See other Dublin properties

Avalon House

55 Aungier Street, Dublin 2, Dublin, Ireland, Distance from city centre: 1.3km

Rating: 80% from 20 reviews

  • 82%Atmosphere
  • 86%Staff
  • 81%Security
  • 79%Cleanliness
  • 88%Location
  • 76%Value for money
  • 74%Facilities

Real Reviews

Real reviews from fellow travellers

These are trusted reviews from guests who have actually stayed here. We hope you find them helpful.

Note: we only give a property a rating once it has received a minimum of 3 reviews.

  • Sort By:
  • Traveler Type:
  • Age:
  • JANNET, what an amazing girl you are !! She was in reception when I asked her to reset the lift as it was not working. She told me that unfortunate it will take a while to use it back again; and she offered me to go UP 3 floors up and check for my glasses as I couldn't find them. THAT WAS SOMETHING VERY HELPFULL, UNUSUAL AND VERY NICE !! MANY THANKS JANNET!!
  • 100%
  • 29 Jan 2016 Anonymous Italy
  • I suggest this hostel to anyone! Very great location! Very clean and the employs were very friendly
  • 100%
  • 21 Dec 2015 Dimitrios Greece
  • The hostel was well located, all major points were within walking distance. My husband and I stayed in a private twin room with shared bathroom. The beds were very uncomfortable. We stayed there for three days and our towels and sheets were never changed. The bathrooms were clean. The showers were a bit small and you had to keep pressing for water. The breakfast said to be continental but was not at all! It offered just bread, cereals, coffee (which you had to prepare), milk, butter and jam.
  • 54%
  • 28 Nov 2015 Florencia Uruguay
  • My first visit to dublin and first visit to a hostel! I loved it!
  • 86%
  • 15 Oct 2015 Anonymous Pakistan
  • Generally a comfortable hostel...The bedrooms, (some/all ?), are well lit all night from the hall light, disturbing to me, I like a dark bedroom. Hot water shower, where?? I waited 10 minutes for hot water shower...slightly warm. And the 'push every 20 seconds button' in the shower is a pain!!
  • 74%
  • 27 Aug 2015 Anonymous USA
  • Good location and reasonable rates are let down by the level of noise in the hostel. Most of the people who stay here tend to be young student backpackers who aren't considerate of other guests. I spent the night of my stay being kept awake by noise. The water pressure in the shower was weak. If you are looking for a budget hostel close to everything in Dublin then this is a good choice but just be careful if you are looking for somewhere quiet.
  • 71%
  • 18 Jun 2015 Anonymous Ireland
  • Great price, Staff were really helpful, stuff like I forgot my phone charger and they really cared about finding me one and let me charge it at reception. Also my friend and I wanted to change beds in our room (- to two other beds located on a split level in our dorm) and there was no problem with sorting it out for us. We were both very happy with our stay there.
  • 89%
  • 15 Jun 2015 Margo Ireland
  • The hostel may be a little far from Temple Bar and O'Connell Street, but it is a very nice place to stay!
  • 97%
  • 04 Apr 2015 Isabel Brazil
City Guides and Information

Video guides, travel podcasts, city maps & free city guides. What to eat, where to stay and things to do and see - our travel guides have it all.

Find a guide »
Latest Blog Post

The epitome of culinary richness, Marrakesh -the heart of the red city, is a foodies wonderland

Read more »
Great Value and Choice

We offer the most comprehensive selection of hostels on the internet with over 33,000 great places to stay in 170 countries. The ultimate online resource for hostels everywhere.

Find great value hostels »