See other Boston properties

Backpackers Hostel & Pub

13 School Street Everett/Boston MA 02149, Boston, USA, Distance from city centre: 5km

Rating: 82% from 80 reviews

  • 85%Atmosphere
  • 91%Staff
  • 82%Security
  • 81%Cleanliness
  • 73%Location
  • 80%Value for money
  • 80%Facilities

Real Reviews

Real reviews from fellow travellers

These are trusted reviews from guests who have actually stayed here. We hope you find them helpful.

Note: we only give a property a rating once it has received a minimum of 3 reviews.

  • Sort By:
  • Traveler Type:
  • Age:
  • friendly staff, real attentive and happy to help. i had missed their shuttle (free btw) to the subway station and just as chris was walking in the door from droping the last group off he offered me a ride. theyve been good at changing sheets and the ammenities are are above par compared to other hostels ive stayed at. plenty to do here in the hostel with the sports bar and pool hall as well as the tv room. being as it is a popular spot for college students there are plenty of cute girls. *****
  • 100%
  • 20 May 2014 chris
  • This is a great hostel! The staff was super and really friendly. The atmosphere was really great as well with people from all over for all sorts of reasons for being there. Never felt unsafe and the place was really clean. They even give rides to the nearest T station which is really nice.
  • 89%
  • 18 May 2014 Anonymous USA
  • This was my first experience in a hostel, and it was great! This hostel exceeded my expectations in terms of accommodations (pool table, free shuttle, internet lounge, TV's, pub and more) and the staff was very friendly and helpful. From what I can tell, people expect far too much from their stays in hostels and I was pleasantly surprised by what was offered at Backpackers. Linens provided, showers available, plenty of food options within walking distance, lots of friendly travelers. Thanks!
  • 77%
  • 15 May 2014 Anonymous USA
  • Great service, location was GREAT thanks to the shuttle service, clean rooms with private bathroom each. I do have to say the bed wasn't very comfortable (old matress), but overall is a good place to stay and totally recommend it.
  • 89%
  • 10 May 2014 Ana
  • A very comfortable hostel. The staff was friendly and willing to accommodate any of their visitors needs. A little out of the Boston area, but easily accessible to the T. Overall, a good place to stay and fair on the pricing.
  • 83%
  • 01 May 2014 Ashley
  • Hostel is far (15-20min. walk) from subway. Very inconvenient location for a budget (no car) traveler. Breakfast was minimal (white toast, peanut butter, jam). The bed mattress were old and worn out. Cleanliness was doubtful. Kitchen is essentially a converted closet. Nights are loud due to music and thin walls. Staff is friendly! Lots of computer for internet (good connection). In conclusion, there are much much nicer hostel options downtown for same price...
  • 49%
  • 19 Apr 2014 Anonymous Canada
  • This hostel was exactly as you'd expect. The thing that put it over the top, though, are the people who work there - they really do all they can to help you out. It's great. And the kids behind the counter aren't bad to look at, either.
  • 83%
  • 18 Apr 2014 Beth USA
  • A bit grungy in an odd location. Was very affordable but you get what you pay for. I never felt like I was in danger, but it was a little dodgy. Pro: there is an amazing Brazilian restaurant down the street. The staff of the hostel was super nice to me, but it was what it was. My stay was fine but I'd probably pay more to go elsewhere in the future.
  • 57%
  • 12 Apr 2014 Anonymous USA
  • Very helpful staff! Chris you did amazing job, our stay in Boston would not be the same without your help! Thanks!!!
  • 100%
  • 11 Apr 2014 Maciej Poland
  • I was really surprised when I arrived at the hostel that this one has that much great reviews. I honestly don't understand from where those good reviews come from. So my friend and I were super surprised when we arrived there. We wouldn't have gone in the hostel if we would have know before. It was a really strange place, the worst hostel I've ever been in.
  • 43%
  • 10 Apr 2014 Emie France
City Guides and Information

Video guides, travel podcasts, city maps & free city guides. What to eat, where to stay and things to do and see - our travel guides have it all.

Find a guide »
Latest Blog Post

Using an InterRail pass (for EU residents) or a Eurail pass (for non-EU) is the perfect way to easily check off all the dreamy European destinations on your travel bucket list. Ride the rails like a pro with these five tips.

Read more »
Great Value and Choice

We offer the most comprehensive selection of hostels on the internet with over 35,000 great places to stay in 180 countries. The ultimate online resource for hostels everywhere.

Find great value hostels »