See other Dublin properties

Avalon House

55 Aungier Street, Dublin 2, Dublin, Ireland, Distance from city centre: 1.3km

Rating: 71% from 22 reviews

  • 68%Atmosphere
  • 75%Staff
  • 70%Security
  • 67%Cleanliness
  • 82%Location
  • 70%Value for money
  • 62%Facilities

Real Reviews

Real reviews from fellow travellers

These are trusted reviews from guests who have actually stayed here. We hope you find them helpful.

Note: we only give a property a rating once it has received a minimum of 3 reviews.

  • Sort By:
  • Traveler Type:
  • Age:
  • Overall this was a great stay. Well worth it. Best I've stayed at.
  • 91%
  • 15 Sep 2017 Josh
  • Common area is quite small and less cosy. Bathrooms are quite old, looks more or less clean, but not very nice. Rooms have not many room to store your luggage. Very few sockets as well. Breakfast is all right, the typical roast and jam variation.
  • 60%
  • 17 Aug 2017 Anonymous Denmark
  • Shittiest place i have ever seen, too hot at night, blood on my matelas, you can hear the neighbourgs, showrrs and toilettes have a weird smell,... but to be fair, the kitchen is modern and well equiped, the breakfeast is also good.
  • 46%
  • 28 May 2017 Marc Belgium
  • During our stay, we overheard several men in our room looking for an empty bed to sleep in. They asked us if the beds next to us were empty, so we felt that they did not reserve a bed in advance and were trying to sleep for free. Also, when returning to the hostel, I was asked to show my receipt for my bed, but my partner did not have to show his, which could allow non-guests to easily enter with paying guests.
  • 74%
  • 20 May 2017 Anonymous USA
  • Very close to city center and the transportation.. very knowledgable crew with the area.. like they can read your thoughts and recommend the places for you. Very freindly especially the Romanian night guy!!
  • 100%
  • 18 May 2017 ghaleb Israel
  • I think the Internet service (wifi) needs to be improved. I also believe that security cabinets should be inside each room and not in a separate area. Finally I think that the breakfast service should be improved.
  • 74%
  • 04 May 2017 Anonymous Italy
  • You might want to give the people, sleeping in a 12-person bedroom, the opportunity, to open some windows. It was the first time, I was actually afraid I might suffocate ;)
  • 54%
  • 29 Mar 2017 Franziska Germany
  • No hot water, the place was a safety risk don't know how the have a fire cert for the apartment we were in
  • 29%
  • 18 Mar 2017 Eamonn Ireland
  • all right
  • 83%
  • 27 Jan 2017 David Spain
  • Worst experience ever, too noisy and dirty , won't be staying again
  • 20%
  • 01 Nov 2016 Anonymous Nepal
City Guides and Information

Video guides, travel podcasts, city maps & free city guides. What to eat, where to stay and things to do and see - our travel guides have it all.

Find a guide »
Latest Blog Post

We want to make sure that you get to explore as much of Paris as possible and that includes the nightlife scene. We've compiled some of the best places in Paris to check out if ...

Read more »
Great Value and Choice

We offer the most comprehensive selection of hostels on the internet with over 33,000 great places to stay in 170 countries. The ultimate online resource for hostels everywhere.

Find great value hostels »