See other Seoul properties

Backpackers INSIDE

5 Sungkyunkwan-ro-4-gil, Jongrogu, Seoul, South Korea, Distance from city centre: 2.7km

Rating: 93% from 19 reviews

  • 94%Atmosphere
  • 100%Staff
  • 97%Security
  • 88%Cleanliness
  • 90%Location
  • 94%Value for money
  • 87%Facilities

Real Reviews

Real reviews from fellow travellers

These are trusted reviews from guests who have actually stayed here. We hope you find them helpful.

Note: we only give a property a rating once it has received a minimum of 3 reviews.

  • Sort By:
  • Traveler Type:
  • Age:
  • The hostel was located perfectly in a student area at Sungkyunkwan University with many shops and restaurants open until late at night. The main palaces and Ihwa Village are just 10 -15 min away on foot. The staff was always very friendly, open and helpful and always up for a chat (in fluent English). Although it's a hostel the quality of the rooms, bathrooms, kitchen and common area had the standards of a hotel as everything was fully renovated. Will definitely come back next time I'm in Seoul!
  • 97%
  • 20 Apr 2016 Julinda Germany
  • Really nice place, when we stayed it seemed as if the whole place had just been renovated. Beds were nice, showers and toilets worked well and were clean. Very cool vibe and decoration in the place too. Also a very good price, I would expect to pay a lot more for what we got.
  • 100%
  • 13 Apr 2016 Jake England
  • Honestly couldn't have had a better experience here. Thank you so much! Definitely staying here again next year :)
  • 100%
  • 09 Mar 2016 Anonymous USA
  • I really loved Backpackers! It's in an incredibly awesome location where Myeongdong is only a whopping 4 stops away~ The staff here is super friendly and they made me feel at home. In fact, my friend and I ended up calling Backpackers our home by the last day we were in Seoul. I'll definitely be coming back when I visit Seoul again!
  • 100%
  • 09 Mar 2016 Anonymous USA
  • A friend and I came here just for a short winter trip and the experience overall was wonderful. We were originally going to stay in a 6-bed room, but was moved to a more private location due to renovations in the main building. Location is awesome because it's on the same subway line as all the main sites such as Myungdong. Because it's also in a university town, the area is also good for eating/shopping. The staff was super friendly and they cleaned the rooms daily!
  • 91%
  • 07 Jan 2016 Bou USA
  • Good hostel! :D
  • 86%
  • 28 Dec 2015 Anonymous China
  • During the winter the bathrooms are very very very cold (windows are not good), but they're clean and you have everything you need in them, even face cream! Host is awesome, helped us with many details about the travel! Area is good, full of restaurants, but not many bars and clubs. Really close to the metro station and bus from airport! Good hostel! :D
  • 86%
  • 28 Dec 2015 Anonymous China
  • I stayed in one of the deluxe singles which was like having my own tiny apartment. The deluxe rooms are in a different building from the main hostel (about a block away) which was fine for me but for someone who'd like more insight and advice on the area and things to do/places to see/etc that might be a bit problematic.
  • 89%
  • 26 Nov 2015 Anonymous USA
  • Great atmosphere and people. Host helped make the best of my spontaneous trip to Korea.
  • 94%
  • 16 Nov 2015 Anonymous USA
  • this is really a good choise in Seoul. You have perfect location, closed to cheap food and mountains. Staff is perfect; good english, helpfull and very nice. a very cozy common room with a lot of books and other stuff such maps and guidebooks. really recommended!
  • 100%
  • 30 Oct 2015 Anonymous Poland
City Guides and Information

Video guides, travel podcasts, city maps & free city guides. What to eat, where to stay and things to do and see - our travel guides have it all.

Find a guide »
Latest Blog Post

If you're travelling on a budget, staying in hostels can be a lifeline. We've put together a few tips for saving money by cooking up a storm in hostel kitchens!

Read more »
Great Value and Choice

We offer the most comprehensive selection of hostels on the internet with over 33,000 great places to stay in 170 countries. The ultimate online resource for hostels everywhere.

Find great value hostels »