See other Osaka properties

Backpackers Hotel Toyo Osaka

1-3-5, Taishi, Nishinari, Osaka, Japan, Distance from city centre: 5km

Rating: 81% from 45 reviews

  • 78%Atmosphere
  • 90%Staff
  • 82%Security
  • 76%Cleanliness
  • 79%Location
  • 83%Value for money
  • 78%Facilities

Real Reviews

Real reviews from fellow travellers

These are trusted reviews from guests who have actually stayed here. We hope you find them helpful.

Note: we only give a property a rating once it has received a minimum of 3 reviews.

  • Sort By:
  • Traveler Type:
  • Age:
  • This is such a nice hostel. I am traveling by my self, but at this hostel I never felt alone. Great stuff, free internet, free use of kitchen. Some people told me the area around the hostel isn't save, but that's not true. I will come again .
  • 97%
  • 07 Apr 2015 Laura Germany
  • I really enjoyed staying in Hotel Toyo. The staff were great - really helpful and friendly.
  • 89%
  • 07 Apr 2015 Anonymous Ireland
  • This hostel was really very good. I loved the smell of incense when I entered, the facilities of the kitchen and especially the bathrooms were great. The staff were friendly & helpful. Tenoji station is walking distance which is quite convenient, but you'll need the get the train/subway to get to the downtown area of Osaka. The value for money is good though, so the trip makes it worth it. Also we stayed in a traditional room which was ok for a couple of nights, but would recomend Western beds.
  • 86%
  • 04 Apr 2015 Anonymous Australia
  • Great place. Awesome value for money.
  • 86%
  • 02 Apr 2015 Spencer Canada
  • We had a very nice time! The staff was amazing! Highly recommended!
  • 86%
  • 18 Mar 2015 LUISA Spain
  • The price for a single room is great as well as the location and staff. However, the bathrooms on the second floor were gross. Both the air and the sinks in the bathroom were freezing in the winter. They also recently lost their wifi yet it still says on the site's description and at their window that they still have wifi. You can use the wifi at their sister hostel Hotel Taiyo which is very close.
  • 66%
  • 14 Jan 2015 Anonymous USA
  • Good location near a JR stop. Staff were always friendly and willing to answer questions. Rooms were pretty basic, although they were absolutely freezing in January. Good atmosphere in the common room. Would stay here again, so long as I had a space heater in the winter.
  • 86%
  • 12 Jan 2015 Alexandrea Canada
  • I really enjoyed my stay! Room is tatami style; small but totally enough for 1 person and very cute; really worth the price! Staff is super nice. I like that I can leave my bags even after I checked out because my flight is very late. Location is very convenient. Maybe the only thing is, I wish it smelled nicer on the second floor bathroom/hallway...
  • 97%
  • 05 Jan 2015 Anonymous Hong Kong
  • If you're looking to spend minimal money, I highly recommend this place. The room was tiny, the TV has maybe 2 channels, but it was clean, the beds where comfortable, and the one that we stayed in had a heater, but I'd heard from other guests that some rooms don't. Backpackers Hotel Toyo has an English speaking staff, free wifi and pretty decent showers. We only stayed 1 night but it's super cost efficient for longer trips as well. The area is a little sketchy at night, but not too bad.
  • 80%
  • 04 Jan 2015 Valerie USA
  • Facilities were pretty standard. However the Wifi provided on the 2nd floor was bad as I could not connect to it most of the time given I was in a corner room.
  • 83%
  • 26 Dec 2014 Anonymous Singapore
City Guides and Information

Video guides, travel podcasts, city maps & free city guides. What to eat, where to stay and things to do and see - our travel guides have it all.

Find a guide »
Latest Blog Post

Buenos Aires is the second-biggest city in South America after Sao Paolo, Brazil, so you can bet there are lots of things to do and see. Here are just five you should do to get...

Read more »
Great Value and Choice

We offer the most comprehensive selection of hostels on the internet with over 35,000 great places to stay in 180 countries. The ultimate online resource for hostels everywhere.

Find great value hostels »