See other Dublin properties

Avalon House

55 Aungier Street, Dublin 2, Dublin, Ireland, Distance from city centre: 1.3km

Rating: 76% from 30 reviews

  • 78%Atmosphere
  • 76%Staff
  • 80%Security
  • 73%Cleanliness
  • 86%Location
  • 70%Value for money
  • 71%Facilities

Real Reviews

Real reviews from fellow travellers

These are trusted reviews from guests who have actually stayed here. We hope you find them helpful.

Note: we only give a property a rating once it has received a minimum of 3 reviews.

  • Sort By:
  • Traveler Type:
  • Age:
  • For a hostel with a decent common space, the social scene was a bit quiet. That being said, clean beds, well maintained facilities, and useful staff made the stay very enjoyable. A bit pricey compared to other options in Dublin.
  • 83%
  • 20 May 2016 Sam USA
  • We only stayed the one night, but overall a good experience - choice of breakfast was simple, my partner said the coffee for that wasn't so tasty (but being joined with the cafe, it's only a couple of euros to get a better one!) The only thing we weren't keen on was the room for 4 people was way too small.. we barely slept because of the heat in there, 4 people sleeping in close proximity to each other creates way too much body heat. And the beds were pretty noisy. Rest of the hostel is lovely!
  • 77%
  • 16 May 2016 Zoe Wales
  • My boyfriend and I stayed in a double twin room but still got a good feel of the atmosphere created at the hostel. Would definitely recommend staying here! Awesome vibe:)
  • 100%
  • 29 Apr 2016 Sadi South Africa
  • The staff may be smiling once in a while. Guest don,t have responsibility about their problems.
  • 43%
  • 16 Apr 2016 Daniel Spain
  • Good hostel. many facilities and services available. Been in avalon room and it was good room. At night need to show reservation ticket (given on check in) to confirm that you are there and get in (security). Only stay one night but it seems that it has lots to offer.
  • 91%
  • 15 Apr 2016 Anonymous Portugal
  • Alcohol was forbidden which is quite annoying if you want to have a beer for dinner and a pint in a pub coasts 6€+. Cards for the rooms stopped working very often although we kept them away from our mobiles.
  • 71%
  • 04 Apr 2016 Anonymous Germany
  • Poor reception service for a first time visitor. I liked the environment however the quality of rooms are not value for money if you have to occupy a single room. Thank you
  • 71%
  • 02 Apr 2016 Anonymous
  • cheap as it is, this hostel is still a rip-off. We stayed in a room without any windows or ventilation of any kind. Everybody was complaining about the humidity and the smell, it was horrible. The facilities are beyond disgusting and most of them are not even functional. The common area is very small and The "luggage storage" (that they make you pay for) is not safe, they first gave us the key of someone else locker, we could have robbed everything. The staff is rude and not professional.
  • 20%
  • 31 Mar 2016 Pamela Canada
  • I stayed one night in the Hostel and I was not impressed. Poor soundproofing,I could hear noise from outside and pipes.
  • 66%
  • 29 Mar 2016 Alexandre Brazil
  • My experience in Avalon's House was very positive. The hostel is located 10 min by walk from the center and make it the perfect place for visiting the city. The staff is nice and cosmopolite, they have been very nice helping us. The atmosphere is very good, everyone was respectful and polite. Two little thing: the wifi in the dorm was weak, nothing irreparable, but better go in the hall if you want to write some mails; the breakfast was good but there was no fruit :( For the rest, very good.
  • 86%
  • 05 Feb 2016 Lucrezia Marta Italy
City Guides and Information

Video guides, travel podcasts, city maps & free city guides. What to eat, where to stay and things to do and see - our travel guides have it all.

Find a guide »
Latest Blog Post

There are so many areas in London waiting to be explored. One of the best parts is that many people don't bother looking for the quirky places that you don't often hear about. ...

Read more »
Great Value and Choice

We offer the most comprehensive selection of hostels on the internet with over 33,000 great places to stay in 170 countries. The ultimate online resource for hostels everywhere.

Find great value hostels »