See other Kyoto properties

A-yado Gion

3F Sakura bldg., 244-2, Nakano-cho, 2 chome, Shinm, Kyoto, Japan, Distance from city centre: 0.9km

Rating: 86% from 35 reviews

  • 84%Atmosphere
  • 91%Staff
  • 78%Security
  • 86%Cleanliness
  • 92%Location
  • 90%Value for money
  • 82%Facilities

Real Reviews

Real reviews from fellow travellers

These are trusted reviews from guests who have actually stayed here. We hope you find them helpful.

Note: we only give a property a rating once it has received a minimum of 3 reviews.

  • Sort By:
  • Traveler Type:
  • Age:
  • The location of this hostel is very convenient to start visiting the temples in Higashiyama, the staff is friendly and bound to help. But, since the bathroom and the sinks are inside the bedroom, sleeping in the morning can sometimes be impossible in a 12 girls small bedroom. And I also didn't really liked the fact, that Kyoto bus map is sold 20yens, whereas this map is supposed to be free and can be download on line for free. Even if 20yens is not much, why make a business out of it?
  • 83%
  • 07 Jun 2016 Anonymous France
  • low-cost snacks and drinks, a living room with stuff to read, internet and FREE COFFEE. that all in a traditional old corner of kyoto. little time and little money? you'll be at the best spot.
  • 86%
  • 09 Apr 2016 Rocco Italy
  • Good facilities and free slice of bread for breakfast, perfect with a cooked egg from 7 11 :) very accommodating staff that speak English and a lift to each floor which was a great luxury.
  • 97%
  • 02 Apr 2016 Anonymous Ireland
  • Friendly staff which let us park our bikes in the hallway but the hostel was weird. The rooms were packed with beds and the "relaxation area" was fairly small and poor.
  • 71%
  • 28 Mar 2016 Björn Germany
  • I liked the staff very mich i hope to go back (: And the rooms are so cute like girls room are pink
  • 86%
  • 22 Mar 2016 Kezia Michella Denmark
  • This is my second time staying at this hostel and it is still a nice place. Location is great and they have a nice common room. Dorm room is a bit cluttered.
  • 89%
  • 18 Jan 2016 Anonymous USA
  • VERY CLEAN. Female dorm is very small and can get crowded. Living room area is great and they offer instant noodles at 150yen among other things. Near a shrine and nightlife.
  • 91%
  • 20 Dec 2015 Kathleen USA
  • Best hostel I've ever stayed at. Location wonderful, staff amazing, common room is fun and well equipped. I loved my time here.
  • 100%
  • 07 Dec 2015 Anonymous Australia
  • Hostel was dark, dingy, unpleasant, unclean and cramped. Sheets were stained. NO room to move and nowhere to put your bags. The bathrooms were pokey, dark and not clean. Ten beds in the dorms, tells me that the owners are more interested in money than service, especially because others have commented and they have not reduced the number of beds. There was no natural light in the rooms- nothing like photos. Kitchen was messy.
  • 40%
  • 25 Nov 2015 Sharen Australia
  • Completely satisfied.
  • 86%
  • 23 Sep 2015 Uri Mexico
City Guides and Information

Video guides, travel podcasts, city maps & free city guides. What to eat, where to stay and things to do and see - our travel guides have it all.

Find a guide »
Latest Blog Post

It's not hard to find something free to do in New Zealand; you just have to look up! Here are five ideas of what to see in this marvellous country with no need to dip into your ...

Read more »
Great Value and Choice

We offer the most comprehensive selection of hostels on the internet with over 33,000 great places to stay in 170 countries. The ultimate online resource for hostels everywhere.

Find great value hostels »