See other Osaka properties

Backpackers Hotel Toyo Osaka

1-3-5, Taishi, Nishinari, Osaka, Japan, Distance from city centre: 5km

Rating: 86% from 50 reviews

  • 80%Atmosphere
  • 91%Staff
  • 87%Security
  • 83%Cleanliness
  • 86%Location
  • 92%Value for money
  • 83%Facilities

Real Reviews

Real reviews from fellow travellers

These are trusted reviews from guests who have actually stayed here. We hope you find them helpful.

Note: we only give a property a rating once it has received a minimum of 3 reviews.

  • Sort By:
  • Traveler Type:
  • Age:
  • Cheapest solo room hostel in Osaka. Very near main station and subway. Although the facilities look old, the room and bathrooms are clean. I'll recommend it to my friends.
  • 91%
  • 17 Apr 2016 Ernesto Felix Canada
  • Loved the single rooms and the staff is really friendly!
  • 86%
  • 13 Apr 2016 Anonymous Bulgaria
  • Good location as its within 5 mins walk from JR shin-imagyima train station. The room is small, Jap style with a futon on the floor, but private and with shared bathroom. The bathroom is very clean but no lifts so you'll have to carry your suitcase up. The kitchen/living area is small so can be crowded. The staff are lovely and speak English well. The instructions to get to the hostel from the train can be improved as they had the name of the station without the hyphen.
  • 86%
  • 11 Apr 2016 Anonymous Australia
  • The best value for money you could get in Osaka! The rooms and facilities were clean and comfortable; the staff was super helpful and friendly. We especially enjoyed the separate common room with free to use old-school Nintendo :). The rooms are actual rooms, no capsula. This hostel was just great.
  • 100%
  • 02 Apr 2016 Jochen Germany
  • Nice place to be!
  • 89%
  • 30 Mar 2016 Anonymous Germany
  • Cheap, clean hostel in great location. The best hostel out of 4 I stayed during this trip
  • 97%
  • 09 Mar 2016 Anonymous Poland
  • The Atmosphere was a bit lacking during my stay, but that's hit or miss. The private room was super comfortable for the price, albeit a little cold. Then again, I could have just put on some sweats and I probably would have been fine. Pretty close to major stations, and I even walked home from Namba after a night of drinking. Staff was kind, and warm, although I didn't interact much with them as I was there for one night. I would definitely recommend for a short stay.
  • 80%
  • 27 Feb 2016 Jonathan USA
  • The hostel is less than 5 minutes from Shin-Imamiya Station, which is very convenient. We had an early flight out of KIX and there is a direct train from Nankai Station to the airport in 42 minutes. We chose this hostel for the price and for its location. Hotel Toyo's staff is extremely friendly and helpful, and are at the desk 24/7. Although at first we were put off by the college dorm atmosphere, our only complaint ended up being that the wifi is really bad depending on the time of day.
  • 77%
  • 11 Feb 2016 Jennifer USA
  • No more than the essentials.
  • 71%
  • 26 Jan 2016 Joakim Sweden
  • It was freezing! It didn't say anywhere on the website that you don't have heat. I only read it in one review before going so I thought maybe the heat was broken at the time they went. That's something important to put on website, especially for people going in the middle of Winter. Was also told by the policeman who escorted me there what a dangerous neighborhood it was. Something else important worth mentioning to guests.
  • 57%
  • 22 Jan 2016 Victoria USA
City Guides and Information

Video guides, travel podcasts, city maps & free city guides. What to eat, where to stay and things to do and see - our travel guides have it all.

Find a guide »
Latest Blog Post

If you're travelling on a budget, staying in hostels can be a lifeline. We've put together a few tips for saving money by cooking up a storm in hostel kitchens!

Read more »
Great Value and Choice

We offer the most comprehensive selection of hostels on the internet with over 33,000 great places to stay in 170 countries. The ultimate online resource for hostels everywhere.

Find great value hostels »