See other Osaka properties

Backpackers Hotel Toyo Osaka

1-3-5, Taishi, Nishinari, Osaka, Japan, Distance from city centre: 5km

Rating: 85% from 44 reviews

  • 82%Atmosphere
  • 94%Staff
  • 85%Security
  • 80%Cleanliness
  • 84%Location
  • 89%Value for money
  • 81%Facilities

Real Reviews

Real reviews from fellow travellers

These are trusted reviews from guests who have actually stayed here. We hope you find them helpful.

Note: we only give a property a rating once it has received a minimum of 3 reviews.

  • Sort By:
  • Traveler Type:
  • Age:
  • It is a great place to stay for this amount of money. Clean, private room, good location, friendly staff. Liked it a lot) thank you!
  • 94%
  • 11 Aug 2015 Elina Russia
  • Very nice and friendly place. Perfect for backpackers!
  • 97%
  • 05 Aug 2015 Rebecca Sweden
  • This place was in a good location, but the directions were bad. We wandered around for 20 minutes in the sun until we saw it was down a little side street without a sign. So for anyone trying to find it, when you exit the train stop take the east exit and turn right. Then cross the street at the first light (I believe it's taishi) and go left once you've crossed the light. Walk along for about one minute until you see a coffee shop then turn right and it'll be on your right.
  • 89%
  • 26 Jul 2015 Anonymous Canada
  • This place was terrific value for money! The staff were great, very helpful and friendly, and the location was good for transport to Kyoto and Kansai airport. It was also possible to walk to the happening area of Namba, though it took about 20-30 min. The best part was the private rooms. I was really happy about being able to leave my stuff without worrying about it being stolen.
  • 86%
  • 22 Jun 2015 Anonymous Canada
  • Extremely good atmosphere among the staff. This depends only on the goodwill of outstanding individuals. Hopefully it will last.
  • 94%
  • 16 Jun 2015 Pierre Canada
  • The private rooms may look small, but are just enough to sleep comfortably and peacefully. All rooms are locked with a key that you hold on to, so your valuables are pretty safe. The bathroom facilities are split up into sink, toilet, and showers in separate areas, but all are very clean. The staff are super friendly, super helpful, and speak English well! The owner even gave us umbrellas for free when we checked out, as it was raining outside. I really recommend this hostel!
  • 100%
  • 16 May 2015 Anonymous Canada
  • This place was awesome for the money! Good location close to a lot of cool things in Tennoji and the rest of Osaka was a quick subway/train ride away from the nearby stations. There's also a few great cafes right nearby. The staff was friendly and knows a good bit of english and the overall atmosphere was excellent and welcoming. For the price you cant beat it, your own room, clean showers and bathrooms!
  • 94%
  • 13 May 2015 Anonymous USA
  • Great price and friendly staff!
  • 77%
  • 29 Apr 2015 Anonymous Sweden
  • This is such a nice hostel. I am traveling by my self, but at this hostel I never felt alone. Great stuff, free internet, free use of kitchen. Some people told me the area around the hostel isn't save, but that's not true. I will come again .
  • 97%
  • 07 Apr 2015 Laura Germany
  • I really enjoyed staying in Hotel Toyo. The staff were great - really helpful and friendly.
  • 89%
  • 07 Apr 2015 Anonymous Ireland
City Guides and Information

Video guides, travel podcasts, city maps & free city guides. What to eat, where to stay and things to do and see - our travel guides have it all.

Find a guide »
Latest Blog Post

The epitome of culinary richness, Marrakesh -the heart of the red city, is a foodies wonderland

Read more »
Great Value and Choice

We offer the most comprehensive selection of hostels on the internet with over 35,000 great places to stay in 180 countries. The ultimate online resource for hostels everywhere.

Find great value hostels »