See other Kyoto properties

Backpackers Hostel K's House Kyoto

418 Nayachou, Shichijo-agaru, Dotemachi-dori, Shimogyo-ku, Kyoto, Japan, Distance from city centre: 2.4km

Rating: 87% from 42 reviews

  • 86%Atmosphere
  • 91%Staff
  • 87%Security
  • 89%Cleanliness
  • 85%Location
  • 85%Value for money
  • 88%Facilities

Real Reviews

Real reviews from fellow travellers

These are trusted reviews from guests who have actually stayed here. We hope you find them helpful.

Note: we only give a property a rating once it has received a minimum of 3 reviews.

  • Sort By:
  • Traveler Type:
  • Age:
  • This has got to be the best hostel ever! thanks, guys, arugato gozaimashita!
  • 100%
  • 20 Jul 2015 Binka England
  • Great hostel, very friendly and helpful staff, very clean, nice bathrooms. I would definetely chose this hostel again!
  • 100%
  • 12 Jun 2015 Lea Germany
  • We had a great stay at K's Hostel. The staff is very helpfull and friendly and speak great English. We accidentally arrived a day earlier than we booked, but it was no problem at all, they even have a convient system for people who are changing rooms. A great place to stay in Kyoto!
  • 83%
  • 28 May 2015 Roxanne Netherlands
  • They seriously need curtains on the bunk beds. I was kept up due to a person across the room having their blindingly bright, built-in bunk lamp on as late as 1am. And drunk guys sleeping naked in the mixed bunks-again CURTAINS PLEASE! We rented locks for the storage drawers under the bunks and I'm glad we did, drunk guys don't know which is theirs. Other than that the hostel is good for a young crowd but not so much for an older couple like us. This is a very busy and large hostel.
  • 74%
  • 27 May 2015 Anonymous
  • biger entrance
  • 89%
  • 26 May 2015 Anonymous Czech Republic
  • Nice place, good atmosphere.
  • 89%
  • 01 May 2015 Catharina Netherlands
  • The staff were amazing! Especially Yuu (may have spelt that wrong, pronounced like the English letter "U"). He was able to basically help us plan out our day in Kyoto with some fantastic recommendations that really delivered. Stayed in a private twin room which was well worth the extra money. Had a great experience overall and would definitely return!
  • 97%
  • 29 Apr 2015 Anonymous Canada
  • Fantastic value for money! Friendly staff, loved the Zen Cafe and cheap buffet breakfast! :)
  • 97%
  • 28 Apr 2015 Amy
  • Friendly and capable staff, very spacious and huge common area with couches in second building. Best so far in Kyoto!
  • 89%
  • 19 Apr 2015 Paul Netherlands
  • Quite value for money. It's a big and established hostel where many hostelites check in and out daily. Quite near kyoto main station. Abt 10min walk. However, while the toilets r generally clean, they do not provide racks unlike most other hostels. We had to wrap the towel over our waist to brush teeth. Hope I don't sound like nitpicking.
  • 97%
  • 18 Apr 2015 Zhi Yong Singapore
City Guides and Information

Video guides, travel podcasts, city maps & free city guides. What to eat, where to stay and things to do and see - our travel guides have it all.

Find a guide »
Latest Blog Post

There's nothing like having your own transport to get around and when travelling the world it's no different.

Read more »
Great Value and Choice

We offer the most comprehensive selection of hostels on the internet with over 35,000 great places to stay in 180 countries. The ultimate online resource for hostels everywhere.

Find great value hostels »