See other Boston properties

Backpackers Hostel & Pub

13 School Street Everett/Boston MA 02149, Boston, USA, Distance from city centre: 5km

Rating: 81% from 101 reviews

  • 85%Atmosphere
  • 91%Staff
  • 81%Security
  • 80%Cleanliness
  • 72%Location
  • 79%Value for money
  • 80%Facilities

Real Reviews

Real reviews from fellow travellers

These are trusted reviews from guests who have actually stayed here. We hope you find them helpful.

Note: we only give a property a rating once it has received a minimum of 3 reviews.

  • Sort By:
  • Traveler Type:
  • Age:
  • Hostel is far (15-20min. walk) from subway. Very inconvenient location for a budget (no car) traveler. Breakfast was minimal (white toast, peanut butter, jam). The bed mattress were old and worn out. Cleanliness was doubtful. Kitchen is essentially a converted closet. Nights are loud due to music and thin walls. Staff is friendly! Lots of computer for internet (good connection). In conclusion, there are much much nicer hostel options downtown for same price...
  • 49%
  • 19 Apr 2014 Anonymous Canada
  • This hostel was exactly as you'd expect. The thing that put it over the top, though, are the people who work there - they really do all they can to help you out. It's great. And the kids behind the counter aren't bad to look at, either.
  • 83%
  • 18 Apr 2014 Beth USA
  • A bit grungy in an odd location. Was very affordable but you get what you pay for. I never felt like I was in danger, but it was a little dodgy. Pro: there is an amazing Brazilian restaurant down the street. The staff of the hostel was super nice to me, but it was what it was. My stay was fine but I'd probably pay more to go elsewhere in the future.
  • 57%
  • 12 Apr 2014 Anonymous USA
  • Very helpful staff! Chris you did amazing job, our stay in Boston would not be the same without your help! Thanks!!!
  • 100%
  • 11 Apr 2014 Maciej Poland
  • I was really surprised when I arrived at the hostel that this one has that much great reviews. I honestly don't understand from where those good reviews come from. So my friend and I were super surprised when we arrived there. We wouldn't have gone in the hostel if we would have know before. It was a really strange place, the worst hostel I've ever been in.
  • 43%
  • 10 Apr 2014 Emie France
  • All staff including Mr. Chris and Steve were so nice and tried to give service as much as they could. I felt comfortable. Some inconvenience is that hostel is quite out of city center but getting there by subway & bus was alright for me. Pick up service is also available from nearest subway station. If you don't mind of location, its dorm rate is relatively cheaper.
  • 80%
  • 05 Apr 2014 Anonymous Thailand
  • The staff were really friendly and made you feel welcome as soon as you stepped in the door. The free shuttle was also really handy as the hostel is not in Central Boston. The room was clean, but a little on the chilly side so had I stayed longer I would have needed to ask for extra blankets.
  • 86%
  • 05 Apr 2014 Jessica England
  • Steve and chris and bob and the rest of steves staff where super super awesome and out of every hostel I have stayed at this was one with one of the best experience and the other customers where all fun to hang out with from all walks of life twenty stars if that was possible in ratings...
  • 100%
  • 04 Apr 2014 brandon
  • The staff/owners Steve and Bob were very helpful and were willing to give me rides to the train station whenever I needed to get there.
  • 89%
  • 04 Apr 2014 Anonymous USA
  • We really enjoyed our stay and would recommend it to anyone. They were very accommodating, we arrived after hours but they were able to set us up with a key to get in since we called ahead and let them know. Chris & Bob were AMAZING, first thing the next morning, they were checking on us to make sure we had everything we needed and were comfortable and continued to do so throughout our stay. Very convenient, it is located near a train station and they offer shuttles to & from.
  • 83%
  • 20 Mar 2014 Anonymous USA
City Guides and Information

Video guides, travel podcasts, city maps & free city guides. What to eat, where to stay and things to do and see - our travel guides have it all.

Find a guide »
Latest Blog Post

A time for indulging and spending time with family, it's no wonder that some of the world's best foods make an appearance during Christmas. Here are some of the world's most mouth-watering holiday dishes!

Read more »
Great Value and Choice

We offer the most comprehensive selection of hostels on the internet with over 35,000 great places to stay in 180 countries. The ultimate online resource for hostels everywhere.

Find great value hostels »