See other Interlaken properties

Backpackers Villa Sonnenhof (Hostel Interlaken)

Alpenstrasse 16, Interlaken, Switzerland, Distance from city centre: 0.9km

Rating: 92% from 25 reviews

  • 92%Atmosphere
  • 95%Staff
  • 93%Security
  • 94%Cleanliness
  • 88%Location
  • 88%Value for money
  • 94%Facilities

Real Reviews

Real reviews from fellow travellers

These are trusted reviews from guests who have actually stayed here. We hope you find them helpful.

Note: we only give a property a rating once it has received a minimum of 3 reviews.

  • Sort By:
  • Traveler Type:
  • Age:
  • cleanest and most friendly place we have ever stayed. everyone was so nice and helpful, never seeming bothered or too busy to help us with any question or need. cook your own food in downstairs kitchen. laundry available (each member was given tokens to use for washer and dryer). nice complimentary breakfast. many rooms had wonderful views of snow capped mountains. in a very beautiful area, but also a very spendy area, a place like this allowed one to overlook the high costs of things.
  • 94%
  • 04 Jul 2014 David USA
  • Great location with amazing staff who are so excited to help you plan out your adventures! Thanks for the help folks! The wifi worked great except at for an hour at night when it seemed everyone else was using it at the same time.
  • 97%
  • 19 May 2014 Anonymous USA
  • One of the best hostels I've stayed at. Great location, very clean and efficient, helpful staff, etc.
  • 97%
  • 19 May 2014 Anonymous USA
  • Everything about this hostel was phenomenal. We spent 2 weeks backpacking through Europe and stayed in many places - this was by far the best! Clean, friendly, accomodating, safe, great location. They serve a good breakfast everyday and give you tokens for laundry, coffee, etc. And they have hair dryers. Would stay here again and have already recommended this great find to friends.
  • 100%
  • 16 May 2014 Cynthia USA
  • We had a wonderful experience. We arrived at the hostel and it was too early to check in, but the receptionist let us store our bags and gave us our free bus passes. We spent an amazing day traveling around Interlaken. Once the evening hit, we came back to the hotel and checked in. We had a great room with an incredible view and a balcony. There was storage in the rooms for free. Check out the next morning was east, there was a pool, free breakfast and free wifi. We had a great experience!
  • 100%
  • 17 Apr 2014 Anonymous Canada
  • nice breakfast clean room friendly staffs coin laundry machine was useful
  • 80%
  • 20 Dec 2013 Sahrah South Korea
  • It was totally amazing during our stay at backpacker. Staff were extremely helpful and kind. all of the facility were cleaned.I would highly recommend this hostel for all of the hostels.com user!!!!!!
  • 97%
  • 09 Oct 2013 hoeil South Korea
  • It's not a joke when people rave about this place. This place really is the best of all hostels out there: super friendly and knowledgeable staff, very clean rooms, great facilities. I will note that there were a LOT of Korean people here during my stay. Interlaken is apparently a very popular destinations for Koreans and it was the week of Korean Thanksgiving. However, their stay didn't bother me much at all. Downstairs kitchen was practically like Korea. I will most definitely stay here again.
  • 100%
  • 19 Sep 2013 Anonymous USA
  • backpackers villas was recommended by a friend, and I must say they were well worth the visit. From breakfast until sleeping time, the stay was comfortable and the staff was really friendly and helpful. the view was stunning and the rooms were really clean too
  • 100%
  • 09 Sep 2013 shahzeb France
  • Amazing hostel. Favorite of our trip so far. Close to everything, amazing wifi, best hostel kitchen I've ever seen. Clean as can be. Awesome, cozy tv room. Good breakfast. Free access to nearby pool and mini golf. Easy booking at the counter for skydiving, canyoning, etc. Nice outdoor area. Wonderful laundry facilities. Friendly staff. My only even slight complaint was flies in the kitchen but that could be easily solved and I still loved the hostel. Would go back in a heartbeat
  • 100%
  • 08 Sep 2013 Anonymous USA
City Guides and Information

Video guides, travel podcasts, city maps & free city guides. What to eat, where to stay and things to do and see - our travel guides have it all.

Find a guide »
Latest Blog Post

Using an InterRail pass (for EU residents) or a Eurail pass (for non-EU) is the perfect way to easily check off all the dreamy European destinations on your travel bucket list. Ride the rails like a pro with these five tips.

Read more »
Great Value and Choice

We offer the most comprehensive selection of hostels on the internet with over 35,000 great places to stay in 180 countries. The ultimate online resource for hostels everywhere.

Find great value hostels »