See other Kyoto properties

A-yado Gion

3F Sakura bldg., 244-2, Nakano-cho, 2 chome, Shinm, Kyoto, Japan, Distance from city centre: 0.9km

Rating: 89% from 46 reviews

  • 86%Atmosphere
  • 92%Staff
  • 82%Security
  • 88%Cleanliness
  • 92%Location
  • 94%Value for money
  • 86%Facilities

Real Reviews

Real reviews from fellow travellers

These are trusted reviews from guests who have actually stayed here. We hope you find them helpful.

Note: we only give a property a rating once it has received a minimum of 3 reviews.

  • Sort By:
  • Traveler Type:
  • Age:
  • Completely satisfied.
  • 86%
  • 23 Sep 2015 Uri Mexico
  • It's in a nice area and the hostel is fairly clean with the basic toiletries. I read some good and bad reviews before arriving and had my reservations but upon staying, I think it is great value for money. They put me on a bunk bed with another female traveller which I was thankful for as I had to make a reservation for the mixed dorm. In the room itself, everyone gets a small locker for valuables so I think security is pretty well taken care off.
  • 83%
  • 21 Sep 2015 Anonymous Singapore
  • Great location and it was great to sleep in a room just for girls. When I walked in and saw all pink and calm I've wanted to sleep there. The bed is very comfortable as the blanket. Maybe it was not the cleanest place I've ever been , but it is totally acceptable. I wish I could stay one more night there, because the atmosphere and the staff were very kind.
  • 97%
  • 29 Aug 2015 Luisa Brazil
  • Hope ayado gion improve their security measures.this is because I lost some of my belongings during my stay in ayado..eventhough the belongings that I Iost are not valuable but I hope the security can be improved and enhanced..
  • 54%
  • 26 Aug 2015 boey Malaysia
  • - Making it clear that the hostel is on the 3-5 floor of the "Sakura Building" would make the place easier to find -/+ light on the bunk was VERY dim + I was very impressed with how willing the staff was to help out/give directions/look up fastest bus routes etc + A multitude of options of cheap food/drinks available for purchase in the lounge + A great place to meet fellow travelers and share stories!
  • 91%
  • 02 Aug 2015 Anonymous USA
  • We had a very pleasant stay. Thank you for providing such good value for money drinks and snacks. Please keep up the good work! Will definitely stay here again the next time i am in kyoto.
  • 94%
  • 09 Jul 2015 Anonymous Malaysia
  • The staff was amazing, and the location was fantastic. For 2000 yen you can't expect much, but they provided more than adequate services for the money they charge. It would be nice if the doors to the dorm rooms were a bit thicker/more sound proof. But other than that I had a great stay.
  • 83%
  • 03 Jul 2015 phillip USA
  • Our stay there was fantastic. I recommend it to everybody.
  • 100%
  • 21 Jun 2015 Claudia Spain
  • very nice experience in Kyoto. cheap price and nice hostel. good location. the staff is very helpful.
  • 94%
  • 20 Jun 2015 Anonymous Hong Kong
  • I really enjoyed this hostel. It is very easy to find along with being in a great central location for sight seeing in Kyoto. The staff was also very nice and helpful.
  • 100%
  • 16 Jun 2015 Anonymous USA
City Guides and Information

Video guides, travel podcasts, city maps & free city guides. What to eat, where to stay and things to do and see - our travel guides have it all.

Find a guide »
Latest Blog Post

The epitome of culinary richness, Marrakesh -the heart of the red city, is a foodies wonderland

Read more »
Great Value and Choice

We offer the most comprehensive selection of hostels on the internet with over 33,000 great places to stay in 170 countries. The ultimate online resource for hostels everywhere.

Find great value hostels »