See other Kyoto properties

Backpackers Hostel K's House Kyoto

418 Nayachou, Shichijo-agaru, Dotemachi-dori, Shimogyo-ku, Kyoto, Japan, Distance from city centre: 2.4km

Rating: 90% from 64 reviews

  • 87%Atmosphere
  • 93%Staff
  • 91%Security
  • 91%Cleanliness
  • 86%Location
  • 90%Value for money
  • 90%Facilities

Real Reviews

Real reviews from fellow travellers

These are trusted reviews from guests who have actually stayed here. We hope you find them helpful.

Note: we only give a property a rating once it has received a minimum of 3 reviews.

  • Sort By:
  • Traveler Type:
  • Age:
  • We enjoyed our one night stay at K's House. The facilities were clean and staff were welcoming and friendly. The cafe connected next door provided us with an all-you-can-eat breakfast for 780 yen, so that was a great start to our day!
  • 91%
  • 12 Jan 2016 Winnie Australia
  • A very good place to stay. The bed was comfy. Even though the room space are limited, at least they provide us with storage for bags and racks for our coats to hang so that it doesn't gets clutter easily and doesn't get in our way walking around. The common room also quite comfy and spacious which will be full with all the occupants from time to time. Luckily most of the occupants are all very friendly. we can cook, eat and hang out at the common room with ease and comfortable.
  • 86%
  • 29 Dec 2015 Anonymous Malaysia
  • The place is very clean and neat, and staff are exceptionally friendly and helpful. I love the lounge especially because it is very spacious, bright and comfortable. The only downside is the placement of bunk bed in the dorm- in mine, the air-con nearly touches the mattress of the upper bunk bed, so whoever sleeps on the upper bunk bears the brunt of the heat/cold air coming out from the air-con.
  • 89%
  • 25 Dec 2015 Anonymous
  • Clean bedroom and clean toilets/showers. Good breakfast buffet in the bar, which had warm atmosphere. It's easy to meet other travellers in the bar.
  • 97%
  • 10 Dec 2015 Anonymous Finland
  • We loved our stay here! Location is great -- just walking distance from Kyoto Station. Staff was very accommodating and hospitable and our traditional Japanese room was big enough for 4 people. There are hole in the wall restaurants nearby so that's also a plus. Will stay here again next time I'm in Kyoto.
  • 100%
  • 29 Nov 2015 Anonymous Philippines
  • Staff from K's Kyoto house are super nice and friendly! Thankyou so much..
  • 91%
  • 15 Nov 2015 Anonymous Indonesia
  • Very clean and modern hostel, with very comfortable futons and a large, well kept and stocked common room. I stayed in a private 4 person room and it was really nice, the location is a bit far but everything is connected by the bus stop not far from the hostel and it is walking distance to the train station. The staff could be a bit more welcoming and warm but maybe they are just busy. It's a well kept hostel, so it's recommended.
  • 94%
  • 09 Nov 2015 Anonymous Indonesia
  • This was probably the most equipped hostel. They have electronic keycards, elevator, etc. Breakfast buffet was pretty great too. Nice bike rental. Huge common space. Place is really quite nice and I enjoyed my stay. It was a bit crowded though. Place is well-kept, but the high traffic and lower hygiene standards of some make the place seem less clean. Sheets were pretty clean but had some dark spots on nearly all of them which didn't thrill me. Shower ventilation could use some improvement too.
  • 91%
  • 18 Oct 2015 Anonymous Canada
  • K's House Kyoto was a fantastic place to stay, and I would definitely book again if I'm ever back in Kyoto. It never felt crowded in the common rooms (there are more than one) and the onsite laundry was really cheap and super convenient. Never had to compete for a shower or toilet, and the staff were very nice.
  • 100%
  • 11 Oct 2015 Anonymous Canada
  • it depends on your roomate guys,generally ,the staff is considerate,the room is clean,it's not far away from the temple and the metro station
  • 80%
  • 30 Sep 2015 Anonymous China
City Guides and Information

Video guides, travel podcasts, city maps & free city guides. What to eat, where to stay and things to do and see - our travel guides have it all.

Find a guide »
Latest Blog Post

The epitome of culinary richness, Marrakesh -the heart of the red city, is a foodies wonderland

Read more »
Great Value and Choice

We offer the most comprehensive selection of hostels on the internet with over 33,000 great places to stay in 170 countries. The ultimate online resource for hostels everywhere.

Find great value hostels »