See other Boston properties

Backpackers Hostel & Pub

13 School Street Everett/Boston MA 02149, Boston, USA, Distance from city centre: 5km

Rating: 81% from 101 reviews

  • 84%Atmosphere
  • 90%Staff
  • 80%Security
  • 80%Cleanliness
  • 73%Location
  • 79%Value for money
  • 80%Facilities

Real Reviews

Real reviews from fellow travellers

These are trusted reviews from guests who have actually stayed here. We hope you find them helpful.

Note: we only give a property a rating once it has received a minimum of 3 reviews.

  • Sort By:
  • Traveler Type:
  • Age:
  • All staff including Mr. Chris and Steve were so nice and tried to give service as much as they could. I felt comfortable. Some inconvenience is that hostel is quite out of city center but getting there by subway & bus was alright for me. Pick up service is also available from nearest subway station. If you don't mind of location, its dorm rate is relatively cheaper.
  • 80%
  • 05 Apr 2014 Anonymous Thailand
  • The staff were really friendly and made you feel welcome as soon as you stepped in the door. The free shuttle was also really handy as the hostel is not in Central Boston. The room was clean, but a little on the chilly side so had I stayed longer I would have needed to ask for extra blankets.
  • 86%
  • 05 Apr 2014 Jessica England
  • Steve and chris and bob and the rest of steves staff where super super awesome and out of every hostel I have stayed at this was one with one of the best experience and the other customers where all fun to hang out with from all walks of life twenty stars if that was possible in ratings...
  • 100%
  • 04 Apr 2014 brandon
  • The staff/owners Steve and Bob were very helpful and were willing to give me rides to the train station whenever I needed to get there.
  • 89%
  • 04 Apr 2014 Anonymous USA
  • We really enjoyed our stay and would recommend it to anyone. They were very accommodating, we arrived after hours but they were able to set us up with a key to get in since we called ahead and let them know. Chris & Bob were AMAZING, first thing the next morning, they were checking on us to make sure we had everything we needed and were comfortable and continued to do so throughout our stay. Very convenient, it is located near a train station and they offer shuttles to & from.
  • 83%
  • 20 Mar 2014 Anonymous USA
  • This hostel is totally run-down! The beds, the bathrooms and the kitchen are in a very bad state. The simple breakfast is adequate but not very hygienic.
  • 51%
  • 05 Nov 2013 Anonymous Germany
  • I recommend the place. Things to be aware of: the girls' shower only has hot or cold water (nothing in between), some of the art is pretty sketchy, ask for my blankets (they only give you one per bed initially), and you must ask for the shuttle to Wellington. That said: it's a good location--very close to Wellington station, you can explore the city well with this as your bed camp. The staff is respectful, helpful, and friendly. There is sufficient security to feel safe and comfortable.
  • 74%
  • 02 Nov 2013 Anonymous USA
  • I am 76 yrs. old and they treated me with respect, and kindness
  • 100%
  • 26 Oct 2013 David USA
  • This was one of the cheapest hostels I could find in Boston. They are not in the city centre, but located very near to a train station (Wellington). Even more, there is a shuttle that takes you there every half hour. Very convenient! Staff was very nice! Also, if you come by car (like me) you can park for free! The only downside were the rooms. They were very spacious but not very inviting. TL-lighting, no mirrors in an all girls room,... And you could hear the rooms next door very clearly.
  • 80%
  • 21 Oct 2013 Anonymous Belgium
  • Great hostel, a little bit far from center but they offer free shuttles that helps a lot during the day. So in general, excellent experience definetily I'd chose them again.
  • 94%
  • 18 Oct 2013 Matias Juan Pablo Argentina
City Guides and Information

Video guides, travel podcasts, city maps & free city guides. What to eat, where to stay and things to do and see - our travel guides have it all.

Find a guide »
Latest Blog Post

A badly packed suitcase (or backpack) can leave you with a headache regardless of the trip length. With a few key tips and a concise packing list, you can be sure to leave the hassle of packing behind. Don't put a damper on your travel just because you didn't pack well!

Read more »
Great Value and Choice

We offer the most comprehensive selection of hostels on the internet with over 35,000 great places to stay in 180 countries. The ultimate online resource for hostels everywhere.

Find great value hostels »