See other Kyoto properties

Backpackers Hostel K's House Kyoto

418 Nayachou, Shichijo-agaru, Dotemachi-dori, Shimogyo-ku, Kyoto, Japan, Distance from city centre: 2.4km

Rating: 88% from 38 reviews

  • 87%Atmosphere
  • 91%Staff
  • 90%Security
  • 90%Cleanliness
  • 84%Location
  • 87%Value for money
  • 88%Facilities

Real Reviews

Real reviews from fellow travellers

These are trusted reviews from guests who have actually stayed here. We hope you find them helpful.

Note: we only give a property a rating once it has received a minimum of 3 reviews.

  • Sort By:
  • Traveler Type:
  • Age:
  • The staff were amazing! Especially Yuu (may have spelt that wrong, pronounced like the English letter "U"). He was able to basically help us plan out our day in Kyoto with some fantastic recommendations that really delivered. Stayed in a private twin room which was well worth the extra money. Had a great experience overall and would definitely return!
  • 97%
  • 29 Apr 2015 Anonymous Canada
  • Fantastic value for money! Friendly staff, loved the Zen Cafe and cheap buffet breakfast! :)
  • 97%
  • 28 Apr 2015 Amy
  • Friendly and capable staff, very spacious and huge common area with couches in second building. Best so far in Kyoto!
  • 89%
  • 19 Apr 2015 Paul Netherlands
  • Quite value for money. It's a big and established hostel where many hostelites check in and out daily. Quite near kyoto main station. Abt 10min walk. However, while the toilets r generally clean, they do not provide racks unlike most other hostels. We had to wrap the towel over our waist to brush teeth. Hope I don't sound like nitpicking.
  • 97%
  • 18 Apr 2015 Zhi Yong Singapore
  • Big, busy hostel which was clean, efficient and had good communal areas. Good location a short walk from Kyoto station. While there was nothing wrong with this hostel we did prefer the smaller more personal hostels where we could sit down with the staff and have a chat or drink.
  • 83%
  • 17 Apr 2015 Anonymous Australia
  • Nice hostel
  • 89%
  • 14 Apr 2015 Filip Slovakia
  • Excellent staff, always willing to help and very Kind, the hostel delivers according to what is described in the website. Place was clean, they invite guests to keep it clean and respect each other, the café right next to the main building is also nice, food was alright and they have breakfast buffet. You can actually buy a bus day-pass at the reception and the staff is very helpful. Only downside is that wifi connection was sometimes down or unresponsive.
  • 89%
  • 27 Mar 2015 Anonymous Mexico
  • “ Actually of all my stay in japan. I find this place most impersonal. It is a large place, hence it is operated mechanically. I have to handle a card and a key to the shoe cabinet, and if i borrow their lock, I have to handle another key. I thought it was quite troublesome. Most of the guest are quite messy, they don't understand shoes has to be neatly place on the shelves. When you first enter the guesthouse, you have to bear with the mess and the smell. ”
  • 83%
  • 21 Mar 2015 Anonymous Singapore
  • This hostel was extremely clean and comfortable and located close to public transportation (trains and buses). The staff was extremely helpful with providing recommendations and directions. I would definitely stay here again if I ever return to Kyoto.
  • 100%
  • 28 Feb 2015 Anonymous USA
  • Overall, my experience there was good; I've stayed there twice before, in the past, plus, if I ever go to Kyoto again, I'll probably try and stay there. The one drawback to my visit this time was that the internet was somewhat spotty in the evenings, which made it a bit frustrating. But, when I brought it up, they said that they knew about it, and were working to get someone to fix it. And, the last night I was there, my internet seemed to work fine.
  • 80%
  • 20 Feb 2015 Matt USA
City Guides and Information

Video guides, travel podcasts, city maps & free city guides. What to eat, where to stay and things to do and see - our travel guides have it all.

Find a guide »
Latest Blog Post

Whatever kind of traveller you are, it can be hard to see everything you want in a short space of time.  Take the three countries of Laos, Cambodia and Vietnam.  Seeing everyt...

Read more »
Great Value and Choice

We offer the most comprehensive selection of hostels on the internet with over 35,000 great places to stay in 180 countries. The ultimate online resource for hostels everywhere.

Find great value hostels »