See other Kyoto properties

Backpackers Hostel K's House Kyoto

418 Nayachou, Shichijo-agaru, Dotemachi-dori, Shimogyo-ku, Kyoto, Japan, Distance from city centre: 2.4km

Rating: 88% from 49 reviews

  • 86%Atmosphere
  • 91%Staff
  • 89%Security
  • 89%Cleanliness
  • 85%Location
  • 86%Value for money
  • 88%Facilities

Real Reviews

Real reviews from fellow travellers

These are trusted reviews from guests who have actually stayed here. We hope you find them helpful.

Note: we only give a property a rating once it has received a minimum of 3 reviews.

  • Sort By:
  • Traveler Type:
  • Age:
  • After being in K's House in Tokyo and Takayama the experience was quite dissapointed. When we arrived, we discovered thAt there were two buildings, the nice one and the old one. Unfortunatelywe were in the old one. Internet conection was not availble in the rooms, the only chance was in the common places andnot always. I paid for having internet and despite my claim nobody was able to fix it. The washing machine and dryer didn,t work properly and it was necessary to go tothe other building.
  • 57%
  • 17 Aug 2015 Maria Luisa Spain
  • The best hostel that i hv ever stayed in kyoto
  • 100%
  • 14 Aug 2015 Kai Ching Hong Kong
  • Not much to say. Everything was to our liking :D
  • 100%
  • 03 Aug 2015 Anonymous USA
  • K's House Kyoto was recommended to me by a friend before my trip. I am so glad that she did too! K's House is literally THE BEST hostel I have ever stayed in- in any country! Clean, easy to find from the train station, the staff was super friendly and great at giving directions, plus- lockers for your stuff. I had a blast and made some new friends there as well!
  • 100%
  • 02 Aug 2015 Anonymous USA
  • Amazingly clean and very friendly, with excellent prices.
  • 100%
  • 01 Aug 2015 James
  • This is my third time staying here and I love it. Staff was super friendly and helpful. They all knew English and Japanese. The facilities were clean. If you are worried about the travellers being young, worry not. I saw families and young couples. The hostel does a good job with the noise control. The location is great, close to the JR Kyoto Station and Tozai subway line. They are one stop away from Gion and two stops away from Sanyo (shopping district).
  • 94%
  • 31 Jul 2015 Anonymous USA
  • The hostel has great facilities and everything works fine. Unfortunately, the atmosphere is a little cold and distant. The rooms are fine, although a curtain wouldn't hurt, but they are placed in a hallway looking like a prison complex.
  • 83%
  • 24 Jul 2015 Anonymous Netherlands
  • This has got to be the best hostel ever! thanks, guys, arugato gozaimashita!
  • 100%
  • 20 Jul 2015 Binka England
  • The shared facilities are quite clean. The room was very narrow but it's Japan - everything is small. As for location, it's about a 10-15 minute walk from Kyoto JR/Shinkansen station and very close to Shichijo Subway station (about 2 minutes). The staff are very friendly and helpful. In fact, our flight was unexpectedly cancelled and we couldn't check in on the date we had booked and they did not charge us for the first night - that was very kind of them as they didn't have to do that.
  • 89%
  • 15 Jul 2015 Anonymous Australia
  • Great hostel, very friendly and helpful staff, very clean, nice bathrooms. I would definetely chose this hostel again!
  • 100%
  • 12 Jun 2015 Lea Germany
City Guides and Information

Video guides, travel podcasts, city maps & free city guides. What to eat, where to stay and things to do and see - our travel guides have it all.

Find a guide »
Latest Blog Post

The epitome of culinary richness, Marrakesh -the heart of the red city, is a foodies wonderland

Read more »
Great Value and Choice

We offer the most comprehensive selection of hostels on the internet with over 35,000 great places to stay in 180 countries. The ultimate online resource for hostels everywhere.

Find great value hostels »