See other Boston properties

Backpackers Hostel & Pub

13 School Street Everett/Boston MA 02149, Boston, USA, Distance from city centre: 5km

Rating: 82% from 94 reviews

  • 84%Atmosphere
  • 91%Staff
  • 81%Security
  • 81%Cleanliness
  • 73%Location
  • 80%Value for money
  • 81%Facilities

Real Reviews

Real reviews from fellow travellers

These are trusted reviews from guests who have actually stayed here. We hope you find them helpful.

Note: we only give a property a rating once it has received a minimum of 3 reviews.

  • Sort By:
  • Traveler Type:
  • Age:
  • I recommend the place. Things to be aware of: the girls' shower only has hot or cold water (nothing in between), some of the art is pretty sketchy, ask for my blankets (they only give you one per bed initially), and you must ask for the shuttle to Wellington. That said: it's a good location--very close to Wellington station, you can explore the city well with this as your bed camp. The staff is respectful, helpful, and friendly. There is sufficient security to feel safe and comfortable.
  • 74%
  • 02 Nov 2013 Anonymous USA
  • I am 76 yrs. old and they treated me with respect, and kindness
  • 100%
  • 26 Oct 2013 David USA
  • This was one of the cheapest hostels I could find in Boston. They are not in the city centre, but located very near to a train station (Wellington). Even more, there is a shuttle that takes you there every half hour. Very convenient! Staff was very nice! Also, if you come by car (like me) you can park for free! The only downside were the rooms. They were very spacious but not very inviting. TL-lighting, no mirrors in an all girls room,... And you could hear the rooms next door very clearly.
  • 80%
  • 21 Oct 2013 Anonymous Belgium
  • Great hostel, a little bit far from center but they offer free shuttles that helps a lot during the day. So in general, excellent experience definetily I'd chose them again.
  • 94%
  • 18 Oct 2013 Matias Juan Pablo Argentina
  • I didn't know that there's a shuttle from the hostel to the next station. That was really great. I traveled with a friend and we came to the hostel late but thanks the stuff (thank you Gus for the FAST ride back) we were able to to go into the city at night, too :)
  • 83%
  • 12 Oct 2013 Tanja Germany
  • It's a good hostel, but it's not in Boston what makes a little hard to get there. The hostel hs a shuttle that runs to the orange line, but it only runs on the morning, so depending of the time you're going or leaving there, you should have to take a bus. It is a little expensive too. In the others therms like security, cleanliness, atmosphere, and staff, it's a good place to go.
  • 86%
  • 04 Oct 2013 Anonymous USA
  • I thought Backpackers was a great place and i truly enjoyed interacting with the family that runs it (mom, daughters, gus). In addition to chris, they were all very helpful. It was the first time i stayed at a hostel after years of patronizing bourgeois hotels. I think I am converted to the hostel life. It provided a more human experience.
  • 97%
  • 02 Oct 2013 Tyrone USA
  • I stayed at the backpackers for a week. It is not located in downtown Boston but it does have easy access to the T and the shuttle from the hostel to the T was fast. There was a traffic jam and the guy took me to a different station so that I could get to Boston. The facilities are older but they keep it clean and if you need anything just ask. A lot of my roommates liked it because they offered free parking as they were driving through. Breakfast is basic. Coffee, toast, jelly. Great Wi-Fi!
  • 94%
  • 23 Sep 2013 Anonymous USA
  • Thanks for helping me out! Although, I have been to Boston many times before it has been a number of yearssince I was last there! The staff helped me learn the various lines on the "T" which I am grateful for along with the shuttle to the Orange line. I plan on making reservations on my next trip which will. be in the coming year!!! Thanks Peter
  • 89%
  • 19 Sep 2013 Peter USA
City Guides and Information

Video guides, travel podcasts, city maps & free city guides. What to eat, where to stay and things to do and see - our travel guides have it all.

Find a guide »
Latest Blog Post

A badly packed suitcase (or backpack) can leave you with a headache regardless of the trip length. With a few key tips and a concise packing list, you can be sure to leave the hassle of packing behind. Don't put a damper on your travel just because you didn't pack well!

Read more »
Great Value and Choice

We offer the most comprehensive selection of hostels on the internet with over 35,000 great places to stay in 180 countries. The ultimate online resource for hostels everywhere.

Find great value hostels »