See other Kyoto properties

A-yado Gion

3F Sakura bldg., 244-2, Nakano-cho, 2 chome, Shinm, Kyoto, Japan, Distance from city centre: 0.9km

Rating: 90% from 40 reviews

  • 88%Atmosphere
  • 92%Staff
  • 84%Security
  • 91%Cleanliness
  • 95%Location
  • 94%Value for money
  • 87%Facilities

Real Reviews

Real reviews from fellow travellers

These are trusted reviews from guests who have actually stayed here. We hope you find them helpful.

Note: we only give a property a rating once it has received a minimum of 3 reviews.

  • Sort By:
  • Traveler Type:
  • Age:
  • very nice experience in Kyoto. cheap price and nice hostel. good location. the staff is very helpful.
  • 94%
  • 20 Jun 2015 Anonymous Hong Kong
  • I really enjoyed this hostel. It is very easy to find along with being in a great central location for sight seeing in Kyoto. The staff was also very nice and helpful.
  • 100%
  • 16 Jun 2015 Anonymous USA
  • I had the best time of my trip so far at Ayado. Everyone is really friendly and the location is perfect!
  • 100%
  • 28 May 2015 Skylar USA
  • Absolutely fantastic hostel, one of the best we found in Japan. I love the upstairs lounge, it's great to have room to get organized. The small kitchen and washing machine are also game changers. The only thing missing would be a hot plate to cook some meals, but I understand that it might not be safe to use without supervision. As for staff and location, simply perfect.
  • 100%
  • 11 May 2015 Maxime Canada
  • Staff couldn't figure out how to use their credit card machine to process my card, which was frustrating. In the end I had to use cash. No apology was offered for this frustration. Outside of this everything was clean and reasonable. We met some a pretty cool traveler in the hostel and went around town with them. facilities were better then most hostels and cleaner. Price was very reasonable for what you get.
  • 69%
  • 27 Apr 2015 Keith USA
  • I can't say enough good about the staff, they are very nice and helpful, Thankyou for the great stay i recommened this place without hesitation.
  • 94%
  • 16 Apr 2015 Eric Canada
  • I really enjoyed staying at A-yado Gion. Staff were very friendly and helpful. Dorms were cramped, but efforts had been made to create privacy which was a nice touch. Extremely good location close to bus and train stops. Would definitely reccomend this hostel to friends traveling to Kyoto!
  • 89%
  • 05 Apr 2015 Nicola Australia
  • Great location, but doesn't have a full kitchen, only a toaster oven and a microwave
  • 83%
  • 25 Mar 2015 Anonymous Canada
  • I really enjoyed my stay at A-yado in Gion. Not only were the rooms very clean, the staff was really nice and I got to talk with a lot of different people. The hostels location is perfect: close to bus stop, less then 5 min from Gion main street, close to a traditional street where you see Geisha walking around, taping of commercials, photo shoots in traditional sfeer. also close to the food market. best hostel till now.
  • 97%
  • 18 Mar 2015 Chelsey Belgium
  • Staying in this hostel made my trip extra special! The location is excellent for going sightseeing around Kyoto, the rooms were clean and the staff was extremely friendly. They spoke both English and Japanese, and gave good advice on all my questions regarding sightseeing, transportation etc. Only one problem: since everyone stays in the same room, there might be conflict between early birds and late sleepers. Still, I would recommend this hostel to anyone and I will definitely stay here again!
  • 97%
  • 06 Mar 2015 Anonymous Finland
City Guides and Information

Video guides, travel podcasts, city maps & free city guides. What to eat, where to stay and things to do and see - our travel guides have it all.

Find a guide »
Latest Blog Post

There's nothing like having your own transport to get around and when travelling the world it's no different.

Read more »
Great Value and Choice

We offer the most comprehensive selection of hostels on the internet with over 35,000 great places to stay in 180 countries. The ultimate online resource for hostels everywhere.

Find great value hostels »