See other Osaka properties

Backpackers Hotel Toyo Osaka

1-3-5, Taishi, Nishinari, Osaka, Japan, Distance from city centre: 5km

Rating: 81% from 38 reviews

  • 81%Atmosphere
  • 90%Staff
  • 83%Security
  • 74%Cleanliness
  • 80%Location
  • 84%Value for money
  • 78%Facilities

Real Reviews

Real reviews from fellow travellers

These are trusted reviews from guests who have actually stayed here. We hope you find them helpful.

Note: we only give a property a rating once it has received a minimum of 3 reviews.

  • Sort By:
  • Traveler Type:
  • Age:
  • Good bang for your buck. The immediate location is pretty grungy, but it is very close to a lot of great destinations in Osaka. I was able to rent a bike from the front desk, and casually bike all over Osaka from there. The staff were friendly, and the place was clean. Ugly looking place though, feels a bit like a prison. Wifi in my room wasn't very good. Still, would definitely recommend it for the price.
  • 89%
  • 29 Aug 2014 Anonymous Canada
  • The location was convenient, but it was a little bit of a poor area. Provided, you will still be in one of the safest countries in the world.
  • 80%
  • 15 Aug 2014 Anonymous Canada
  • can hear others talking and yealing out of the door in the midnight
  • 74%
  • 02 Aug 2014 Anonymous Taiwan
  • I had a great time at Hotel Toyo. It's two subway stops from the Namba area. The area wasn't very desirable, but was perfectly fine for a budget traveler. It was quite difficult to find an ATM in this area though. On a late night out on Saturday night you can get a cab back for 1000 yen. I found this to be reasonable since I anticipated it to be far more expensive. I was very impressed with the 1st floor facilities. Very clean and very easy to use! Get a room on the first floor!
  • 83%
  • 02 Aug 2014 Anonymous USA
  • A great value for the money. The hostel is within walking distance of many subway stations and a number of good tourist attractions and shopping areas. The building is a bit old, but is well-maintained. The showers were super-clean and comfortable. Staff is very helpful, fluent in English, and knowledgeable about Osaka. There's a great onokomiyaki restaurant around the corner, too. The location has a reputation for being a more dangerous part of Japan, but I felt quite safe at night. Free wi-fi
  • 91%
  • 31 Jul 2014 Eric USA
  • Try to get a room on the first floor. The showers are great and the bathrooms are very clean. The atmosphere is great and I met a lot of nice people while staying in this hotel. I stayed in a twin room. It had A/C and a mini fridge. It wasn't much, but exactly what I was looking for. If it's not raining, rent a bicycle from the hotel to have a look around. There aren't any convenient ATMs in that area.
  • 83%
  • 30 Jul 2014 Anonymous USA
  • Hotel Toyo is an affordable choice for a quick night through Osaka. It provides privacy and decent service. However, it was not very clean and provided little information on the surrounding area.
  • 54%
  • 30 Jul 2014 Anonymous USA
  • Rooms were really bad. We reserved four rooms. Three of them has an air conditioner but one has not. That room was more than 50 degrees at night and I can slept there only for two hours after 30 hours of flying. Also rooms were not clean. We found a very big bug in our room. But ... showers and toilet was good. If they can restore the rooms I will definitely stay there again. If they do not restore ( and put air conditioner in every room) there is no way for me to stay there!!!
  • 46%
  • 26 Jul 2014 Anonymous Turkey
  • Nice to have a room to myself. Lovely and quiet.
  • 83%
  • 12 Jun 2014 Anonymous England
  • Near train station and an inexpensive restaurant named "松屋" The staff is helpful and the room is decent The shower room and the toilet is clean
  • 89%
  • 27 May 2014 Anonymous Taiwan
City Guides and Information

Video guides, travel podcasts, city maps & free city guides. What to eat, where to stay and things to do and see - our travel guides have it all.

Find a guide »
Latest Blog Post

A badly packed suitcase (or backpack) can leave you with a headache regardless of the trip length. With a few key tips and a concise packing list, you can be sure to leave the hassle of packing behind. Don't put a damper on your travel just because you didn't pack well!

Read more »
Great Value and Choice

We offer the most comprehensive selection of hostels on the internet with over 35,000 great places to stay in 180 countries. The ultimate online resource for hostels everywhere.

Find great value hostels »