See other Dublin properties

Avalon House

55 Aungier Street, Dublin 2, Dublin, Ireland, Distance from city centre: 1.3km

Rating: 75% from 41 reviews

  • 74%Atmosphere
  • 76%Staff
  • 79%Security
  • 74%Cleanliness
  • 81%Location
  • 73%Value for money
  • 69%Facilities

Real Reviews

Real reviews from fellow travellers

These are trusted reviews from guests who have actually stayed here. We hope you find them helpful.

Note: we only give a property a rating once it has received a minimum of 3 reviews.

  • Sort By:
  • Traveler Type:
  • Age:
  • Worst experience ever, too noisy and dirty , won't be staying again
  • 20%
  • 01 Nov 2016 Anonymous Nepal
  • The Avalon Hostel is awesome!!! The only drawback it has is that the location is inbetween major bus stops so prepare to hike a bit to get there. Great atmosphere and very friendly and helpful staff! The bed was really hard but splurging on a private room meant I had my own bathroom which was so nice. Lockers are only 2 euros and there is free wifi! They have free maps of Dublin and will help point out places you are looking for. Within walking distance to St Stephans Green!
  • 89%
  • 23 Oct 2016 Anonymous USA
  • I lost my stuff   I LOST MY CLOTHES AND MY Notbook CAREGADOR   KEYBOARD AND ATE NOW NOT FOUND
  • 74%
  • 18 Oct 2016 ERNESTO Angola
  • Thank's Avalon for welcoming us. Special thank's to Ludo at the reception desk for kindness and for helping us with important information.
  • 94%
  • 20 Sep 2016 Anonymous Romania
  • Room was clean and good. Atmosphere great, lovely building in great location. Staff really nice. WIFI IS BAD. Also, shower a little tiny but not a problem for me. The fact that wifi was bad was a problem. Everything else was fine.
  • 80%
  • 20 Sep 2016 Anonymous Argentina
  • It is a big hostel and has little personal note. Although everything is organized very good, we didn't feel very comfortable.
  • 69%
  • 19 Sep 2016 Anonymous Slovenia
  • My biggest complaint is that there are no bed railings on top bunk. I could not sleep for fear of falling. 3rd floor room was a bit better than 4th floor and washroom was clean and gender specific.
  • 69%
  • 18 Sep 2016 Anonymous Canada
  • It would be useful to allot automatically un lower berth to elderly people. They usually have a problem and also the risk of an accident especcially at night is huge.
  • 100%
  • 13 Sep 2016 Peter Netherlands
  • The common rooms are great. The staff is nice and helpful. Love that we could rent a locker so we didn't have to carry our bags after and before checkout. The bathrooms, ugh. Dirty and smelly and far and in between. I hate common bathrooms. Makes everybody uncomfortable. I thought I'd like mixed dorms because I was traveling with my bf, but we were with two other girls and they were walking around in bras and thongs. I thought it was very inappropriate and disrespectful, but maybe that's me.
  • 71%
  • 04 Sep 2016 Anonymous Canada
  • Rooms have only 4 beds and their own bathrooms which is great. The ability to store your luggage for a whole day after leaving is very good as well. However the WiFi is not reliable, had to use mobile internet anyway most of the time. Also not being allowed to drink there is something I've never seen in a hostel before and I don't understand it either.
  • 71%
  • 31 Aug 2016 Anonymous Netherlands
City Guides and Information

Video guides, travel podcasts, city maps & free city guides. What to eat, where to stay and things to do and see - our travel guides have it all.

Find a guide »
Latest Blog Post

Amsterdam is a playground for the weird and wonderful. Sometimes nothing seems mundane in this buzzing city. There will always be a never-ending list of quirky and offbeat thing...

Read more »
Great Value and Choice

We offer the most comprehensive selection of hostels on the internet with over 33,000 great places to stay in 170 countries. The ultimate online resource for hostels everywhere.

Find great value hostels »