See other Osaka properties

Backpackers Hotel Toyo Osaka

1-3-5, Taishi, Nishinari, Osaka, Japan, Distance from city centre: 5km

Rating: 84% from 56 reviews

  • 79%Atmosphere
  • 90%Staff
  • 86%Security
  • 81%Cleanliness
  • 85%Location
  • 91%Value for money
  • 81%Facilities

Real Reviews

Real reviews from fellow travellers

These are trusted reviews from guests who have actually stayed here. We hope you find them helpful.

Note: we only give a property a rating once it has received a minimum of 3 reviews.

  • Sort By:
  • Traveler Type:
  • Age:
  • Very basic room. Nice atmosphere and perfect location. Ideal for backpackers
  • 86%
  • 15 May 2016 Katrine Denmark
  • The staff was so friendly and helpful to us! Hotel Toyo ticked all of the boxes for me. You can take a Japanese Bath next door if you want to check that out fo free.
  • 100%
  • 13 May 2016 Anonymous USA
  • Nice Location, not too noisy, only several metro stops to the major scenery, 24 hour reception which is very nice, but the bed sheet is a bit unclean with dirt on it.
  • 69%
  • 11 May 2016 Anonymous Hong Kong
  • Very clean and super close to a good park and the train! If I come back to Osaka I'll for sure stay here again. It was great having my own room at such an affordable price.
  • 94%
  • 04 May 2016 Elizabeth USA
  • You sleep in a mattress in the floor. Is nice to have a private room though. Not enough toilets per floor, it fel you needed to wake up early if you wanted to avoid a huge line for the toilet in the morning
  • 63%
  • 30 Apr 2016 Anonymous Colombia
  • Cheapest solo room hostel in Osaka. Very near main station and subway. Although the facilities look old, the room and bathrooms are clean. I'll recommend it to my friends.
  • 91%
  • 17 Apr 2016 Ernesto Felix Canada
  • A pleasant enough place where you can get a private room at an excellent price. The location is a double-edged sword. On the one hand, the hostel is extremely close to a JR station and a metro line (also, Nankai line takes you directly to the Kansai airport). The area has plenty of affordable places to eat and drink. On the other hand, there are plenty of eccentric and less well-off people around (they seemed mostly harmless to me). The hostel itself felt safe and friendly. Facilities clean.
  • 89%
  • 16 Apr 2016 Anonymous Finland
  • Loved the single rooms and the staff is really friendly!
  • 86%
  • 13 Apr 2016 Anonymous Bulgaria
  • Good location as its within 5 mins walk from JR shin-imagyima train station. The room is small, Jap style with a futon on the floor, but private and with shared bathroom. The bathroom is very clean but no lifts so you'll have to carry your suitcase up. The kitchen/living area is small so can be crowded. The staff are lovely and speak English well. The instructions to get to the hostel from the train can be improved as they had the name of the station without the hyphen.
  • 86%
  • 11 Apr 2016 Anonymous Australia
  • The best value for money you could get in Osaka! The rooms and facilities were clean and comfortable; the staff was super helpful and friendly. We especially enjoyed the separate common room with free to use old-school Nintendo :). The rooms are actual rooms, no capsula. This hostel was just great.
  • 100%
  • 02 Apr 2016 Jochen Germany
City Guides and Information

Video guides, travel podcasts, city maps & free city guides. What to eat, where to stay and things to do and see - our travel guides have it all.

Find a guide »
Latest Blog Post

During the summer the city of Dublin becomes a different place. Gone are the endless days of wind and rain as the warm weather brings picnics in the park, drinks by the canal, b...

Read more »
Great Value and Choice

We offer the most comprehensive selection of hostels on the internet with over 33,000 great places to stay in 170 countries. The ultimate online resource for hostels everywhere.

Find great value hostels »