See other Toronto properties

Backpackers on Dundas

126 Chestnut St, 2nd Floor, Toronto, Canada, Distance from city centre: 2.8km

Rating: 71% from 16 reviews

  • 67%Atmosphere
  • 72%Staff
  • 68%Security
  • 68%Cleanliness
  • 85%Location
  • 71%Value for money
  • 65%Facilities

Real Reviews

Real reviews from fellow travellers

These are trusted reviews from guests who have actually stayed here. We hope you find them helpful.

Note: we only give a property a rating once it has received a minimum of 3 reviews.

  • Sort By:
  • Traveler Type:
  • Age:
  • My stay was brief but satisfactory. Unfortunately, my bed's proximity to Dundas St. and the lack of serviceable window blinds made for a brightly lit, noisy night but I did eventually fall asleep. I would, however, return and stay there. Good value for the money.
  • 83%
  • 15 Aug 2014 Hans Canada
  • Just the worst hostel ever....we booked for a 6 bess room 2 month earlier...we got a 10 bed room without any apologize!! Just a "discount": 1 $ each... what a shame!
  • 34%
  • 15 Aug 2014 Anonymous France
  • It was much better than i thought it would be my stay there. I saw a couple of bad ratings so I was a bit concerned but I really had lots of fun. The place is small, so everyone is close together. The beds weren't the best and maybe it wasn't perfectly clean but I honestly met such awesome people there that it didn't really mattered. The location is perfect, very good! The staff was very nice also!
  • 77%
  • 08 Aug 2014 Anonymous Brazil
  • Booked a 8 bed dorm and paid a deposit over a month in advance of our trip. They took the deposit from my credit card. Arrived on Thursday, August 31st as planned for our three day trip. Was told that they didn't have our room due to a mix up and did not assist us in finding rooms elsewhere. Told us that if we didn't find anything then we could TRY to come back and sleep on their couch for the night IF they had no shows. This is the weekend on Caribana. Everything was booked. No deposit returned
  • 20%
  • 31 Jul 2014 reginina USA
  • Great location, virtually no space in the rooms, no breakfast and atmosphere is not the best. Mostly filled with long term stayers.
  • 63%
  • 15 Jul 2014 Cagan New Zealand
  • Reception hadnt registered the last day of my stay when I first came, later I had to wait half a hour because reception hadnt kept track of my payments and one night someone else had taken my bed. Everything was taken care of eventually, and I never missed a nights sleep. Aside from confused receptionists, the place is pretty good.
  • 66%
  • 13 Jul 2014 Soren Denmark
  • I had a really nice time there. The locations and the rooms were good and clean and most of the staff was friendly. One point that I would like to mention is that I was angry that no one told me before that my reservation is cancelled for another day because then I could not find another hostel because everything was full.
  • 74%
  • 17 Jun 2014 Constanze Germany
  • Good hostel, nice people, near downtown and Greyhound. I had a good time.
  • 100%
  • 25 Mar 2014 Anne Netherlands
City Guides and Information

Video guides, travel podcasts, city maps & free city guides. What to eat, where to stay and things to do and see - our travel guides have it all.

Find a guide »
Latest Blog Post

Using an InterRail pass (for EU residents) or a Eurail pass (for non-EU) is the perfect way to easily check off all the dreamy European destinations on your travel bucket list. Ride the rails like a pro with these five tips.

Read more »
Great Value and Choice

We offer the most comprehensive selection of hostels on the internet with over 35,000 great places to stay in 180 countries. The ultimate online resource for hostels everywhere.

Find great value hostels »