See other Boston properties

Backpackers Hostel & Pub

13 School Street Everett/Boston MA 02149, Boston, USA, Distance from city centre: 5km

Rating: 82% from 104 reviews

  • 86%Atmosphere
  • 91%Staff
  • 82%Security
  • 81%Cleanliness
  • 73%Location
  • 80%Value for money
  • 81%Facilities

Real Reviews

Real reviews from fellow travellers

These are trusted reviews from guests who have actually stayed here. We hope you find them helpful.

Note: we only give a property a rating once it has received a minimum of 3 reviews.

  • Sort By:
  • Traveler Type:
  • Age:
  • The staff here love their jobs and their hostel, and it shows. From beginning to end, when they pick you up from the train station, to giving advice at check-in, to chatting with you at the bar. They also have two separate social lounges (and a pub) which means that if you want to be social, you absolutely can, but if you want to sleep, chances are that the nosier tenants will be elsewhere and let you doze off. I'll definitely return!
  • 97%
  • 30 Aug 2014 Anonymous USA
  • The location was a little far from downtown, but the shuttle service is nice. The price was expensive for such location.Breakfast could be improved, at least get some wholemeal bread rather than white bread. Other parts of the hostel is good.
  • 63%
  • 26 Aug 2014 Anonymous China
  • The staff was really very nice, especially the transportation to the train was very quick and efficient. The only thing was that the breakfast was very poor and defenitly needs some upgrades!!
  • 74%
  • 22 Aug 2014 Lisa Austria
  • The location was on bus line (though not near anything), staff was friendly, and the pub was great! Building is old, room was very minimal with no air conditioning; was terribly hot and airport noise with windows open. Didn't get much sleep. No hot water in the shower and couldn't lock the door. No electric sockets in the shower room or bathroom in room. Bring your own towel! I paid for 2 nights and checked out after the 1st night.
    Owner Comment

    There is a lovely city center with many pubs, restaurants and a nice library, all less than a 5 minute walk from our front door. All of our rooms have a/c, some guests just prefer not to use it. There is hot water always. The shower valve may be different than yours. We have hundreds of towels, actually too many for our hostel. Just ask to use one. This visit just seems like a communication issue. If you had asked some questions we are sure you would have had a fun time, even if just overnight.

  • 66%
  • 17 Aug 2014 Christine USA
  • The staff is very friendly and dedicated, make staying in Boston easy for someone like me visiting the city for the first time.
  • 100%
  • 15 Aug 2014 Rasha Syria
  • Disappointed that "pub" stayed open late and people were hollering and partying most of the night. AC not turned on in room, way too hot and stuffy. No towels provided upon registration.
    Owner Comment

    we are sorry the pub disturbed you, we will watch that more closely. Every room has air conditioning yet some people prefer not to use it. I don't know why, I love a/c. We have hundreds of towels, and we provide them for FREE, you just have to ask for one. Thank you for the review

  • 51%
  • 14 Aug 2014 Cody USA
  • best atmosphere at a hostel I've ever been to! very helpful and friendly staff and the shuttle to the station makes getting around a piece of cake. would suggest to anyone coming to boston
  • 100%
  • 14 Aug 2014 alex Australia
  • The frequent free shuttle helps a lot. I like the patient and caring staff here~~Very helpful~~ If there is self-serve laundry available, that will be perfect!
  • 97%
  • 11 Aug 2014 Anonymous Hong Kong
  • Its was not clean at all. The sheets were too small for the bed. In kitchen is barely a kitchen, I could find 1 fork, 2 pans, only one on the cooker was working, no dishwashing product,... Not enough shower...
  • 40%
  • 11 Aug 2014 Marion France
  • When I was looking for a place to stay I made the decision because the price and the service shuttle they offer but when I got there I saw the hostel was more than I was expecting! I got there before the time to check in and they let do it before. It was good as I kept my things and took a nap before go out to see the things. I used the shuttle service since the beginning. I just had to call and a few minutes after someone would pick me up. Also they have every 30 minutes the drop off to the
  • 94%
  • 09 Aug 2014 Samandra Brazil
City Guides and Information

Video guides, travel podcasts, city maps & free city guides. What to eat, where to stay and things to do and see - our travel guides have it all.

Find a guide »
Latest Blog Post

Travelling alone can be a wonderful experience for solo female travellers. Here are our top tips.

Read more »
Great Value and Choice

We offer the most comprehensive selection of hostels on the internet with over 35,000 great places to stay in 180 countries. The ultimate online resource for hostels everywhere.

Find great value hostels »