See other Kyoto properties

Backpackers Hostel K's House Kyoto

418 Nayachou, Shichijo-agaru, Dotemachi-dori, Shimogyo-ku, Kyoto, Japan, Distance from city centre: 2.4km

Rating: 89% from 30 reviews

  • 87%Atmosphere
  • 92%Staff
  • 90%Security
  • 88%Cleanliness
  • 87%Location
  • 90%Value for money
  • 88%Facilities

Real Reviews

Real reviews from fellow travellers

These are trusted reviews from guests who have actually stayed here. We hope you find them helpful.

Note: we only give a property a rating once it has received a minimum of 3 reviews.

  • Sort By:
  • Traveler Type:
  • Age:
  • Very nice atmosphere, with decent size rooms. Kyoto is lovely,
  • 83%
  • 09 Apr 2014 Anonymous Brazil
  • The room given to us (4 adults) was very, very tiny, just barely enough space to place the futons to be placed next to each other after we already moved the coffee table into the futon closet. The 4 average-size suitcases were placed at our feet, leaving no room for anything else. At the end of the night, I volunteered myself to go to the (huge) lounge on the 2nd floor and stayed overnight (2 nights) on one of the couch there. We wish the hostel had set up 2 bunk beds instead.
  • 63%
  • 01 Apr 2014 Anonymous USA
  • Room was musty and smelled weird. Eggs at Zen cafe need to be cooked for way longer. Otherwise amazing stay and very helpful staff!
  • 80%
  • 05 Mar 2014 Anonymous Canada
  • best dormitory ever
  • 94%
  • 29 Jan 2014 Anonymous Hungary
  • very clean & bright & the staff were incredibly helpful! it's about a 10minute walk from JR kyoto and shichijo stations too, so very convenient.
  • 94%
  • 29 Jan 2014 Anonymous Canada
  • The staff is very helpful and friendly. The location is also quite good; just a few blocks away from the Kyoto Railway Station. There is a bar and restaurant located adjacent to the hostel, making for easy and convenient dining. The hostel also organizes movie nights for its guests. The common room is quite clean and well lit. Reasonably priced.
  • 91%
  • 12 Jan 2014 Michael USA
  • Great hostel, everything you'd expect from a hostel: solid bunks, good communal areas, bar, clean facilities, whatever. It's good.
  • 97%
  • 02 Jan 2014 Anonymous Australia
  • Great choice
  • 100%
  • 30 Dec 2013 Khoirun Indonesia
  • Very good location. Short walk to subway(5 min), bus (1 min) & Kyoto station (10 min). Walking distance to Kyoto Museum & UNESCO world heritage sites too. Had all the facilities you'd expect from a hostel (although some require minimal payment).
  • 94%
  • 29 Dec 2013 Anonymous Malaysia
  • Very good location and very clean, and the people are incredible nice and helpful. You can buy toiletries here, which is nice, and the laundry is 300 to wash and free to dry, and the attached cafe has a good selection. My only complaint is that because it's a big hostel, there's often not enough sitting in the common room and the set-up makes it a bit hard to meet people easily.
  • 91%
  • 26 Dec 2013 Anonymous USA
City Guides and Information

Video guides, travel podcasts, city maps & free city guides. What to eat, where to stay and things to do and see - our travel guides have it all.

Find a guide »
Latest Blog Post

Whether you want to get down'n'dirty in Austin or stay up all night in Berlin, live music is an unforgettable way to get to know any city's secret rhythms. But what cities have the best gigs? Here's five of our favourites...

Read more »
Great Value and Choice

We offer the most comprehensive selection of hostels on the internet with over 35,000 great places to stay in 180 countries. The ultimate online resource for hostels everywhere.

Find great value hostels »