See other Osaka properties

Backpackers Hotel Toyo Osaka

1-3-5, Taishi, Nishinari, Osaka, Japan, Distance from city centre: 5km

Rating: 80% from 51 reviews

  • 78%Atmosphere
  • 89%Staff
  • 82%Security
  • 74%Cleanliness
  • 79%Location
  • 82%Value for money
  • 76%Facilities

Real Reviews

Real reviews from fellow travellers

These are trusted reviews from guests who have actually stayed here. We hope you find them helpful.

Note: we only give a property a rating once it has received a minimum of 3 reviews.

  • Sort By:
  • Traveler Type:
  • Age:
  • The price for a single room is great as well as the location and staff. However, the bathrooms on the second floor were gross. Both the air and the sinks in the bathroom were freezing in the winter. They also recently lost their wifi yet it still says on the site's description and at their window that they still have wifi. You can use the wifi at their sister hostel Hotel Taiyo which is very close.
  • 66%
  • 14 Jan 2015 Anonymous USA
  • I really enjoyed my stay! Room is tatami style; small but totally enough for 1 person and very cute; really worth the price! Staff is super nice. I like that I can leave my bags even after I checked out because my flight is very late. Location is very convenient. Maybe the only thing is, I wish it smelled nicer on the second floor bathroom/hallway...
  • 97%
  • 05 Jan 2015 Anonymous Hong Kong
  • If you're looking to spend minimal money, I highly recommend this place. The room was tiny, the TV has maybe 2 channels, but it was clean, the beds where comfortable, and the one that we stayed in had a heater, but I'd heard from other guests that some rooms don't. Backpackers Hotel Toyo has an English speaking staff, free wifi and pretty decent showers. We only stayed 1 night but it's super cost efficient for longer trips as well. The area is a little sketchy at night, but not too bad.
  • 80%
  • 04 Jan 2015 Valerie USA
  • Facilities were pretty standard. However the Wifi provided on the 2nd floor was bad as I could not connect to it most of the time given I was in a corner room.
  • 83%
  • 26 Dec 2014 Anonymous Singapore
  • Quite good and value price in Osaka.
  • 80%
  • 06 Dec 2014 Anonymous Hong Kong
  • Staff is extremly helpful and English is very good. Value for money and the location is good
  • 97%
  • 01 Dec 2014 Chui Shan Hong Kong
  • I only stay for one night, didn't use the facilities so much, but this is a good price with my own room. Good location, easy to get the subway and JR.
  • 97%
  • 29 Oct 2014 Anonymous Hong Kong
  • So, if you like to spent night very cheap this is your place. In Japanese way there were rooms which have smoked. So air wasn't fresh. And you can hear everything at what happens in corridor. We have heard that area were the hostel is aren't the best place in Osaka. Local person told us there lives many unemployeds and backstreet persons. Staff speak very good english and give us smile every time when we go back to place. But it wasn't enjoy trip at all.
  • 37%
  • 14 Oct 2014 Heini Finland
  • So close to the 動物園前 Station, even thought I go walk to the 日本橋 area, as a running man, it takes around 25 mins, quite reasonable. Actually, I just book the traditional Japanese room with ONLY fan, perhaps it's early Autumn, the room is quite comfortable for me. If I try to figure its bad comment, it's only for the relatively dirtier toilet on 2nd floor which it's so small and littering on the restroom, but truly the guest house is trying tge best to re-create the atmosphere of clearness.
  • 86%
  • 02 Oct 2014 ALFRED CHE-TO Hong Kong
  • very good location with a reasonable price! very helpful staff with good English!! we booked private twin bed room, it is clean and the shower room is also clean
  • 89%
  • 29 Sep 2014 Anonymous Hong Kong
City Guides and Information

Video guides, travel podcasts, city maps & free city guides. What to eat, where to stay and things to do and see - our travel guides have it all.

Find a guide »
Latest Blog Post

No matter where you are there's always time for a great beer with great friends. Check out our guide to cheap but awesome beer all over the world

Read more »
Great Value and Choice

We offer the most comprehensive selection of hostels on the internet with over 35,000 great places to stay in 180 countries. The ultimate online resource for hostels everywhere.

Find great value hostels »