See other Kyoto properties

A-yado Gion

3F Sakura bldg., 244-2, Nakano-cho, 2 chome, Shinm, Kyoto, Japan, Distance from city centre: 0.9km

Rating: 90% from 38 reviews

  • 90%Atmosphere
  • 93%Staff
  • 83%Security
  • 90%Cleanliness
  • 94%Location
  • 93%Value for money
  • 87%Facilities

Real Reviews

Real reviews from fellow travellers

These are trusted reviews from guests who have actually stayed here. We hope you find them helpful.

Note: we only give a property a rating once it has received a minimum of 3 reviews.

  • Sort By:
  • Traveler Type:
  • Age:
  • cheap price.good facility.friendly english speaking staff.good service.5 star from me
  • 100%
  • 22 Jan 2015 Anonymous Malaysia
  • I thought Ayado was great. The location was actually quite perfect. I spent a total of three days in Kyoto and was able to walk to a few of the tourist attractions, and of course there is always the buses and trains. The hostel itself was great for the price. If I go back to Kyoto I would stay at Ayado again!
  • 89%
  • 10 Jan 2015 Anonymous USA
  • Nice stay, very close to the city center. Well organized and a very friendly environment
  • 86%
  • 25 Nov 2014 Antonio Italy
  • Perfect location
  • 86%
  • 30 Oct 2014 Simo-Mikael Finland
  • What a great deal. Located in the heart of Kyoto's Gion district, Ayado is close to bus and subway lines and an easy walk to many of Kyoto's prime shopping streets and tourist sites. Walking to the bus or subway lines takes you through historic housing areas and back in time. The Ayado is a ferro-concrete five story structure with dorm beds that have curtains on each bed. The common room has a microwave, laundry, stocks of cheap noodles and snacks and tour book library. I'd stay again.
  • 91%
  • 27 Oct 2014 John US Virgin Islands
  • Great place to stay! Laundry available, which was great during the typhoon closures. Friendly staff. Bread is provided in the morning. Close to the bus routes, making it easy to get around Kyoto.
  • 94%
  • 12 Oct 2014 Anonymous Canada
  • Great hostel in lovely part of Kyoto called Gion! Great dorm although the night i stayed i was kept awake the whole night by 2 snoring idiots?? Left the hostel at 6am due to snoring but this made for a wonderful quiet time around Giesha town! Great staff! Good dorm with good shower and nice duvets however the A/C on all night makes things a bit cold? Good pc with free internet and hot water and microwave to cook noodles which they sell among other food items and drinks! Really good place!
  • 91%
  • 11 Sep 2014 Anonymous England
  • It is in an OK location and is definitely a cheap place to stay in Japan. Not exactly capsules but rather just bunk beds. The location was good and it had a kitchen available which is always a plus!
  • 66%
  • 31 Aug 2014 Anonymous USA
  • The staff are great! They have been helpful in many things including selling bus tickets at a lower price.
  • 80%
  • 14 Aug 2014 Victorio Philippines
  • Great staff, great place, look for the sign up high on the corner of the building.
  • 97%
  • 10 Aug 2014 Tommy Sweden
City Guides and Information

Video guides, travel podcasts, city maps & free city guides. What to eat, where to stay and things to do and see - our travel guides have it all.

Find a guide »
Latest Blog Post

4 Southern Hemisphere Trips to do Before you Die

Read more »
Great Value and Choice

We offer the most comprehensive selection of hostels on the internet with over 35,000 great places to stay in 180 countries. The ultimate online resource for hostels everywhere.

Find great value hostels »