See other Kyoto properties

A-yado Gion

3F Sakura bldg., 244-2, Nakano-cho, 2 chome, Shinm, Kyoto, Japan, Distance from city centre: 0.9km

Rating: 89% from 44 reviews

  • 87%Atmosphere
  • 92%Staff
  • 83%Security
  • 90%Cleanliness
  • 95%Location
  • 92%Value for money
  • 85%Facilities

Real Reviews

Real reviews from fellow travellers

These are trusted reviews from guests who have actually stayed here. We hope you find them helpful.

Note: we only give a property a rating once it has received a minimum of 3 reviews.

  • Sort By:
  • Traveler Type:
  • Age:
  • Staff couldn't figure out how to use their credit card machine to process my card, which was frustrating. In the end I had to use cash. No apology was offered for this frustration. Outside of this everything was clean and reasonable. We met some a pretty cool traveler in the hostel and went around town with them. facilities were better then most hostels and cleaner. Price was very reasonable for what you get.
  • 69%
  • 27 Apr 2015 Keith USA
  • I can't say enough good about the staff, they are very nice and helpful, Thankyou for the great stay i recommened this place without hesitation.
  • 94%
  • 16 Apr 2015 Eric Canada
  • I really enjoyed staying at A-yado Gion. Staff were very friendly and helpful. Dorms were cramped, but efforts had been made to create privacy which was a nice touch. Extremely good location close to bus and train stops. Would definitely reccomend this hostel to friends traveling to Kyoto!
  • 89%
  • 05 Apr 2015 Nicola Australia
  • Great location, but doesn't have a full kitchen, only a toaster oven and a microwave
  • 83%
  • 25 Mar 2015 Anonymous Canada
  • I really enjoyed my stay at A-yado in Gion. Not only were the rooms very clean, the staff was really nice and I got to talk with a lot of different people. The hostels location is perfect: close to bus stop, less then 5 min from Gion main street, close to a traditional street where you see Geisha walking around, taping of commercials, photo shoots in traditional sfeer. also close to the food market. best hostel till now.
  • 97%
  • 18 Mar 2015 Chelsey Belgium
  • Staying in this hostel made my trip extra special! The location is excellent for going sightseeing around Kyoto, the rooms were clean and the staff was extremely friendly. They spoke both English and Japanese, and gave good advice on all my questions regarding sightseeing, transportation etc. Only one problem: since everyone stays in the same room, there might be conflict between early birds and late sleepers. Still, I would recommend this hostel to anyone and I will definitely stay here again!
  • 97%
  • 06 Mar 2015 Anonymous Finland
  • hostel was good bery affirdable and excellent facilities at the same time! Oh also great location! Thanks!
  • 91%
  • 08 Feb 2015 SUNGHOON South Korea
  • Pros: excellent location, and for people staying in dorm the shower is in the room. Con's: the room for the dorm is very packed and not to much space left to move around.
  • 97%
  • 03 Feb 2015 brenda Mexico
  • cheap price.good facility.friendly english speaking staff.good service.5 star from me
  • 100%
  • 22 Jan 2015 Anonymous Malaysia
  • I thought Ayado was great. The location was actually quite perfect. I spent a total of three days in Kyoto and was able to walk to a few of the tourist attractions, and of course there is always the buses and trains. The hostel itself was great for the price. If I go back to Kyoto I would stay at Ayado again!
  • 89%
  • 10 Jan 2015 Anonymous USA
City Guides and Information

Video guides, travel podcasts, city maps & free city guides. What to eat, where to stay and things to do and see - our travel guides have it all.

Find a guide »
Latest Blog Post

Whatever kind of traveller you are, it can be hard to see everything you want in a short space of time.  Take the three countries of Laos, Cambodia and Vietnam.  Seeing everyt...

Read more »
Great Value and Choice

We offer the most comprehensive selection of hostels on the internet with over 35,000 great places to stay in 180 countries. The ultimate online resource for hostels everywhere.

Find great value hostels »