See other Dublin properties

Avalon House

55 Aungier Street, Dublin 2, Dublin, Ireland, Distance from city centre: 1.3km

Rating: 76% from 25 reviews

  • 74%Atmosphere
  • 78%Staff
  • 77%Security
  • 74%Cleanliness
  • 86%Location
  • 72%Value for money
  • 69%Facilities

Real Reviews

Real reviews from fellow travellers

These are trusted reviews from guests who have actually stayed here. We hope you find them helpful.

Note: we only give a property a rating once it has received a minimum of 3 reviews.

  • Sort By:
  • Traveler Type:
  • Age:
  • The staff may be smiling once in a while. Guest don,t have responsibility about their problems.
  • 43%
  • 16 Apr 2016 Daniel Spain
  • Good hostel. many facilities and services available. Been in avalon room and it was good room. At night need to show reservation ticket (given on check in) to confirm that you are there and get in (security). Only stay one night but it seems that it has lots to offer.
  • 91%
  • 15 Apr 2016 Anonymous Portugal
  • Alcohol was forbidden which is quite annoying if you want to have a beer for dinner and a pint in a pub coasts 6€+. Cards for the rooms stopped working very often although we kept them away from our mobiles.
  • 71%
  • 04 Apr 2016 Anonymous Germany
  • cheap as it is, this hostel is still a rip-off. We stayed in a room without any windows or ventilation of any kind. Everybody was complaining about the humidity and the smell, it was horrible. The facilities are beyond disgusting and most of them are not even functional. The common area is very small and The "luggage storage" (that they make you pay for) is not safe, they first gave us the key of someone else locker, we could have robbed everything. The staff is rude and not professional.
  • 20%
  • 31 Mar 2016 Pamela Canada
  • I stayed one night in the Hostel and I was not impressed. Poor soundproofing,I could hear noise from outside and pipes.
  • 66%
  • 29 Mar 2016 Alexandre Brazil
  • My experience in Avalon's House was very positive. The hostel is located 10 min by walk from the center and make it the perfect place for visiting the city. The staff is nice and cosmopolite, they have been very nice helping us. The atmosphere is very good, everyone was respectful and polite. Two little thing: the wifi in the dorm was weak, nothing irreparable, but better go in the hall if you want to write some mails; the breakfast was good but there was no fruit :( For the rest, very good.
  • 86%
  • 05 Feb 2016 Lucrezia Marta Italy
  • JANNET, what an amazing girl you are !! She was in reception when I asked her to reset the lift as it was not working. She told me that unfortunate it will take a while to use it back again; and she offered me to go UP 3 floors up and check for my glasses as I couldn't find them. THAT WAS SOMETHING VERY HELPFULL, UNUSUAL AND VERY NICE !! MANY THANKS JANNET!!
  • 100%
  • 29 Jan 2016 Anonymous Italy
  • I suggest this hostel to anyone! Very great location! Very clean and the employs were very friendly
  • 100%
  • 21 Dec 2015 Dimitrios Greece
  • The hostel was well located, all major points were within walking distance. My husband and I stayed in a private twin room with shared bathroom. The beds were very uncomfortable. We stayed there for three days and our towels and sheets were never changed. The bathrooms were clean. The showers were a bit small and you had to keep pressing for water. The breakfast said to be continental but was not at all! It offered just bread, cereals, coffee (which you had to prepare), milk, butter and jam.
  • 54%
  • 28 Nov 2015 Florencia Uruguay
  • My first visit to dublin and first visit to a hostel! I loved it!
  • 86%
  • 15 Oct 2015 Anonymous Pakistan
City Guides and Information

Video guides, travel podcasts, city maps & free city guides. What to eat, where to stay and things to do and see - our travel guides have it all.

Find a guide »
Latest Blog Post

If you're travelling on a budget, staying in hostels can be a lifeline. We've put together a few tips for saving money by cooking up a storm in hostel kitchens!

Read more »
Great Value and Choice

We offer the most comprehensive selection of hostels on the internet with over 33,000 great places to stay in 170 countries. The ultimate online resource for hostels everywhere.

Find great value hostels »