See other Osaka properties

Backpackers Hotel Toyo Osaka

1-3-5, Taishi, Nishinari, Osaka, Japan, Distance from city centre: 6.5km

Rating: 84% from 24 reviews

  • 82%Atmosphere
  • 88%Staff
  • 85%Security
  • 82%Cleanliness
  • 85%Location
  • 85%Value for money
  • 80%Facilities

Real Reviews

Real reviews from fellow travellers

These are trusted reviews from guests who have actually stayed here. We hope you find them helpful.

Note: we only give a property a rating once it has received a minimum of 3 reviews.

  • Sort By:
  • Traveler Type:
  • Age:
  • I did not like this place. Room was small and bare, and looked like a prison cell with the corridore. Facilities like toilets and showers were fine, but the common room was kind of creepy... hard to explain but I did not feel like hanging out there at all. The best thing about the place is the close location to the train station and food options. Good Bento shop close by. If you just need a place to crash sure, longer stays no.
  • 63%
  • 08 Apr 2017 Anonymous Denmark
  • A great place to stay with friendly staff and clean facilities. It's close to the station and several good restaurants and grocery stores. 10/10 would stay again.
  • 100%
  • 20 Aug 2016 Amy USA
  • Simple room, clean and neat. Clean and equipped showers, though the rest of the facilities could use some extra cleanup. Overall nothing special or out of the ordinary, but also nothing to complain. A good place to stay if you're on a budget.
  • 86%
  • 23 Jul 2016 Anonymous Germany
  • Very friendly and helpful place.. Good location. Nice set-up.
  • 89%
  • 19 Jul 2016 Michael England
  • For a solo traveller, this place is the best value for money in Osaka!!
  • 94%
  • 22 Jun 2016 Brian
  • It was alrigh, but my room has no A/C... and somehow the hallway is way cooler then my room. I would look for some other hostels that offer air conditions..
  • 89%
  • 19 Jun 2016 Anonymous USA
  • I went 3 times to this hostel 3 times during my stay in Japan. I think it was the best value for money hostel that I have been in Japan. The staff is very friendly and eager to help, the room are very nice with a small TV and a fan, and the location is very convenient (close to the JR station and the subway, and in the Shinsekai district). If I go to Japan again, I will definitely go again!
  • 100%
  • 05 Jun 2016 Anonymous France
  • It was great experience there because the staffs were helpful and polite, the rooms are clean and with tv, it was amazing.
  • 94%
  • 17 May 2016 Ka Yee Hong Kong
  • Very basic room. Nice atmosphere and perfect location. Ideal for backpackers
  • 86%
  • 15 May 2016 Katrine Denmark
  • The staff was so friendly and helpful to us! Hotel Toyo ticked all of the boxes for me. You can take a Japanese Bath next door if you want to check that out fo free.
  • 100%
  • 13 May 2016 Anonymous USA
City Guides and Information

Video guides, travel podcasts, city maps & free city guides. What to eat, where to stay and things to do and see - our travel guides have it all.

Find a guide »
Latest Blog Post

We want to make sure that you get to explore as much of Paris as possible and that includes the nightlife scene. We've compiled some of the best places in Paris to check out if ...

Read more »
Great Value and Choice

We offer the most comprehensive selection of hostels on the internet with over 33,000 great places to stay in 170 countries. The ultimate online resource for hostels everywhere.

Find great value hostels »