See other Boston properties

Backpackers Hostel & Pub

13 School Street Everett/Boston MA 02149, Boston, USA, Distance from city centre: 5km

Rating: 83% from 95 reviews

  • 86%Atmosphere
  • 91%Staff
  • 83%Security
  • 83%Cleanliness
  • 73%Location
  • 80%Value for money
  • 82%Facilities

Real Reviews

Real reviews from fellow travellers

These are trusted reviews from guests who have actually stayed here. We hope you find them helpful.

Note: we only give a property a rating once it has received a minimum of 3 reviews.

  • Sort By:
  • Traveler Type:
  • Age:
  • The frequent free shuttle helps a lot. I like the patient and caring staff here~~Very helpful~~ If there is self-serve laundry available, that will be perfect!
  • 97%
  • 11 Aug 2014 Anonymous Hong Kong
  • Its was not clean at all. The sheets were too small for the bed. In kitchen is barely a kitchen, I could find 1 fork, 2 pans, only one on the cooker was working, no dishwashing product,... Not enough shower...
  • 40%
  • 11 Aug 2014 Marion France
  • When I was looking for a place to stay I made the decision because the price and the service shuttle they offer but when I got there I saw the hostel was more than I was expecting! I got there before the time to check in and they let do it before. It was good as I kept my things and took a nap before go out to see the things. I used the shuttle service since the beginning. I just had to call and a few minutes after someone would pick me up. Also they have every 30 minutes the drop off to the
  • 94%
  • 09 Aug 2014 Samandra Brazil
  • I had an absolutely fantastic time at Backpackers & would go back in a heartbeat. It's enormous, so you get to meet all kinds of people. Electronic keycard entry to my room made me feel secure leaving things there during the day. Free T shuttle, wifi, 6 computers in the lounge, free (though modest) breakfast. Chris & the other staff were extremely friendly, helpful, & knowledgeable about Boston. You can tell they thought ahead about everything a traveler would need & made sure they provided it.
  • 100%
  • 08 Aug 2014 Alison
  • The distance is not much of a problem, since the hostel has a free and very reliable shuttle that drives guests every hour to the closest subway station and picks them up. Although some of the facilities, like the bathrooms were clean enough, I was very annoyed by the strong smells in the lobby and in the rooms. I've stayed in many hostels and I am not picky, but I found the place shabby and neglected. Also, it is way too expensive for what it is. The staff though is very kind and helpful.
  • 57%
  • 04 Aug 2014 Victoria Venezuela
  • Very nice staff, clean rooms
  • 100%
  • 04 Aug 2014 Anonymous Germany
  • I will keep using this hostel when i"m going to Boston.
  • 89%
  • 04 Aug 2014 Anonymous Japan
  • Sadly, I was only there for one night. So I can't give a fair assessment. It had a clean shower with hot water. GREAT water pressure. And I really needed a good shower when I arrived. The location was a bit out of the way but thankfully backpacker's offered a free shuttle to and from the nearest train station. It gets tons of cool points for that. I'd stay there again solely because of that.
  • 89%
  • 01 Aug 2014 bryan USA
  • You guys are working hard, and it seems that you love what you're doing. Keep it up! And take your time...but please, hurry up! ;)
    Owner Comment

    thanks for the great review, and on your next visit please do a shuttle announcement, its great fun Thanks

  • 97%
  • 01 Aug 2014 Francois Canada
  • Great place, kind personnel, some room for improvement
  • 83%
  • 01 Aug 2014 Anonymous Chile
City Guides and Information

Video guides, travel podcasts, city maps & free city guides. What to eat, where to stay and things to do and see - our travel guides have it all.

Find a guide »
Latest Blog Post

Buenos Aires is the second-biggest city in South America after Sao Paolo, Brazil, so you can bet there are lots of things to do and see. Here are just five you should do to get...

Read more »
Great Value and Choice

We offer the most comprehensive selection of hostels on the internet with over 35,000 great places to stay in 180 countries. The ultimate online resource for hostels everywhere.

Find great value hostels »