See other Kyoto properties

Backpackers Hostel K's House Kyoto

418 Nayachou, Shichijo-agaru, Dotemachi-dori, Shimogyo-ku, Kyoto, Japan, Distance from city centre: 2.4km

Rating: 89% from 58 reviews

  • 86%Atmosphere
  • 92%Staff
  • 91%Security
  • 90%Cleanliness
  • 86%Location
  • 89%Value for money
  • 90%Facilities

Real Reviews

Real reviews from fellow travellers

These are trusted reviews from guests who have actually stayed here. We hope you find them helpful.

Note: we only give a property a rating once it has received a minimum of 3 reviews.

  • Sort By:
  • Traveler Type:
  • Age:
  • Very clean and modern hostel, with very comfortable futons and a large, well kept and stocked common room. I stayed in a private 4 person room and it was really nice, the location is a bit far but everything is connected by the bus stop not far from the hostel and it is walking distance to the train station. The staff could be a bit more welcoming and warm but maybe they are just busy. It's a well kept hostel, so it's recommended.
  • 94%
  • 09 Nov 2015 Anonymous Indonesia
  • This was probably the most equipped hostel. They have electronic keycards, elevator, etc. Breakfast buffet was pretty great too. Nice bike rental. Huge common space. Place is really quite nice and I enjoyed my stay. It was a bit crowded though. Place is well-kept, but the high traffic and lower hygiene standards of some make the place seem less clean. Sheets were pretty clean but had some dark spots on nearly all of them which didn't thrill me. Shower ventilation could use some improvement too.
  • 91%
  • 18 Oct 2015 Anonymous Canada
  • K's House Kyoto was a fantastic place to stay, and I would definitely book again if I'm ever back in Kyoto. It never felt crowded in the common rooms (there are more than one) and the onsite laundry was really cheap and super convenient. Never had to compete for a shower or toilet, and the staff were very nice.
  • 100%
  • 11 Oct 2015 Anonymous Canada
  • it depends on your roomate guys,generally ,the staff is considerate,the room is clean,it's not far away from the temple and the metro station
  • 80%
  • 30 Sep 2015 Anonymous China
  • Great hostel!
  • 100%
  • 10 Sep 2015 roni Israel
  • I only stayed at K House for 2 nights, but I personally wouldn't consider staying longer. The bathroom is communal, meaning both men and women share the facilities, although there is a bathroom on each floor. I stayed in a 4 bedroom dorm and it was quite cramped. Maybe because I stayed in August, the hostel was quite humid. The hostel is also quite a far walk from Kyoto Station, I say about 10-15 minutes. I have stayed in better hostels from experience, but I guess you get a bank for your buck.
  • 74%
  • 25 Aug 2015 Priscilla Canada
  • After being in K's House in Tokyo and Takayama the experience was quite dissapointed. When we arrived, we discovered thAt there were two buildings, the nice one and the old one. Unfortunatelywe were in the old one. Internet conection was not availble in the rooms, the only chance was in the common places andnot always. I paid for having internet and despite my claim nobody was able to fix it. The washing machine and dryer didn,t work properly and it was necessary to go tothe other building.
  • 57%
  • 17 Aug 2015 Maria Luisa Spain
  • The best hostel that i hv ever stayed in kyoto
  • 100%
  • 14 Aug 2015 Kai Ching Hong Kong
  • Not much to say. Everything was to our liking :D
  • 100%
  • 03 Aug 2015 Anonymous USA
  • K's House Kyoto was recommended to me by a friend before my trip. I am so glad that she did too! K's House is literally THE BEST hostel I have ever stayed in- in any country! Clean, easy to find from the train station, the staff was super friendly and great at giving directions, plus- lockers for your stuff. I had a blast and made some new friends there as well!
  • 100%
  • 02 Aug 2015 Anonymous USA
City Guides and Information

Video guides, travel podcasts, city maps & free city guides. What to eat, where to stay and things to do and see - our travel guides have it all.

Find a guide »
Latest Blog Post

The epitome of culinary richness, Marrakesh -the heart of the red city, is a foodies wonderland

Read more »
Great Value and Choice

We offer the most comprehensive selection of hostels on the internet with over 33,000 great places to stay in 170 countries. The ultimate online resource for hostels everywhere.

Find great value hostels »