See other Kyoto properties

A-yado Gion

3F Sakura bldg., 244-2, Nakano-cho, 2 chome, Shinm, Kyoto, Japan, Distance from city centre: 0.9km

Rating: 89% from 42 reviews

  • 87%Atmosphere
  • 92%Staff
  • 84%Security
  • 90%Cleanliness
  • 94%Location
  • 93%Value for money
  • 86%Facilities

Real Reviews

Real reviews from fellow travellers

These are trusted reviews from guests who have actually stayed here. We hope you find them helpful.

Note: we only give a property a rating once it has received a minimum of 3 reviews.

  • Sort By:
  • Traveler Type:
  • Age:
  • - Making it clear that the hostel is on the 3-5 floor of the "Sakura Building" would make the place easier to find -/+ light on the bunk was VERY dim + I was very impressed with how willing the staff was to help out/give directions/look up fastest bus routes etc + A multitude of options of cheap food/drinks available for purchase in the lounge + A great place to meet fellow travelers and share stories!
  • 91%
  • 02 Aug 2015 Anonymous USA
  • We had a very pleasant stay. Thank you for providing such good value for money drinks and snacks. Please keep up the good work! Will definitely stay here again the next time i am in kyoto.
  • 94%
  • 09 Jul 2015 Anonymous Malaysia
  • The staff was amazing, and the location was fantastic. For 2000 yen you can't expect much, but they provided more than adequate services for the money they charge. It would be nice if the doors to the dorm rooms were a bit thicker/more sound proof. But other than that I had a great stay.
  • 83%
  • 03 Jul 2015 phillip USA
  • Our stay there was fantastic. I recommend it to everybody.
  • 100%
  • 21 Jun 2015 Claudia Spain
  • very nice experience in Kyoto. cheap price and nice hostel. good location. the staff is very helpful.
  • 94%
  • 20 Jun 2015 Anonymous Hong Kong
  • I really enjoyed this hostel. It is very easy to find along with being in a great central location for sight seeing in Kyoto. The staff was also very nice and helpful.
  • 100%
  • 16 Jun 2015 Anonymous USA
  • I had the best time of my trip so far at Ayado. Everyone is really friendly and the location is perfect!
  • 100%
  • 28 May 2015 Skylar USA
  • Absolutely fantastic hostel, one of the best we found in Japan. I love the upstairs lounge, it's great to have room to get organized. The small kitchen and washing machine are also game changers. The only thing missing would be a hot plate to cook some meals, but I understand that it might not be safe to use without supervision. As for staff and location, simply perfect.
  • 100%
  • 11 May 2015 Maxime Canada
  • Staff couldn't figure out how to use their credit card machine to process my card, which was frustrating. In the end I had to use cash. No apology was offered for this frustration. Outside of this everything was clean and reasonable. We met some a pretty cool traveler in the hostel and went around town with them. facilities were better then most hostels and cleaner. Price was very reasonable for what you get.
  • 69%
  • 27 Apr 2015 Keith USA
  • I can't say enough good about the staff, they are very nice and helpful, Thankyou for the great stay i recommened this place without hesitation.
  • 94%
  • 16 Apr 2015 Eric Canada
City Guides and Information

Video guides, travel podcasts, city maps & free city guides. What to eat, where to stay and things to do and see - our travel guides have it all.

Find a guide »
Latest Blog Post

The epitome of culinary richness, Marrakesh -the heart of the red city, is a foodies wonderland

Read more »
Great Value and Choice

We offer the most comprehensive selection of hostels on the internet with over 35,000 great places to stay in 180 countries. The ultimate online resource for hostels everywhere.

Find great value hostels »