See other Osaka properties

Backpackers Hotel Toyo Osaka

1-3-5, Taishi, Nishinari, Osaka, Japan, Distance from city centre: 5km

Rating: 80% from 49 reviews

  • 79%Atmosphere
  • 89%Staff
  • 81%Security
  • 74%Cleanliness
  • 80%Location
  • 83%Value for money
  • 77%Facilities

Real Reviews

Real reviews from fellow travellers

These are trusted reviews from guests who have actually stayed here. We hope you find them helpful.

Note: we only give a property a rating once it has received a minimum of 3 reviews.

  • Sort By:
  • Traveler Type:
  • Age:
  • Quite good and value price in Osaka.
  • 80%
  • 06 Dec 2014 Anonymous Hong Kong
  • Staff is extremly helpful and English is very good. Value for money and the location is good
  • 97%
  • 01 Dec 2014 Chui Shan Hong Kong
  • I only stay for one night, didn't use the facilities so much, but this is a good price with my own room. Good location, easy to get the subway and JR.
  • 97%
  • 29 Oct 2014 Anonymous Hong Kong
  • So, if you like to spent night very cheap this is your place. In Japanese way there were rooms which have smoked. So air wasn't fresh. And you can hear everything at what happens in corridor. We have heard that area were the hostel is aren't the best place in Osaka. Local person told us there lives many unemployeds and backstreet persons. Staff speak very good english and give us smile every time when we go back to place. But it wasn't enjoy trip at all.
  • 37%
  • 14 Oct 2014 Heini Finland
  • So close to the 動物園前 Station, even thought I go walk to the 日本橋 area, as a running man, it takes around 25 mins, quite reasonable. Actually, I just book the traditional Japanese room with ONLY fan, perhaps it's early Autumn, the room is quite comfortable for me. If I try to figure its bad comment, it's only for the relatively dirtier toilet on 2nd floor which it's so small and littering on the restroom, but truly the guest house is trying tge best to re-create the atmosphere of clearness.
  • 86%
  • 02 Oct 2014 ALFRED CHE-TO Hong Kong
  • very good location with a reasonable price! very helpful staff with good English!! we booked private twin bed room, it is clean and the shower room is also clean
  • 89%
  • 29 Sep 2014 Anonymous Hong Kong
  • Great spot however my single room was a bit small and the mattress a little thin for my back? Great kitchen and chill area where some resident/working backpackers play Mario cart most nights? Lovely staff and great location near supermarkets and trains etc! Amazing showers and best in Japan!
  • 89%
  • 21 Sep 2014 Anonymous England
  • Good bang for your buck. The immediate location is pretty grungy, but it is very close to a lot of great destinations in Osaka. I was able to rent a bike from the front desk, and casually bike all over Osaka from there. The staff were friendly, and the place was clean. Ugly looking place though, feels a bit like a prison. Wifi in my room wasn't very good. Still, would definitely recommend it for the price.
  • 89%
  • 29 Aug 2014 Anonymous Canada
  • The location was convenient, but it was a little bit of a poor area. Provided, you will still be in one of the safest countries in the world.
  • 80%
  • 15 Aug 2014 Anonymous Canada
  • can hear others talking and yealing out of the door in the midnight
  • 74%
  • 02 Aug 2014 Anonymous Taiwan
City Guides and Information

Video guides, travel podcasts, city maps & free city guides. What to eat, where to stay and things to do and see - our travel guides have it all.

Find a guide »
Latest Blog Post

4 Southern Hemisphere Trips to do Before you Die

Read more »
Great Value and Choice

We offer the most comprehensive selection of hostels on the internet with over 35,000 great places to stay in 180 countries. The ultimate online resource for hostels everywhere.

Find great value hostels »