See other Kyoto properties

Backpackers Hostel K's House Kyoto

418 Nayachou, Shichijo-agaru, Dotemachi-dori, Shimogyo-ku, Kyoto, Japan, Distance from city centre: 2.4km

Rating: 88% from 31 reviews

  • 87%Atmosphere
  • 91%Staff
  • 92%Security
  • 91%Cleanliness
  • 85%Location
  • 87%Value for money
  • 86%Facilities

Real Reviews

Real reviews from fellow travellers

These are trusted reviews from guests who have actually stayed here. We hope you find them helpful.

Note: we only give a property a rating once it has received a minimum of 3 reviews.

  • Sort By:
  • Traveler Type:
  • Age:
  • I would be most happy if there is a hot water dispenser for the convenience of guests. At the moment there is only two kettles which are in great demand during peak hours.
  • 83%
  • 13 Nov 2014 Ismail Singapore
  • We stayed for 4 nights in Kyoto k's House and we celebrated the 11th birthday! We pass good days in zone and the staff was helpfull with all the things we asked for. We made new friends in the hostel.
  • 91%
  • 03 Nov 2014 Anonymous Spain
  • Not too far from Kyoto Station, Friendly english speaking staffs, clean and professional management
  • 86%
  • 20 Oct 2014 Anonymous Thailand
  • Excellent hostel ! Everything you wish you could have with great facilities, awesome staff, very helpful and everything is clean ! Lots of storage for your luggage, comfy bed, great localisation... I mean : perfect ! And really good atmosphere to meet people too !
  • 100%
  • 24 Aug 2014 Anonymous France
  • Double room is very small.. There is no place for the luggage in the room.. It is quite expensive for this so small room. Otherwise, the staff is very nice.
  • 71%
  • 09 Aug 2014 Quentin Belgium
  • This hostel is everything that the internet says it is...this is place is certainly worth the hype. We stayed almost exclusively in hostels while traveling through Japan and this place was probably the best: the facilities were perfect (clean, modern, comfortable) and the actual mattresses were comfortable (sounds funny, but when sleeping on futon mats for 4 weeks, a comfortable mattress was a blessing). If you can get a reservation, stay at K's House. Well worth it!
  • 97%
  • 31 Jul 2014 Celeste Canada
  • Lovely experience for my teenage family. An easy walk from Kyoto Station, warm friendly very helpful staff, stored backpacks, hired bikes, helped with plans. Cafe/bar next door was fabulous. Very aesthetically pleasing communal spaces including two outdoor terraces, multiple lounges, easy to find your own place to relax. Kids felt at home and we left them to chill out while we shopped. We will be checking out all the other K's House accommodations now, a very well run and cleverly designed.
  • 100%
  • 07 Jul 2014 Pene
  • very nice place to stay
  • 86%
  • 07 Jun 2014 Andrew Australia
  • Very professional staff, helpful, good English, clean. Decent breakfast and easy to reach.
  • 97%
  • 30 May 2014 Anna-Verena Germany
  • We had a single two people bed suite, and it was very nice. It was clean, close to the bathroom, no curfew, just the perfect hostel to be in!
  • 100%
  • 21 May 2014 Anonymous Philippines
City Guides and Information

Video guides, travel podcasts, city maps & free city guides. What to eat, where to stay and things to do and see - our travel guides have it all.

Find a guide »
Latest Blog Post

A time for indulging and spending time with family, it's no wonder that some of the world's best foods make an appearance during Christmas. Here are some of the world's most mou...

Read more »
Great Value and Choice

We offer the most comprehensive selection of hostels on the internet with over 35,000 great places to stay in 180 countries. The ultimate online resource for hostels everywhere.

Find great value hostels »