See other Kyoto properties

Backpackers Hostel K's House Kyoto

418 Nayachou, Shichijo-agaru, Dotemachi-dori, Shimogyo-ku, Kyoto, Japan, Distance from city centre: 2.4km

Rating: 90% from 54 reviews

  • 87%Atmosphere
  • 92%Staff
  • 93%Security
  • 92%Cleanliness
  • 86%Location
  • 92%Value for money
  • 90%Facilities

Real Reviews

Real reviews from fellow travellers

These are trusted reviews from guests who have actually stayed here. We hope you find them helpful.

Note: we only give a property a rating once it has received a minimum of 3 reviews.

  • Sort By:
  • Traveler Type:
  • Age:
  • It has been a pleasure. Good people in a goog country. Thanks a lot for your attention. A good place to repeat!
  • 86%
  • 08 Jul 2016 Anonymous Spain
  • Pros: 10-15minute walk from Kyoto Station. Very helpful staff. $7 bike rentals. Shampoo dispensers in shower. Cons: you will spend a lot of time waiting for the very slow elevator (no viable stairs option). Reception closed from 3am-7am so if you want to get an early start you can't rent a bike until 7am and they won't rent it to you the night before (The sun rises at 5:00-ish). Also if you forget your towel the night before you have to wait till 7am to rent one. Roof terrace closes at 9:00pm
  • 83%
  • 22 May 2016 Anonymous USA
  • Amazing hostel. Friendly staff. Super well equipped kitchen. Great atmosphere. Nice living area. Superb facilities. Nothing to complain at all. Would definitely recommend
  • 91%
  • 20 May 2016 Anonymous India
  • The room is too small and not convenient to walk to next building from the main entrance.
  • 54%
  • 04 May 2016 Heung Lan
  • Maybe the bathrooms should be gender exclusive as they are super smelly all the time
  • 77%
  • 04 May 2016 Anonymous Colombia
  • An awesome hostel in Kyoto. Close walk to the train station. Super friendly helpful staff. Even a bar downstairs with food and drinks. Definitely would recommend.
  • 97%
  • 01 May 2016 Paul Canada
  • Great common room area, friendly staff. The room I stayed in (8 people total) was the quietest room I've ever slept in. The bar of the hostel is a really good place to hang out too. The location is perfect-walking distance to Kyoto station, lots of shops and restaurants close by.
  • 97%
  • 18 Apr 2016 Anonymous Bulgaria
  • Great experience with K's House. Just the location is not so convenient.. Imagine walking with all the lugage for 15 to 20 minutes to reach K's house..
  • 91%
  • 30 Mar 2016 Leong Malaysia
  • This was my first K's House visit and I really enjoyed it and was glad to have stayed there. 1. The staff was very professional and accommodating - They even gave us a refund when my friend and I had booked a 4 person room (due to no other available rooms at the time of booking) and a 2 person room became available. That was very proactive and kind of them. 2. The rooms and common areas (bathroom and dinning areas) were very cleanly maintained. 3. The hostel provided loaner umbrellas!
  • 89%
  • 28 Mar 2016 Anonymous Philippines
  • Don't read the review, just book this hostel. You won't regret it.
  • 97%
  • 28 Mar 2016 Anonymous Hong Kong
City Guides and Information

Video guides, travel podcasts, city maps & free city guides. What to eat, where to stay and things to do and see - our travel guides have it all.

Find a guide »
Latest Blog Post

With the sun shining 80% of the time, Miami is the hot spot to go if you want a tropical getaway. It gets over 3,200 hours of sunshine a year, making it one of the top places to...

Read more »
Great Value and Choice

We offer the most comprehensive selection of hostels on the internet with over 33,000 great places to stay in 170 countries. The ultimate online resource for hostels everywhere.

Find great value hostels »