See other Kyoto properties

Backpackers Hostel K's House Kyoto

418 Nayachou, Shichijo-agaru, Dotemachi-dori, Shimogyo-ku, Kyoto, Japan, Distance from city centre: 2.4km

Rating: 90% from 57 reviews

  • 88%Atmosphere
  • 93%Staff
  • 92%Security
  • 92%Cleanliness
  • 86%Location
  • 90%Value for money
  • 90%Facilities

Real Reviews

Real reviews from fellow travellers

These are trusted reviews from guests who have actually stayed here. We hope you find them helpful.

Note: we only give a property a rating once it has received a minimum of 3 reviews.

  • Sort By:
  • Traveler Type:
  • Age:
  • Great common room area, friendly staff. The room I stayed in (8 people total) was the quietest room I've ever slept in. The bar of the hostel is a really good place to hang out too. The location is perfect-walking distance to Kyoto station, lots of shops and restaurants close by.
  • 97%
  • 18 Apr 2016 Anonymous Bulgaria
  • Great experience with K's House. Just the location is not so convenient.. Imagine walking with all the lugage for 15 to 20 minutes to reach K's house..
  • 91%
  • 30 Mar 2016 Leong Malaysia
  • This was my first K's House visit and I really enjoyed it and was glad to have stayed there. 1. The staff was very professional and accommodating - They even gave us a refund when my friend and I had booked a 4 person room (due to no other available rooms at the time of booking) and a 2 person room became available. That was very proactive and kind of them. 2. The rooms and common areas (bathroom and dinning areas) were very cleanly maintained. 3. The hostel provided loaner umbrellas!
  • 89%
  • 28 Mar 2016 Anonymous Philippines
  • Don't read the review, just book this hostel. You won't regret it.
  • 97%
  • 28 Mar 2016 Anonymous Hong Kong
  • Everything was very clean and organized. There are posters and guide books with suggestions on what to do, and everyone at the hostel is very nice and friendly. The staff will answer your questions very thoroughly and accurately, but not all of them will expand with their own suggestions (maybe as a sign of politeness?). The facilities are nice, location is great, and there is a fully equipped kitchen you can use! Would definitely stay there again.
  • 94%
  • 05 Feb 2016 Jennifer USA
  • We enjoyed our one night stay at K's House. The facilities were clean and staff were welcoming and friendly. The cafe connected next door provided us with an all-you-can-eat breakfast for 780 yen, so that was a great start to our day!
  • 91%
  • 12 Jan 2016 Winnie Australia
  • A very good place to stay. The bed was comfy. Even though the room space are limited, at least they provide us with storage for bags and racks for our coats to hang so that it doesn't gets clutter easily and doesn't get in our way walking around. The common room also quite comfy and spacious which will be full with all the occupants from time to time. Luckily most of the occupants are all very friendly. we can cook, eat and hang out at the common room with ease and comfortable.
  • 86%
  • 29 Dec 2015 Anonymous Malaysia
  • The place is very clean and neat, and staff are exceptionally friendly and helpful. I love the lounge especially because it is very spacious, bright and comfortable. The only downside is the placement of bunk bed in the dorm- in mine, the air-con nearly touches the mattress of the upper bunk bed, so whoever sleeps on the upper bunk bears the brunt of the heat/cold air coming out from the air-con.
  • 89%
  • 25 Dec 2015 Anonymous
  • Clean bedroom and clean toilets/showers. Good breakfast buffet in the bar, which had warm atmosphere. It's easy to meet other travellers in the bar.
  • 97%
  • 10 Dec 2015 Anonymous Finland
  • We loved our stay here! Location is great -- just walking distance from Kyoto Station. Staff was very accommodating and hospitable and our traditional Japanese room was big enough for 4 people. There are hole in the wall restaurants nearby so that's also a plus. Will stay here again next time I'm in Kyoto.
  • 100%
  • 29 Nov 2015 Anonymous Philippines
City Guides and Information

Video guides, travel podcasts, city maps & free city guides. What to eat, where to stay and things to do and see - our travel guides have it all.

Find a guide »
Latest Blog Post

If you're travelling on a budget, staying in hostels can be a lifeline. We've put together a few tips for saving money by cooking up a storm in hostel kitchens!

Read more »
Great Value and Choice

We offer the most comprehensive selection of hostels on the internet with over 33,000 great places to stay in 170 countries. The ultimate online resource for hostels everywhere.

Find great value hostels »