See other Kyoto properties

A-yado Gion

3F Sakura bldg., 244-2, Nakano-cho, 2 chome, Shinm, Kyoto, Japan, Distance from city centre: 0.9km

Rating: 90% from 33 reviews

  • 88%Atmosphere
  • 93%Staff
  • 80%Security
  • 92%Cleanliness
  • 92%Location
  • 94%Value for money
  • 90%Facilities

Real Reviews

Real reviews from fellow travellers

These are trusted reviews from guests who have actually stayed here. We hope you find them helpful.

Note: we only give a property a rating once it has received a minimum of 3 reviews.

  • Sort By:
  • Traveler Type:
  • Age:
  • -A cheap place to stay in Kyoto. Within walking distance to several attractions and restaurants. -Very comfy beds and sheets. A nice air-conditioned room. -We were given a security safe for our valuables, but anyone could potentially enter our mixed dorm room (4F) because the door was unlocked and on a separate floor than the reception desk(3F). -there were ~12 beds in our mixed dorm room which were very close together. We had privacy curtains, though
  • 86%
  • 21 Jul 2014 Anonymous USA
  • good place; unlike other hostels they try to give you as much personal space as they can. good staff and honestly one of the best hostels we've stayed at. great location by the way! we saw geisha around that area!
  • 86%
  • 14 Jun 2014 Jessica USA
  • Could be a bit complicate to find, but it's an excellent place for the price. Good location, perfect staff and nice facilities. I recommend
  • 94%
  • 12 Jun 2014 Josselin France
  • A very nice hostel, in a very nice area, with very friendly staff. Which leads me to say : a very good choice. Only (little little) negative point is the small space between the beds in the dorms, which is not much practical when filled with people's luggage. Again : a small detail, quickly forgotten in front of all the good aspects.
  • 100%
  • 06 Jun 2014 Anonymous France
  • Good hostel, friendly and helpful staff, good location. Dormitories are very good, AC works well to keep temperature down when it's hot and humid outside. Small but good common area, easy to meet other travellers.
  • 91%
  • 05 Jun 2014 Anonymous Sweden
  • Located is one of the oldest and most cultural district, Gion, A-yado Gion is 5 minutes walk from a bus stop, 10 minutes walk from the closest subways station and around 25 mins walk from a major train station (JR station), although a little difficult to find as it is in a office/condo building. Upon arrival, the receiving staff was super friendly and provided much information about where and how to get to different attractions. Free map! Super clean and warm atmosphere in the common area!
  • 91%
  • 20 Apr 2014 Anonymous Taiwan
  • Have been staying all over Japan, but this hostel was definitely the best. The atmosphere and the staff are excellent.
  • 100%
  • 19 Apr 2014 Adrian Norway
  • Awesome Staff! We made origami and jokes and there was great people!
  • 100%
  • 12 Apr 2014 Anonymous USA
  • Good place to stay in Kyoto. Space is a bit small when fully occupied but it's clean and staff is helpful.
  • 89%
  • 27 Mar 2014 Korakot Thailand
  • The staff was very helpfull they arranged me a hostel in Hiroshima.
  • 89%
  • 15 Mar 2014 Anonymous Netherlands
City Guides and Information

Video guides, travel podcasts, city maps & free city guides. What to eat, where to stay and things to do and see - our travel guides have it all.

Find a guide »
Latest Blog Post

Using an InterRail pass (for EU residents) or a Eurail pass (for non-EU) is the perfect way to easily check off all the dreamy European destinations on your travel bucket list. Ride the rails like a pro with these five tips.

Read more »
Great Value and Choice

We offer the most comprehensive selection of hostels on the internet with over 35,000 great places to stay in 180 countries. The ultimate online resource for hostels everywhere.

Find great value hostels »