See other Boston properties

Backpackers Hostel & Pub

13 School Street Everett/Boston MA 02149, Boston, USA, Distance from city centre: 5km

Rating: 81% from 84 reviews

  • 84%Atmosphere
  • 90%Staff
  • 81%Security
  • 80%Cleanliness
  • 74%Location
  • 80%Value for money
  • 80%Facilities

Real Reviews

Real reviews from fellow travellers

These are trusted reviews from guests who have actually stayed here. We hope you find them helpful.

Note: we only give a property a rating once it has received a minimum of 3 reviews.

  • Sort By:
  • Traveler Type:
  • Age:
  • The location was on bus line (though not near anything), staff was friendly, and the pub was great! Building is old, room was very minimal with no air conditioning; was terribly hot and airport noise with windows open. Didn't get much sleep. No hot water in the shower and couldn't lock the door. No electric sockets in the shower room or bathroom in room. Bring your own towel! I paid for 2 nights and checked out after the 1st night.
    Owner Comment

    There is a lovely city center with many pubs, restaurants and a nice library, all less than a 5 minute walk from our front door. All of our rooms have a/c, some guests just prefer not to use it. There is hot water always. The shower valve may be different than yours. We have hundreds of towels, actually too many for our hostel. Just ask to use one. This visit just seems like a communication issue. If you had asked some questions we are sure you would have had a fun time, even if just overnight.

  • 66%
  • 17 Aug 2014 Christine USA
  • The staff is very friendly and dedicated, make staying in Boston easy for someone like me visiting the city for the first time.
  • 100%
  • 15 Aug 2014 Rasha Syria
  • Disappointed that "pub" stayed open late and people were hollering and partying most of the night. AC not turned on in room, way too hot and stuffy. No towels provided upon registration.
    Owner Comment

    we are sorry the pub disturbed you, we will watch that more closely. Every room has air conditioning yet some people prefer not to use it. I don't know why, I love a/c. We have hundreds of towels, and we provide them for FREE, you just have to ask for one. Thank you for the review

  • 51%
  • 14 Aug 2014 Cody USA
  • best atmosphere at a hostel I've ever been to! very helpful and friendly staff and the shuttle to the station makes getting around a piece of cake. would suggest to anyone coming to boston
  • 100%
  • 14 Aug 2014 alex Australia
  • Its was not clean at all. The sheets were too small for the bed. In kitchen is barely a kitchen, I could find 1 fork, 2 pans, only one on the cooker was working, no dishwashing product,... Not enough shower...
  • 40%
  • 11 Aug 2014 Marion France
  • When I was looking for a place to stay I made the decision because the price and the service shuttle they offer but when I got there I saw the hostel was more than I was expecting! I got there before the time to check in and they let do it before. It was good as I kept my things and took a nap before go out to see the things. I used the shuttle service since the beginning. I just had to call and a few minutes after someone would pick me up. Also they have every 30 minutes the drop off to the
  • 94%
  • 09 Aug 2014 Samandra Brazil
  • I had an absolutely fantastic time at Backpackers & would go back in a heartbeat. It's enormous, so you get to meet all kinds of people. Electronic keycard entry to my room made me feel secure leaving things there during the day. Free T shuttle, wifi, 6 computers in the lounge, free (though modest) breakfast. Chris & the other staff were extremely friendly, helpful, & knowledgeable about Boston. You can tell they thought ahead about everything a traveler would need & made sure they provided it.
  • 100%
  • 08 Aug 2014 Alison
  • The distance is not much of a problem, since the hostel has a free and very reliable shuttle that drives guests every hour to the closest subway station and picks them up. Although some of the facilities, like the bathrooms were clean enough, I was very annoyed by the strong smells in the lobby and in the rooms. I've stayed in many hostels and I am not picky, but I found the place shabby and neglected. Also, it is way too expensive for what it is. The staff though is very kind and helpful.
  • 57%
  • 04 Aug 2014 Victoria Venezuela
  • Very nice staff, clean rooms
  • 100%
  • 04 Aug 2014 Anonymous Germany
  • I will keep using this hostel when i"m going to Boston.
  • 89%
  • 04 Aug 2014 Anonymous Japan
City Guides and Information

Video guides, travel podcasts, city maps & free city guides. What to eat, where to stay and things to do and see - our travel guides have it all.

Find a guide »
Latest Blog Post

Using an InterRail pass (for EU residents) or a Eurail pass (for non-EU) is the perfect way to easily check off all the dreamy European destinations on your travel bucket list. Ride the rails like a pro with these five tips.

Read more »
Great Value and Choice

We offer the most comprehensive selection of hostels on the internet with over 35,000 great places to stay in 180 countries. The ultimate online resource for hostels everywhere.

Find great value hostels »