See other Boston properties

Backpackers Hostel & Pub

13 School Street Everett/Boston MA 02149, Boston, USA, Distance from city centre: 5km

Rating: 81% from 93 reviews

  • 84%Atmosphere
  • 90%Staff
  • 81%Security
  • 81%Cleanliness
  • 73%Location
  • 80%Value for money
  • 81%Facilities

Real Reviews

Real reviews from fellow travellers

These are trusted reviews from guests who have actually stayed here. We hope you find them helpful.

Note: we only give a property a rating once it has received a minimum of 3 reviews.

  • Sort By:
  • Traveler Type:
  • Age:
  • It is a very nice place to stay. The location is not that perfect. But there is a shuttle can drop you off at the metro station. I had two nice nights there. And the breakfast is very good, too.
  • 94%
  • 12 Sep 2014 Anonymous China
  • Liked the location & especially the little pub inside. Only problem is that they crank the music up at 9am until 9ish!! Why oh why do you need music in the morning???!?!! Also announcements every half hour about shuttle bus going. If you need to be somewhere at a certain time then get up yourself, we don't all need to get up!
  • 86%
  • 11 Sep 2014 Anonymous Ireland
  • decent hostel, location is not the best but the free shuttle service makes up for that! I would recommend it
  • 71%
  • 07 Sep 2014 Florian Germany
  • A very nice hostel. Staff is excelllent, the location is good, there is a free shuttle that takes you to the nearest metro station at any time during the afternoon. There are two very nice common rooms and a small pub. It is a very good place to spend a couple of days.
  • 80%
  • 05 Sep 2014 Denitsa Bulgaria
  • The location is not the best, but the staff do their best to help you out.
  • 60%
  • 03 Sep 2014 Anonymous Colombia
  • Good staff. Very friendly atmosphere.
  • 89%
  • 01 Sep 2014 Anand India
  • The staff here love their jobs and their hostel, and it shows. From beginning to end, when they pick you up from the train station, to giving advice at check-in, to chatting with you at the bar. They also have two separate social lounges (and a pub) which means that if you want to be social, you absolutely can, but if you want to sleep, chances are that the nosier tenants will be elsewhere and let you doze off. I'll definitely return!
  • 97%
  • 30 Aug 2014 Anonymous USA
  • The location was a little far from downtown, but the shuttle service is nice. The price was expensive for such location.Breakfast could be improved, at least get some wholemeal bread rather than white bread. Other parts of the hostel is good.
  • 63%
  • 26 Aug 2014 Anonymous China
  • The staff was really very nice, especially the transportation to the train was very quick and efficient. The only thing was that the breakfast was very poor and defenitly needs some upgrades!!
  • 74%
  • 22 Aug 2014 Lisa Austria
  • The location was on bus line (though not near anything), staff was friendly, and the pub was great! Building is old, room was very minimal with no air conditioning; was terribly hot and airport noise with windows open. Didn't get much sleep. No hot water in the shower and couldn't lock the door. No electric sockets in the shower room or bathroom in room. Bring your own towel! I paid for 2 nights and checked out after the 1st night.
    Owner Comment

    There is a lovely city center with many pubs, restaurants and a nice library, all less than a 5 minute walk from our front door. All of our rooms have a/c, some guests just prefer not to use it. There is hot water always. The shower valve may be different than yours. We have hundreds of towels, actually too many for our hostel. Just ask to use one. This visit just seems like a communication issue. If you had asked some questions we are sure you would have had a fun time, even if just overnight.

  • 66%
  • 17 Aug 2014 Christine USA
City Guides and Information

Video guides, travel podcasts, city maps & free city guides. What to eat, where to stay and things to do and see - our travel guides have it all.

Find a guide »
Latest Blog Post

A badly packed suitcase (or backpack) can leave you with a headache regardless of the trip length. With a few key tips and a concise packing list, you can be sure to leave the hassle of packing behind. Don't put a damper on your travel just because you didn't pack well!

Read more »
Great Value and Choice

We offer the most comprehensive selection of hostels on the internet with over 35,000 great places to stay in 180 countries. The ultimate online resource for hostels everywhere.

Find great value hostels »