See other Hamburg properties

Backpackers St. Pauli

Bernstorffstrasse 98, Hamburg, Germany, Distance from city centre: 2.9km

Rating: 83% from 17 reviews

  • 85%Atmosphere
  • 85%Staff
  • 77%Security
  • 83%Cleanliness
  • 88%Location
  • 81%Value for money
  • 83%Facilities

Real Reviews

Real reviews from fellow travellers

These are trusted reviews from guests who have actually stayed here. We hope you find them helpful.

Note: we only give a property a rating once it has received a minimum of 3 reviews.

  • Sort By:
  • Traveler Type:
  • Age:
  • Fantastic staff and nice people. Perfect place for lonely travelers. Nice kitchen in the basement with cool atmosphere.
  • 97%
  • 13 Oct 2015 Janich Denmark
  • The complimentary breakfast is just a joke. One finds nothing when he will reach there.
    Owner Comment

    Dear Guest, to be honest i don't understand your review about our breakfast. We don't offer complimentary breakfast and we never announced it here or somewhere else. sincerely Tanja Bahr Hostelmanager

  • 66%
  • 27 Sep 2015 Arun India
  • Great hostel. Really nice people, good wifi, good location. No breakfast but they offer you plenty of options for breakfast. One bad thing is that beds really makes sounds when you move, its kind of noisy.But a 100% recomended hostel
  • 91%
  • 13 Sep 2015 Anonymous Argentina
  • Backpackers St. Pauli is an excellent hostel. The location is close to Reeperbahn and harbor but super safe. Staff is nice and flexible. I really liked the huge lockers (you could even put your carry-on luggage in - in bedrooms and kitchen!!!), the clean facilities and the comfortable mattresses. You'll meet many solo travelers which makes it easier to team up. I definitely recommend staying there!
  • 100%
  • 08 Sep 2015 Patricia Germany
  • St Pauli is a really interesting quarter, hostel has nice bathrooms and a bar/reception with great staff. Security could be a bit better since doors do not close automaticaly.
  • 83%
  • 17 Aug 2015 Anonymous Serbia
  • The hostel was good, the only thing I didn't like was the payment of $2,00 that I've already payed in the site.
    Owner Comment

    Dear guest, thank you for your stay. The amount of 2,50€ was charged for bedlinen, which is quoted on our page here. Unfortunately it is not technically possible to add this in the booking system of We apologize.

  • 69%
  • 30 Jun 2015 Anonymous Brazil
  • Everything went good with the check-in. Good system for using the door into the room aswell to the building. Staff were nice. A good clean kitchen for everyone to use and a plus for bathroom/shower in the room. The only negative i have to say about this place is that they charged us extra for the sheets, and it was obligatory. When I booked this place for 1 night i got the total sum of it. But with the sheets that they neglected to include on the booksite/webpage it added a cost of 4 euros.
    Owner Comment

    Dear guest, thank you for your stay. The amount of 5€ was charged for bedlinen, which is quoted on our page here. Unfortunately it is not technically possible to add this in the booking system of We apologize.

  • 74%
  • 30 Jun 2015 Anonymous Sweden
  • It's a rather sketchy part of town, but that's part of the fun. The craft beer bar downstairs is really nice, and it makes it easy to talk to people.
  • 89%
  • 06 Jun 2015 Jia Yuan Canada
  • 10 minute walk to the Reeperbahn and another nice area with lots of restaurant's however, far from main shopping and city center area. When we were there it was also pretty quiet in the evening and we were hoping for a party hostel. Also there are no plugs in the room, only a few in weird places so it was difficult to share with everyone.
    Owner Comment

    Dear guest, thank you for your review. Backpackers St. Pauli is located in the district of St. Pauli. Sure here you won't find big shopping malls but the bus takes you within 12 minutes to Rathaus, which is the City Centre with all shopping facilities . We are not a party hostel because the district itself offers enough party locations. Extra plugs for a more convient handling are available at the reception/bar.

  • 80%
  • 03 Apr 2015 Tiara Canada
City Guides and Information

Video guides, travel podcasts, city maps & free city guides. What to eat, where to stay and things to do and see - our travel guides have it all.

Find a guide »
Latest Blog Post

The epitome of culinary richness, Marrakesh -the heart of the red city, is a foodies wonderland

Read more »
Great Value and Choice

We offer the most comprehensive selection of hostels on the internet with over 33,000 great places to stay in 170 countries. The ultimate online resource for hostels everywhere.

Find great value hostels »