean. The kitchen was also a bit mucky. The staff was friendly but the atmosphere overall was impersonal. More like a hotel rather than a friendly hostel. I stayed four nights and did not interact with any other travelers.
  • 66%
  • 30 Jun 2014 Anonymous USA
  • Clean, great location and fair prices. I recommend.
  • 94%
  • 21 Jun 2014 Marta Poland
  • My room was extremely tiny. It had only a single bed, a chair and a few hangers. My luggage could barely fit in!! Moreover, I went early to the hostel, I was told that I could enter my room after 14.00. An hour later someone came and without knocking the door, tried to unlock and wanted to repair my bed. Couldn't they have fixed before? Although there is a cafe with lots of pastries-sandwiches inside the hostel, the free breakfast included ONLY bread, butter and a red jam! Very disappointed.
  • 46%
  • 05 Jun 2014 Evangelia Greece
  • Smelled terrible.
  • 46%
  • 19 May 2014 Anonymous USA
  • The room is so small that I can hardly move. AND at night i saw someone naked in the hallway.. It was awful
  • 54%
  • 04 May 2014 Anonymous South Korea
City Guides and Information

Video guides, travel podcasts, city maps & free city guides. What to eat, where to stay and things to do and see - our travel guides have it all.

Find a guide »
Latest Blog Post

Some people can take a two week holiday and spend every day relaxing at the beach. Some prefer the beach to do activities, take a jog first thing in the morning, party at night...

Read more »
Great Value and Choice

We offer the most comprehensive selection of hostels on the internet with over 35,000 great places to stay in 180 countries. The ultimate online resource for hostels everywhere.

Find great value hostels »