See other Salt Lake City properties

Avenues Hostel

107 F Street,, Salt Lake City, USA, Distance from city centre: 1.7km

Rating: 67% from 14 reviews

  • 60%Atmosphere
  • 60%Staff
  • 65%Security
  • 74%Cleanliness
  • 78%Location
  • 68%Value for money
  • 62%Facilities

Real Reviews

Real reviews from fellow travellers

These are trusted reviews from guests who have actually stayed here. We hope you find them helpful.

Note: we only give a property a rating once it has received a minimum of 3 reviews.

  • Sort By:
  • Traveler Type:
  • Age:
  • Hostel was nice overall. Staff is not super friendly but that's ok. I was disappointed to be charged 5USD for them to keep my backpack until 4pm at checkout (and 5 more if I had left it until 10pm). I'd prefer not to have a cable TV in the room and have freee luggage storage, after all this is a hoStel not a hotel!
  • 71%
  • 22 Sep 2014 Anonymous France
  • Overall this was a good experience, but not the best. The location is nice and quiet and the beds are comfy and clean. That being said, the staff was a bit dismissive. The guy I got at check-out really just didn't want to be there. I think the worst part though was the showers. If anyone flushed any toilet (boys or girls), the water temp dropped out. Now consider the fact that there are at least 8 toilets I can think of, that makes for a lot of chances. Had to shower at night just to avoid this.
  • 74%
  • 12 Sep 2014 Anonymous USA
  • Lovely place, super cheap!! Of all the hostels I've stayed in, this one had the thickest mattresses. Free breakfast and friendly staff also a bonus. Room was fairly simple and the top bunks had no ladders, but very good place to stay other than that
  • 83%
  • 15 Aug 2014 Timothy Australia
  • Good location and friendly staff. The back door is always open even when the staff is not there, which is a bit concerning from the security standpoint. The staff is not there 24 hours a day and you can't check out before 7:30 am, so be mindful of that.
  • 74%
  • 10 Aug 2014 Anonymous USA
  • I guess I was surprised to find a semi-permanent resident in our room who has his own part of the room, but he was cool so no problems there. All in all a good experience and nothing to complain about.
  • 80%
  • 08 Aug 2014 Anonymous Germany
  • + There are only four beds each room + good Wifi + position of the Hostel - near Temple Square - no locks for bags - bathroom with only curtain for the restrooms - TV's in some rooms and therefore some guests watch TV (with loud sound) at least at 00:00 am
  • 60%
  • 27 Jul 2014 Anonymous Austria
  • the building itself is actually pretty neat however it does not look like they did any remodeling just took an old office building and made rooms out of it.
  • 49%
  • 19 Jul 2014 alanna
  • everything cost extra, towels, etc. plus breakfast is minimum to coffee and cereal.
  • 74%
  • 11 Jun 2014 Richard USA
  • Staff were cold and very non-responsive. They knew very little about the area and couldn't recommend a place to buy a pad lock. Hostel focal point was television community not actual community. Rooms were clean, but lacked any bedding beyond basic sheets. Breakfast was slim.
  • 54%
  • 08 May 2014 Zed USA
  • I liked this hostel. It is a very good location. It is in a quiet neighborhood but is still within walking distance of Downtown Salt Lake as well as public transportation. It is only two blocks from a large Kroger store as well as coffee shops and restaurants. It was also nice to have coffee, eggs, cereal, milk, bread etc. available for breakfast at no additional charge.
  • 86%
  • 03 May 2014 James Scotland
City Guides and Information

Video guides, travel podcasts, city maps & free city guides. What to eat, where to stay and things to do and see - our travel guides have it all.

Find a guide »
Latest Blog Post

A time for indulging and spending time with family, it's no wonder that some of the world's best foods make an appearance during Christmas. Here are some of the world's most mou...

Read more »
Great Value and Choice

We offer the most comprehensive selection of hostels on the internet with over 35,000 great places to stay in 180 countries. The ultimate online resource for hostels everywhere.

Find great value hostels »