See other Boston properties

Backpackers Hostel & Pub

13 School Street Everett/Boston MA 02149, Boston, USA, Distance from city centre: 5km

Rating: 84% from 100 reviews

  • 87%Atmosphere
  • 93%Staff
  • 87%Security
  • 84%Cleanliness
  • 75%Location
  • 81%Value for money
  • 84%Facilities

Real Reviews

Real reviews from fellow travellers

These are trusted reviews from guests who have actually stayed here. We hope you find them helpful.

Note: we only give a property a rating once it has received a minimum of 3 reviews.

  • Sort By:
  • Traveler Type:
  • Age:
  • Great service loved the shuttle
  • 100%
  • 24 Jul 2015 Anonymous USA
  • Very kind staff. Mattresses were terrible though, and no fitted sheet? Shuttle stops after 1030 PM and then it's a &10 cab ride. You may as well pay more to find a hostel in the city.
    Owner Comment

    the backpacker atmosphere and hospitality is what sets us apart from other hostels. The shuttle runs until midnight daily, and a taxi from wellington is $6. We find the great majority of our guests back by that time, and the others are very very late. Thank you for the review

  • 69%
  • 14 Jul 2015 Joshua USA
  • Everyone working while my 2 friends and I stayed there were extremely kind and helpful with what to see, whats a waste of time, and how to get from A to B. The shuttle driver, Wayne I believe, was the number one reason why if I ever come back to Boston, I will stay again at this Hostel. The rest of the staff was incredibly helpful, the place was kept up pretty well, the beds were decent, I would love to give this hostel a great review for anyone not so sure about hostels. Thanks
  • 89%
  • 08 Jul 2015 Anonymous USA
  • Had a great stay! Great service! Awesome employees riding around on cyboards... Bar open late! Breakfast in the morning! FREE SHUTTLE TO WELLINGTON train station! And then only about a 20 minute ride to the heart of Boston! Quiet in the evening. Friendly and open atmosphere. Gus and Andy the A-Team were working!
  • 100%
  • 07 Jul 2015 Adrian USA
  • Very friendly, welcoming atmosphere. A lot nicer on the inside than it looks from the outside! Jason at the front desk was absolutely awesome! He was willing to drive the shuttle early in the morning so I could catch a train. Thanks for the same day and nice accommodations!
  • 80%
  • 04 Jul 2015 Julia
  • This my stay at Backpackers Hostel & Pub exceeded my expectations! The hostel is nice, clean and secure and the staff really makes you feel welcome. Although the hostel is not located in Downtown Boston, the free shuttle bus makes it very convenient to get to the orange line (which takes 10 minutes to Boston Downtown).
  • 97%
  • 30 Jun 2015 Anders Lima Norway
  • This is definitely the safest hostel I have ever stayed in! People leave their belongings out in their room and nothing ever gets taken. Most people don't even use the lockers!
  • 86%
  • 16 Jun 2015 Courtlyn
  • Too far away from the center, even with the shuttle.
  • 54%
  • 12 Jun 2015 Sarah France
  • I highly recommend using Backpackers Boston - the staff were incredible, the shuttle was very accessible, and the location, though a bit detached from downtown Boston, is still not terribly out of the way.
  • 94%
  • 11 Jun 2015 Anonymous USA
  • Staff were amazing, they did everything to make my experience the best it could have possibly been. The free shuttle saves you a lot of money and is really flexible. Great social atmosphere and brilliant for meeting people. Gus was really kind and helpful, sorted all my.issues. Andy was a great bartender. Wayne was very friendly and a great shuttle driver. Jay was very welcoming and made my stay great from the start. Tiffeny was wonderful, so friendly too and helped a bunch with everything.
  • 100%
  • 11 Jun 2015 simon New Zealand
City Guides and Information

Video guides, travel podcasts, city maps & free city guides. What to eat, where to stay and things to do and see - our travel guides have it all.

Find a guide »
Latest Blog Post

There's nothing like having your own transport to get around and when travelling the world it's no different.

Read more »
Great Value and Choice

We offer the most comprehensive selection of hostels on the internet with over 35,000 great places to stay in 180 countries. The ultimate online resource for hostels everywhere.

Find great value hostels »