See other Interlaken properties

Backpackers Villa Sonnenhof (Hostel Interlaken)

Alpenstrasse 16, Interlaken, Switzerland, Distance from city centre: 0.9km

Rating: 91% from 33 reviews

  • 91%Atmosphere
  • 95%Staff
  • 94%Security
  • 92%Cleanliness
  • 84%Location
  • 86%Value for money
  • 93%Facilities

Real Reviews

Real reviews from fellow travellers

These are trusted reviews from guests who have actually stayed here. We hope you find them helpful.

Note: we only give a property a rating once it has received a minimum of 3 reviews.

  • Sort By:
  • Traveler Type:
  • Age:
  • Very helpful staff, breakfast was plentiful with fresh breads, yogurt, juice, packaged cheese, tokens for coffee. About 15 minute walk to east train station.
  • 83%
  • 01 Oct 2014 Anonymous USA
  • Staff is excellent. They helped me make a call abroad & translated it for me. Very clean & good location for this hostel.
  • 97%
  • 19 Sep 2014 Anonymous USA
  • I was so impressed. I felt comfortable safe and clean. The general sentiment from the other guests were all the same, this had to be one of the best hostels EVER!!
  • 100%
  • 23 Aug 2014 tracy USA
  • This is the best hostel we've ever stayed in! Lovely, helpful staff, clean rooms and bathrooms, tasty breakfast, good wifi, a very well equipped guest kitchen and laundry (which you are given four free tokens per person to use on the washing machines and the dryer is FREE!) and all for a very reasonable price (we stayed in peak season too). It's right in the middle of Interlaken, an easy walk from either the East or West train stations. Couldn't fault it and would stay again without hesitation!
  • 100%
  • 18 Aug 2014 Anonymous Australia
  • Probably the best hostel I stayed at during my trip. Excellent atmosphere and staff that are always will to help with anything you need. They also have free coffee and tea all day as well as a very comfortable tv room with a wide selection of dvds available for free at the front desk. I will definitely be staying there again.
  • 100%
  • 07 Aug 2014 Anonymous USA
  • cleanest and most friendly place we have ever stayed. everyone was so nice and helpful, never seeming bothered or too busy to help us with any question or need. cook your own food in downstairs kitchen. laundry available (each member was given tokens to use for washer and dryer). nice complimentary breakfast. many rooms had wonderful views of snow capped mountains. in a very beautiful area, but also a very spendy area, a place like this allowed one to overlook the high costs of things.
  • 94%
  • 04 Jul 2014 David USA
  • Great location with amazing staff who are so excited to help you plan out your adventures! Thanks for the help folks! The wifi worked great except at for an hour at night when it seemed everyone else was using it at the same time.
  • 97%
  • 19 May 2014 Anonymous USA
  • One of the best hostels I've stayed at. Great location, very clean and efficient, helpful staff, etc.
  • 97%
  • 19 May 2014 Anonymous USA
  • Everything about this hostel was phenomenal. We spent 2 weeks backpacking through Europe and stayed in many places - this was by far the best! Clean, friendly, accomodating, safe, great location. They serve a good breakfast everyday and give you tokens for laundry, coffee, etc. And they have hair dryers. Would stay here again and have already recommended this great find to friends.
  • 100%
  • 16 May 2014 Cynthia USA
  • We had a wonderful experience. We arrived at the hostel and it was too early to check in, but the receptionist let us store our bags and gave us our free bus passes. We spent an amazing day traveling around Interlaken. Once the evening hit, we came back to the hotel and checked in. We had a great room with an incredible view and a balcony. There was storage in the rooms for free. Check out the next morning was east, there was a pool, free breakfast and free wifi. We had a great experience!
  • 100%
  • 17 Apr 2014 Anonymous Canada
City Guides and Information

Video guides, travel podcasts, city maps & free city guides. What to eat, where to stay and things to do and see - our travel guides have it all.

Find a guide »
Latest Blog Post

Christmas doesn't get much better than wandering around a snow-coated market with a hot mulled wine in hand. The smell of roasted chestnuts and the twinkling lights will put even a Grinch into the Christmas spirit.

Read more »
Great Value and Choice

We offer the most comprehensive selection of hostels on the internet with over 35,000 great places to stay in 180 countries. The ultimate online resource for hostels everywhere.

Find great value hostels »