See other Osaka properties

Backpackers Hotel Toyo Osaka

1-3-5, Taishi, Nishinari, Osaka, Japan, Distance from city centre: 5km

Rating: 87% from 43 reviews

  • 85%Atmosphere
  • 93%Staff
  • 85%Security
  • 83%Cleanliness
  • 86%Location
  • 92%Value for money
  • 83%Facilities

Real Reviews

Real reviews from fellow travellers

These are trusted reviews from guests who have actually stayed here. We hope you find them helpful.

Note: we only give a property a rating once it has received a minimum of 3 reviews.

  • Sort By:
  • Traveler Type:
  • Age:
  • No more than the essentials.
  • 71%
  • 26 Jan 2016 Joakim Sweden
  • It was freezing! It didn't say anywhere on the website that you don't have heat. I only read it in one review before going so I thought maybe the heat was broken at the time they went. That's something important to put on website, especially for people going in the middle of Winter. Was also told by the policeman who escorted me there what a dangerous neighborhood it was. Something else important worth mentioning to guests.
  • 57%
  • 22 Jan 2016 Victoria USA
  • The room was too cold. There is no heating in the room, so you better bring warm clothes to wear when you sleep.
  • 83%
  • 05 Jan 2016 Anonymous
  • Fantastic hostel! Staff were warm and friendly, and unbelievably cheap for private rooms. Location was fantastic: famous okonomiyaki nearby, cheap shopping, and 160 yen udon from a nearby shop. Would definitely stay again! Thanks!
  • 97%
  • 03 Jan 2016 Anonymous Canada
  • Nice place, recommended.
  • 100%
  • 28 Nov 2015 Anonymous Indonesia
  • I like how there are individual rooms. I don't have to worry about leaving my things out. Staff was friendly and helpful. The hostel could be cleaner though. Other than that I enjoyed my stay there.
  • 83%
  • 29 Oct 2015 Ellen Canada
  • Having never stayed in a hostel ever, Toyo really exceeded my expectations! Made some pretty awesome friends and would definitely return there if I was to go back to Osaka.
  • 89%
  • 03 Oct 2015 Anonymous Australia
  • This is cheap and you're getting what you paid for. However, it's difficult to find a better price for a private room anywhere in Tokyo and you will still be happy with your stay.
  • 89%
  • 25 Sep 2015 Anonymous USA
  • very good for all condition if compare with another guesthouse for this trip.
  • 100%
  • 16 Sep 2015 arnont Thailand
  • I booked 3 nights in the air conditioned single room and 1 night in the non air conditioned single room. Personally I found the non air conditioned room better because there was no moldy smell, the straw matting on the floor seemed newer and cleaner, and the wallpaper also seemed new. The air conditioned room had stains on the walls and on the blankets, and I couldn't really stand the moldy smell. Otherwise, the shower room (only on the first floor) and the bathrooms were nice and clean.
  • 91%
  • 29 Aug 2015 Anonymous USA
City Guides and Information

Video guides, travel podcasts, city maps & free city guides. What to eat, where to stay and things to do and see - our travel guides have it all.

Find a guide »
Latest Blog Post

The epitome of culinary richness, Marrakesh -the heart of the red city, is a foodies wonderland

Read more »
Great Value and Choice

We offer the most comprehensive selection of hostels on the internet with over 33,000 great places to stay in 170 countries. The ultimate online resource for hostels everywhere.

Find great value hostels »