See other Kyoto properties

Backpackers Hostel K's House Kyoto

418 Nayachou, Shichijo-agaru, Dotemachi-dori, Shimogyo-ku, Kyoto, Japan, Distance from city centre: 2.4km

Rating: 88% from 29 reviews

  • 87%Atmosphere
  • 91%Staff
  • 91%Security
  • 90%Cleanliness
  • 84%Location
  • 88%Value for money
  • 86%Facilities

Real Reviews

Real reviews from fellow travellers

These are trusted reviews from guests who have actually stayed here. We hope you find them helpful.

Note: we only give a property a rating once it has received a minimum of 3 reviews.

  • Sort By:
  • Traveler Type:
  • Age:
  • Excellent hostel ! Everything you wish you could have with great facilities, awesome staff, very helpful and everything is clean ! Lots of storage for your luggage, comfy bed, great localisation... I mean : perfect ! And really good atmosphere to meet people too !
  • 100%
  • 24 Aug 2014 Anonymous France
  • Double room is very small.. There is no place for the luggage in the room.. It is quite expensive for this so small room. Otherwise, the staff is very nice.
  • 71%
  • 09 Aug 2014 Quentin Belgium
  • This hostel is everything that the internet says it is...this is place is certainly worth the hype. We stayed almost exclusively in hostels while traveling through Japan and this place was probably the best: the facilities were perfect (clean, modern, comfortable) and the actual mattresses were comfortable (sounds funny, but when sleeping on futon mats for 4 weeks, a comfortable mattress was a blessing). If you can get a reservation, stay at K's House. Well worth it!
  • 97%
  • 31 Jul 2014 Celeste Canada
  • Lovely experience for my teenage family. An easy walk from Kyoto Station, warm friendly very helpful staff, stored backpacks, hired bikes, helped with plans. Cafe/bar next door was fabulous. Very aesthetically pleasing communal spaces including two outdoor terraces, multiple lounges, easy to find your own place to relax. Kids felt at home and we left them to chill out while we shopped. We will be checking out all the other K's House accommodations now, a very well run and cleverly designed.
  • 100%
  • 07 Jul 2014 Pene
  • very nice place to stay
  • 86%
  • 07 Jun 2014 Andrew Australia
  • Very professional staff, helpful, good English, clean. Decent breakfast and easy to reach.
  • 97%
  • 30 May 2014 Anna-Verena Germany
  • We had a single two people bed suite, and it was very nice. It was clean, close to the bathroom, no curfew, just the perfect hostel to be in!
  • 100%
  • 21 May 2014 Anonymous Philippines
  • Very nice atmosphere, with decent size rooms. Kyoto is lovely,
  • 83%
  • 09 Apr 2014 Anonymous Brazil
  • The room given to us (4 adults) was very, very tiny, just barely enough space to place the futons to be placed next to each other after we already moved the coffee table into the futon closet. The 4 average-size suitcases were placed at our feet, leaving no room for anything else. At the end of the night, I volunteered myself to go to the (huge) lounge on the 2nd floor and stayed overnight (2 nights) on one of the couch there. We wish the hostel had set up 2 bunk beds instead.
  • 63%
  • 01 Apr 2014 Anonymous USA
  • Room was musty and smelled weird. Eggs at Zen cafe need to be cooked for way longer. Otherwise amazing stay and very helpful staff!
  • 80%
  • 05 Mar 2014 Anonymous Canada
City Guides and Information

Video guides, travel podcasts, city maps & free city guides. What to eat, where to stay and things to do and see - our travel guides have it all.

Find a guide »
Latest Blog Post

Using an InterRail pass (for EU residents) or a Eurail pass (for non-EU) is the perfect way to easily check off all the dreamy European destinations on your travel bucket list. Ride the rails like a pro with these five tips.

Read more »
Great Value and Choice

We offer the most comprehensive selection of hostels on the internet with over 35,000 great places to stay in 180 countries. The ultimate online resource for hostels everywhere.

Find great value hostels »