See other Osaka properties

Backpackers Hotel Toyo Osaka

1-3-5, Taishi, Nishinari, Osaka, Japan, Distance from city centre: 5km

Rating: 84% from 44 reviews

  • 82%Atmosphere
  • 92%Staff
  • 83%Security
  • 79%Cleanliness
  • 84%Location
  • 87%Value for money
  • 81%Facilities

Real Reviews

Real reviews from fellow travellers

These are trusted reviews from guests who have actually stayed here. We hope you find them helpful.

Note: we only give a property a rating once it has received a minimum of 3 reviews.

  • Sort By:
  • Traveler Type:
  • Age:
  • This place was terrific value for money! The staff were great, very helpful and friendly, and the location was good for transport to Kyoto and Kansai airport. It was also possible to walk to the happening area of Namba, though it took about 20-30 min. The best part was the private rooms. I was really happy about being able to leave my stuff without worrying about it being stolen.
  • 86%
  • 22 Jun 2015 Anonymous Canada
  • Extremely good atmosphere among the staff. This depends only on the goodwill of outstanding individuals. Hopefully it will last.
  • 94%
  • 16 Jun 2015 Pierre Canada
  • The private rooms may look small, but are just enough to sleep comfortably and peacefully. All rooms are locked with a key that you hold on to, so your valuables are pretty safe. The bathroom facilities are split up into sink, toilet, and showers in separate areas, but all are very clean. The staff are super friendly, super helpful, and speak English well! The owner even gave us umbrellas for free when we checked out, as it was raining outside. I really recommend this hostel!
  • 100%
  • 16 May 2015 Anonymous Canada
  • This place was awesome for the money! Good location close to a lot of cool things in Tennoji and the rest of Osaka was a quick subway/train ride away from the nearby stations. There's also a few great cafes right nearby. The staff was friendly and knows a good bit of english and the overall atmosphere was excellent and welcoming. For the price you cant beat it, your own room, clean showers and bathrooms!
  • 94%
  • 13 May 2015 Anonymous USA
  • Great price and friendly staff!
  • 77%
  • 29 Apr 2015 Anonymous Sweden
  • This is such a nice hostel. I am traveling by my self, but at this hostel I never felt alone. Great stuff, free internet, free use of kitchen. Some people told me the area around the hostel isn't save, but that's not true. I will come again .
  • 97%
  • 07 Apr 2015 Laura Germany
  • I really enjoyed staying in Hotel Toyo. The staff were great - really helpful and friendly.
  • 89%
  • 07 Apr 2015 Anonymous Ireland
  • This hostel was really very good. I loved the smell of incense when I entered, the facilities of the kitchen and especially the bathrooms were great. The staff were friendly & helpful. Tenoji station is walking distance which is quite convenient, but you'll need the get the train/subway to get to the downtown area of Osaka. The value for money is good though, so the trip makes it worth it. Also we stayed in a traditional room which was ok for a couple of nights, but would recomend Western beds.
  • 86%
  • 04 Apr 2015 Anonymous Australia
  • Great place. Awesome value for money.
  • 86%
  • 02 Apr 2015 Spencer Canada
  • We had a very nice time! The staff was amazing! Highly recommended!
  • 86%
  • 18 Mar 2015 LUISA Spain
City Guides and Information

Video guides, travel podcasts, city maps & free city guides. What to eat, where to stay and things to do and see - our travel guides have it all.

Find a guide »
Latest Blog Post

There's nothing like having your own transport to get around and when travelling the world it's no different.

Read more »
Great Value and Choice

We offer the most comprehensive selection of hostels on the internet with over 35,000 great places to stay in 180 countries. The ultimate online resource for hostels everywhere.

Find great value hostels »