See other Dublin properties

Avalon House

55 Aungier Street, Dublin 2, Dublin, Ireland, Distance from city centre: 1.3km

Rating: 73% from 32 reviews

  • 71%Atmosphere
  • 75%Staff
  • 75%Security
  • 71%Cleanliness
  • 80%Location
  • 72%Value for money
  • 65%Facilities

Real Reviews

Real reviews from fellow travellers

These are trusted reviews from guests who have actually stayed here. We hope you find them helpful.

Note: we only give a property a rating once it has received a minimum of 3 reviews.

  • Sort By:
  • Traveler Type:
  • Age:
  • Very close to city center and the transportation.. very knowledgable crew with the area.. like they can read your thoughts and recommend the places for you. Very freindly especially the Romanian night guy!!
  • 100%
  • 18 May 2017 ghaleb Israel
  • I think the Internet service (wifi) needs to be improved. I also believe that security cabinets should be inside each room and not in a separate area. Finally I think that the breakfast service should be improved.
  • 74%
  • 04 May 2017 Anonymous Italy
  • You might want to give the people, sleeping in a 12-person bedroom, the opportunity, to open some windows. It was the first time, I was actually afraid I might suffocate ;)
  • 54%
  • 29 Mar 2017 Franziska Germany
  • No hot water, the place was a safety risk don't know how the have a fire cert for the apartment we were in
  • 29%
  • 18 Mar 2017 Eamonn Ireland
  • all right
  • 83%
  • 27 Jan 2017 David Spain
  • Worst experience ever, too noisy and dirty , won't be staying again
  • 20%
  • 01 Nov 2016 Anonymous Nepal
  • The Avalon Hostel is awesome!!! The only drawback it has is that the location is inbetween major bus stops so prepare to hike a bit to get there. Great atmosphere and very friendly and helpful staff! The bed was really hard but splurging on a private room meant I had my own bathroom which was so nice. Lockers are only 2 euros and there is free wifi! They have free maps of Dublin and will help point out places you are looking for. Within walking distance to St Stephans Green!
  • 89%
  • 23 Oct 2016 Anonymous USA
  • I lost my stuff   I LOST MY CLOTHES AND MY Notbook CAREGADOR   KEYBOARD AND ATE NOW NOT FOUND
  • 74%
  • 18 Oct 2016 ERNESTO Angola
  • Thank's Avalon for welcoming us. Special thank's to Ludo at the reception desk for kindness and for helping us with important information.
  • 94%
  • 20 Sep 2016 Anonymous Romania
  • Room was clean and good. Atmosphere great, lovely building in great location. Staff really nice. WIFI IS BAD. Also, shower a little tiny but not a problem for me. The fact that wifi was bad was a problem. Everything else was fine.
  • 80%
  • 20 Sep 2016 Anonymous Argentina
City Guides and Information

Video guides, travel podcasts, city maps & free city guides. What to eat, where to stay and things to do and see - our travel guides have it all.

Find a guide »
Latest Blog Post

We want to make sure that you get to explore as much of Paris as possible and that includes the nightlife scene. We've compiled some of the best places in Paris to check out if ...

Read more »
Great Value and Choice

We offer the most comprehensive selection of hostels on the internet with over 33,000 great places to stay in 170 countries. The ultimate online resource for hostels everywhere.

Find great value hostels »